We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but restaurant very average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edwards, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but restaurant very average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I researched most of the prior reviews and agree this is a very nice hotel. Very convenient, scenic, nice staff, + free bikes you can borrow! What you would expect from a Kimpton. Somewhat disappointing was the restaurant. We had dinner the first night because it was late & rainy. Otherwise we would have surely went downtown. The bread was cold and the food was bland. Not what I would expect from a Kimpton. Also, please note the $31 overnight parking fee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Gosh I am sorry you didn't enjoy the restaurant. I have shared your review with our Executive Chef. We will certainly use your feedback to improve. Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on our bikes again soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    232
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
341
775
85
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

You could not ask for a more pleasant spot to stay in Portland. Portland is a wonderful walking city and this hotel is a great place to start and finish. The staff takes great care of all your needs and wishes.
Looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: The river view rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Well we are looking forward to having you again! So glad you enjoyed the location and all the walking paths around the river. Be sure to jump on our free bikes the next time and live like a local. See you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This review should be qualified by saying that Portland is truly a walking / transit / taxi city and so there really is no "bad" hotel in SW Portland. Having said this, staying waterfront should not discourage anyone who is interested in visiting attractions such as the food pods, Pioneer Square, or even the Rose Gardens.

Portland is divided into four primary areas, SW, NW, SE, and NE. The Riverplace is in the SW corner of the city, offering views of downtown, the docks, and the waterfront. Having just visited (March 2014), I hope the following review gives you a good idea and "lay of the land".

Location: very good - walking around the city, we saw other hotels, including "The Nines", and "The Monaco", the latter also being a Kimpton property. Both are closer to center city, so it really depends on what you are looking for and looking to see. The reason that the location is not a big deal, is that it is only about 10 minutes to the Max / Trimet (Public Transit) system. Cross the street, walk two blocks to 2nd street, hang a right and go down to Yamhill, pay your $5 and you're set. We took the transit to visit the Rose Garden / Japanese Garden. If you are visiting Powell's Books or catching a Timber's Game, the route is also the same. We were fortunate enough to catch a Blazer's game as well and so you take the tram in the opposite direction "across the river." (Willamette).

Service: very good. Courteous staff, bartender, front desk etc. The only complaint was that the doormen on staff upon our arrival, were busy chatting and did not greet or offer luggage assistance. This being said, the others who we saw the remainder of the stay were fine. I happen to be of the opinion that newly arriving guests are most likely tired from a flight and would like attention. Housekeeping is good, but just so you know, there is no turn down service.

Food and beverages: very good - excellent staff, who are attentive and make good conversation. Definitely have a meal at Three Degrees - as with most of the food scene in Portland, the cuisine is creative and fusion based.

Amenities and cleanliness: no complaints - hotel is clean, as are the rooms. The rooms are basic and the bathroom is on the small side, but fine. Water pressure a little weak, but the hot water is hot. Portland has softer water, so just a heads up.

Other useful info:
- As a photo hobbyist, having the location provided by the Riverfront, gave me ample opportunities to shoot the city / waterscapes over a 4 day and rainy stay. The shots I posted are about 2 minutes from the hotel.
- 5 minutes from the closest Starbucks (located in a business center)
- Our room had windows that fully opened (great for photogs)
- About 5 minutes from Waterfront restaurants i.e McCormick and Schmidts

Room Tip: Rooms facing east provide city view, north / west water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mytibt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
What a great detailed review! I agree our location is great for photos. I am sorry to hear about your arrival experience. I will be sure to address with our doorman. They are normally so on top of it! Let’s do it again soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I always enjoy this hotel. The location is lovely, on the river. Rooms are spacious, nicely appointed and very clean. The restaurant bar has good food and a great atmosphere to enjoy a cocktail. Take a walk along the waterfront and enjoy Portland.

Room Tip: Look out on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

First and foremost the staff are wonderful very friendly they make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Our room was very eye pleasing, we stated in a king courtyard suite. The pull out bed was adequate for our son it was nice that he had his own space and tv. The room was cleaner then most, there was some cob webs off the curtains and the bathroom fan did not work. There was absolutely no view, I guess when it said courtyard i expected plants or something eye pleasing to look at but not the case you get to look into someone else's room. Was somewhat disappointed our room was set up for a couple not 3 people there were only 2 wash cloths and 2 glasses. We dinned in the restaurant and ordered room service breakfast which were both wonderful. The wine hour is a very nice touch.....

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a room that faces out to the river or city and on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveoregonlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We so appreciate those comments about our staff! We are working hard on that courtyard view and I apologize that you were displeased with the current view. We are creating a garden with over 18 different planters and a moss bed shaped as a river. Work begins soon!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon and on our way to the coast. What an exquisite property! The location, ambiance, service and quality is truly outstanding! We were treated exceptionally well during our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Congratulations on getting married and thank you for spending such a special time in your lives with us! So glad that we had the opportunity to make it memorable.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR/Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our two night stay to celebrate a belated Valentine's day was an exceptional experience from the Valets who were prompt, friendly and efficient to the front desk staff who were engaging, warm, and professional. Our meals, both at the restaurant and room service were excellent as was the service. All of this coupled with a beautiful room, meticulously appointed and maintained, with such a magical setting. We're planning another vacation at Riverplace already....hopefully for a bit longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcrismon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
With feedback like yours we would be thrilled to have you stay longer! Can’t wait. Let’s do it again soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing