We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“K-9 Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
“K-9 Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Shasta our Labrador is treated like a real human, its so nice to be able to sit by the fire in the front lobby and have a drink with our pup, and having the convince of being able to walk her on the Willamette walkway is a plus. The rooms are very nice, beds as mentioned excellent as well as the food.

We have the ability to stay @ my brothers townhouse for free, however we choose to stay at the RiverPlace because of its proximity to downtown. The staff pulls out the stops by providing great service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Water views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgbintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Our location is very ideal for our four legged friends. We have a huge park just outside of our front doors and a ton of walking paths nearby so they can stretch their legs. Glad to hear Shasta received the royal treatment!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    237
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
349
795
88
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My business travels took me to Portland. I was considering my options when I read reviews of the Kimpton Hotels - RiverPlace Hotel. This, by far, exceeded my expectations.
From the reservation person, to the front desk check-in person - who upgraded my room at no extra fee or issues, which is unheard of in the hotel world. Even on arrrival; the valet greeting was so gracious....the entire staff was first class. Will definitely stay at the RiverPlace when in Portland.
Dined in the Three Degrees Grill for two evenings food was very good.
Will definitely stay at the RiverPlace when in Portland.

Room Tip: Hotel is partner with Oregon Athletic Club one block from Hotel. Very nice Fitness Club. If plannin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've been a fan of Kimpton Hotels for a long time. They are unusually well run and pleasant hotels. Of the several I've stayed in, River Place is the best. The location is perfect, the rooms are attractive, and the staff extraordinary.

My wife and I were recently there, in part to celebrate her birthday. Prior to our arrival, the hotel contacted me to ask if we were celebrating a particular occasion and when I responded, I was asked if I would like wine and chocolate delivered to our room as part of the celebration. And, indeed, a bottle of wine and a bar of chocolate were awaiting us when we returned to the room on her birthday. Celebrations aside, however, everything at the hotel was impeccable and, again, the staff is superb. I won't stay anywhere else in the future.

Room Tip: High floor and a river view--you'll never want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Ranking us as one of the best Kimpton’s you have visited is quite the honor! We have so many fantastic hotels in our chain. Thank you for your amazing review and thank you for staying at the RiverPlace.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Thank you for the amazing treatment at your hotel, RiverPlace in Portland. I travel each week for work and most often find the closest Starwood hotel. Needless to say, if there's a Kimpton in my destination city, they will have my business no matter what.

The staff at the River Place were so friendly and receptive. I was in Portland for work and was able to bring my mother with me for the trip. The staff helped her figure out what to do in Portland and how to enjoy the city. The front desk staff were also helpful in figuring out and recommending where to go to dinner.

In addition, the hotel and our rooms were so uniquely decorated. Everything was absolutely beautiful. The character of the hotel made it feel like I was actually staying at home and not at a hotel. The morning coffee and hot chocolate service was also delicious! Finally, I loved seeing that the hotel was collecting toys to donate to children for Christmas. Donating permitted my mother and me to feel like we were really a part of the Portland community.

Thank you so much for having recommended the River Place for my mom and me. I look forward to my next trip to a city with a Kimpton hotel.

Room Tip: The two full bed room was more than enough space for 2 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
One of the best review titles ever! Thank you for donating to our toy drive campaign. We have teamed up with Portland MetroToy drive and we will be donating all of the toys our guest and employees have donated in a few weeks. We are thrilled with how many generous guest that have already donated! If you are reading this and plan to visit by December 20th please join us in donating a toy to such a great cause.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I loved my stay at the RiverPlace Hotel and would certainly go back. The staff are very friendly and helped with directions to OHSU, by providing a map and information from TRIMET, the public transport system. The room was perfect for my 7 day stay. The bed and pillows was even more comfortable than my bed at home. The restaurant is wonderful and competes well with local restaurants/bars/cafes. It is well located and within walking distance to public transport and restaurants and cafes. My room was located near the courtyard, and was very quiet, which I certainly appreciated. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: My room was a courtyard room, and was very quiet. It didn't have a view of the river, but that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hotel is located on the waterfront of the Willamette River. This would be such a fun place during warmer weather. There is a nice walking jogging trail along the river, with shops and restaurants nearby. Lovely view of the boats! Decor is modern eclectic. Very comfortable beds. Our room came with a very nice table and chairs. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Decor is modern trendy. It was nice there was a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annettefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I grew up in Portland but have lived many years down in Los Angeles. I have a very found spot in my heart for the city of Portland, and love everything it has to offer. There are many new hip hotels in the city, but in mind there is nothing better than the RiverPlace. The size of their rooms feel luxarious and spectacular river views. Now I know the new thing in Portland is the Pearl District, and I agree it's a great place for shopping and dinning. However, one of the best features of Downtown Portland is their transportation, and with the street car and bus system you can be anywhere in the city in just minutes for the cost of a $1. I am a huge fan of excellent hotel service and amenities, not to mention I like for my hotel rooms to feel spacious, and RiverPlace Hotel exceeds all expectations. They are also great at offering amazing upgrade deals!

Room Tip: Must stay here and use the streetcar service, for an excellent why to tour Downtown Portland for und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I couldn’t agree more that the Portland transit system is one of the best if not the best in the country. We are lucky to be so close to the streetcar which can take you about anywhere in the downtown area and into that Pearl District you mentioned. Thank you for coming up and visiting and thanks for the review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,775 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing