We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have never been to a hotel that had better costumer service! From the front desk to the valet...I felt so welcomed! The location is perfect. Close to downtown, but felt as if you were miles away. A park next door and the river views were spectacular. There is a great place for a morning run or an evening walk along the river. The room was very comfortable and roomy, even the bathroom. The lack of parking was a concern for me, but the valet was so convenient. I did not want to leave. Loved it and highly recommend this unique little gem!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candpkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Absolutely love it! I am defiantly sharing your review with all of our staff. Thanks for the great feedback.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    237
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
349
795
88
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I accidentally came across Kimpton properties about a year ago in Seattle, it's the best accident one could have. Portland is the fourth Kimpton property I've visited now. Any city I go to, I look to see if they have a Kimpton property before I book my hotel. This hotel chain is all class and never misses a detail. The experience in Portland was no different. From the warm reception staff to the daily notes left by housekeeping to wish us a warm stay. Thank you Kimpton for giving me a home away from home. Your forever faithful guest, Jim.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are forever grateful that you stumbled upon Kimpton Hotels and thanks for the loyalty! With now 50+ hotels to choose from you shouldn’t have a hard time finding us no matter where you travel. Thanks for the review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What an incredible experience! When we arrived Kaitlin at the front desk 1) upgraded us to a suite, 2) offered us a free glass of wine even though we arrived after their nightly wine hour was over, and 3) gave us a Portland map and marked on it all the restaurants and attractions we asked about. Everything about this hotel and staff was great -- free bicycle rental, hot chocolate in the morning, its location right on the waterfront, its convenience to public transportation, and it even welcomes dogs! We were bummed that we had not brought our dog and they offered us a fish bowl for the night if we wanted a pet for our room! You will be happy you stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdg211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for mentioning Katelin and the wonderful service she provided. She has been an amazing new addition to our team. I thank my lucky stars that we have such incredible caring staff. Let’s get back here soon and be sure to bring your dog!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent experience waiting to to be had. The hotel is nestled on the Willamette river and the views in the evening are simply beautiful. The rooms are very classy and it's up to date with all the desired amenities.

5-6 is happy hour with free. Wine and beer tasting :)

Only issue I had was tv control seems to work well from a distance but tv is not something I care about so it was fine. The staff was excellent and each person has a speciality about the city which was really cool.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackson1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is unfortunate that during the 'high' season, I choose other lodgings in the area in order to save my company's expense dollar. Otherwise, I'd always stay at the RiverPlace. From the doorman to the bartender, each staff member understands how to make a guest welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

You will like every thing about this Hotel. The rooms are nice, the service is great, the food is good,coffee in the morning, wine in the evening. We have been staying at this hotel for a convention every year. The convention has moved across town but we still stay at this hotel. Not just one group but all the old timers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us even though your convention have moved further away, we really appreciate the loyalty and you taking the time to post a review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have used RiverPlace for lodging many times over the past 10 years, although not so much for the past few years due to different business needs. The staff had always shown high levels of personal care and hospitality, and I am happy to report that becoming a Kimpton Hotel has, if anything, moved this up another knotch. The social grace and attention to detail shown to me while resolving a minor bar-billing error convinced me that this fine hotel retains the mantle of excellence I had come to expect. Stay here if you can. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are delightful. Interiors and bathrooms have been completely re-done in the past f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty over the last 10 years and thank you for your very kind words about our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Kimpton style of service. Hope to see you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,775 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing