We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curteous Staff, Clean Rooms, and Good Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This review should be qualified by saying that Portland is truly a walking / transit / taxi city and so there really is no "bad" hotel in SW Portland. Having said this, staying waterfront should not discourage anyone who is interested in visiting attractions such as the food pods, Pioneer Square, or even the Rose Gardens.

Portland is divided into four primary areas, SW, NW, SE, and NE. The Riverplace is in the SW corner of the city, offering views of downtown, the docks, and the waterfront. Having just visited (March 2014), I hope the following review gives you a good idea and "lay of the land".

Location: very good - walking around the city, we saw other hotels, including "The Nines", and "The Monaco", the latter also being a Kimpton property. Both are closer to center city, so it really depends on what you are looking for and looking to see. The reason that the location is not a big deal, is that it is only about 10 minutes to the Max / Trimet (Public Transit) system. Cross the street, walk two blocks to 2nd street, hang a right and go down to Yamhill, pay your $5 and you're set. We took the transit to visit the Rose Garden / Japanese Garden. If you are visiting Powell's Books or catching a Timber's Game, the route is also the same. We were fortunate enough to catch a Blazer's game as well and so you take the tram in the opposite direction "across the river." (Willamette).

Service: very good. Courteous staff, bartender, front desk etc. The only complaint was that the doormen on staff upon our arrival, were busy chatting and did not greet or offer luggage assistance. This being said, the others who we saw the remainder of the stay were fine. I happen to be of the opinion that newly arriving guests are most likely tired from a flight and would like attention. Housekeeping is good, but just so you know, there is no turn down service.

Food and beverages: very good - excellent staff, who are attentive and make good conversation. Definitely have a meal at Three Degrees - as with most of the food scene in Portland, the cuisine is creative and fusion based.

Amenities and cleanliness: no complaints - hotel is clean, as are the rooms. The rooms are basic and the bathroom is on the small side, but fine. Water pressure a little weak, but the hot water is hot. Portland has softer water, so just a heads up.

Other useful info:
- As a photo hobbyist, having the location provided by the Riverfront, gave me ample opportunities to shoot the city / waterscapes over a 4 day and rainy stay. The shots I posted are about 2 minutes from the hotel.
- 5 minutes from the closest Starbucks (located in a business center)
- Our room had windows that fully opened (great for photogs)
- About 5 minutes from Waterfront restaurants i.e McCormick and Schmidts

Room Tip: Rooms facing east provide city view, north / west water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mytibt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

What a great detailed review! I agree our location is great for photos. I am sorry to hear about your arrival experience. I will be sure to address with our doorman. They are normally so on top of it! Let’s do it again soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I always enjoy this hotel. The location is lovely, on the river. Rooms are spacious, nicely appointed and very clean. The restaurant bar has good food and a great atmosphere to enjoy a cocktail. Take a walk along the waterfront and enjoy Portland.

Room Tip: Look out on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

First and foremost the staff are wonderful very friendly they make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Our room was very eye pleasing, we stated in a king courtyard suite. The pull out bed was adequate for our son it was nice that he had his own space and tv. The room was cleaner then most, there was some cob webs off the curtains and the bathroom fan did not work. There was absolutely no view, I guess when it said courtyard i expected plants or something eye pleasing to look at but not the case you get to look into someone else's room. Was somewhat disappointed our room was set up for a couple not 3 people there were only 2 wash cloths and 2 glasses. We dinned in the restaurant and ordered room service breakfast which were both wonderful. The wine hour is a very nice touch.....

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a room that faces out to the river or city and on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveoregonlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We so appreciate those comments about our staff! We are working hard on that courtyard view and I apologize that you were displeased with the current view. We are creating a garden with over 18 different planters and a moss bed shaped as a river. Work begins soon!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon and on our way to the coast. What an exquisite property! The location, ambiance, service and quality is truly outstanding! We were treated exceptionally well during our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Congratulations on getting married and thank you for spending such a special time in your lives with us! So glad that we had the opportunity to make it memorable.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our two night stay to celebrate a belated Valentine's day was an exceptional experience from the Valets who were prompt, friendly and efficient to the front desk staff who were engaging, warm, and professional. Our meals, both at the restaurant and room service were excellent as was the service. All of this coupled with a beautiful room, meticulously appointed and maintained, with such a magical setting. We're planning another vacation at Riverplace already....hopefully for a bit longer next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcrismon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

With feedback like yours we would be thrilled to have you stay longer! Can’t wait. Let’s do it again soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was in town on business and from the minute that I stepped out of the cab, there was a smiling face to greet me and assist. Although my stay was for only 1 night, it was a memorable stay with a beautiful view of the river. Highly recommended for a relaxing stay (even though mine was for business).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Let’s make the next trip a bit longer and lets gets some R&R the next time around. We will be here awaiting your arrival. See you soon!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this weekend. At the time we booked the trip, there were only Courtyard King Deluxe rooms available. They noted my request, however, and when we checked in they said they didn't have any riverfront rooms, but they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a Corner Queen Suite with a partial view of the river. How wonderful! The room was beautiful. Because it was a corner room, it was full of windows and had a lot of natural light! We love the fact that it's a pet-friendly hotel, and they don't force guests with dogs to stay on the first floor in less-desirable rooms. And the best part is that they don't charge a pet fee! Their wine hour is awesome! While we were there they happened to also serve margaritas. The people hosting the bar are very friendly. In fact, all of the staff that we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We have two negative comments, which is why I rated them 4 stars and not 5. We stayed in room 308, and the HVAC system was SUPER noisy. It sounded like a diesel truck was idling in the wall and ceiling the entire time. In fact, the vibration from the HVAC was so bad that a glass wall panel in the bathroom vibrated non-stop, making a very irritating noise. It was outrageously loud standing next to the wall near the front door. Putting your ear against the wall, you really could have sworn there was a diesel truck in there. We tried turning the fan off, but that didn't help. I had to wear earplugs to get to sleep, and even that didn't completely cut out the noise. The other negative comment was that we wished they had a self-parking garage. We paid for valet parking (which was extremely expensive), and it was very inconvenient. We had our dog with us and couldn't visit the onsite restaurant because we couldn't leave the dog unattended in the room. At other hotels, we park onsite and leave our dog in the car when we want to eat. Also, we forgot some things in the car and couldn't get to them unless we called down and had them bring our car to the front and then return it to the garage. We opted not to bother, because it was a huge hassle and we would feel obligated to tip. We have to go back to Portland next weekend, and we plan to stay here again. We will look into parking in a nearby lot, and hopefully we'll have a much quieter room.

Room Tip: Stay in a corner suite if you like a lot of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

I am so glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to the corner queen suite. I think the views from that room are amazing! I am so sorry to hear about the noise from the HVAC system. That is not normal. I will send up my Chief Engineer to fix today. Also I am sorry that you did not enjoy the valet service. We always offer pet sitting service at the front desk and you are always more than welcome to retrieve items out of your car. It is no hassle at all for our Valets. Come back and see us again soon, I will take care of your parking charge and inspect your guestroom prior to your arrival to make sure everything is perfect.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $184 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing