We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We started our honeymoon in Portland and couldn't have been happier with the service and location. The hotel is beautiful and offers some really nice amenities. We took advantage of the free bikes you can rent. Portland really blew us away,especially the food- you must eat at mothers and check out the food carts. There was a grilled cheese cart that was to die for!
The food in the hotels restaurant was also extremely good- you must have their pecan pie! We'll def be staying at the Kimpton when we return to Portland.

Room Tip: We upgraded with a view of the river and it was well worth is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyMasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Oh my gosh you are making me hungry. Can’t go wrong with grilled cheese and pecan pie! Thanks for starting out your trip at the RiverPlace!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is now one of our favorite hotels. First off, the location is perfect. It was also very easy to get to from the airport. It's on the river surrounded by green space, great little coffee shop and restaurants next door, super close to the city center and yet, being surrounded by parkland and the river, it was quiet - even on the road side. The room was beautifully furnished (not hotel-like at all but more like a home master suite), great bedding, super clean and the public spaces were unique, warm, inviting, cozy. I loved the electrical outlet recessed into the side of the table. The staff was attentive, friendly and seemed to anticipate our needs. This is the only place I will stay in Portland from now on.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road and city and it was very quiet - excellent windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. River view room was large, comfortable and nicely furnished with fantastic views over the River. This was our first visit to Portland, now one of our favourite cities in the world, definitely helped by staying here. The location is perfect, a combination of quiet location yet really close to the city. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for a River view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I just love hearing that Portland is one of your favorite cities it the world. Come visit as many times as you like we don’t mind at all.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful, well located, facility right on the river in Portland. Room was impeccable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good. Tons of things to do within walking distance. Lots of great restaurants. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Some have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I defiantly will be passing on your comments about the impeccable guestroom to our amazing housekeeping staff. They just love hearing how their hard work is appreciated. Thank You!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Great experience. Staff was superfriendly and helpful. Great food and excurision recommendations. Wine hour was social and a great way to meet othera touring through. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Staff could not do enough to help out. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambchopspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful rooms with spectacular views the best bed I have slept on in a hotel. Close to area restaurants, easy access to get around. The restaurant was good and great friendless service. Do not stay anywhere else if you are going toPortland, Oregon .

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the water and city lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONI53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Love it! We received brand new Simmons mattresses and they have been a huge hit. I’m super happy that we could provide such a great night of sleep.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

One of many hotels we stayed in during a long visit to United States and Canada, and one of our best finds in Oregon, my wife and I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. We were delighted with our room which was well appointed and sparkling clean. Having arrived late afternoon we decided to eat in the dining room of the hotel. Such was the quality of food and friendlyness of staff we decided to eat in again on each of the 5 days we were there, for breakfast and evening meal. Such good value and variety we were so pleased to eat there. Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay such a pleasure. Despite the distance from home in the UK we felt very much at home, in all respects.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RoyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Glad we could provide a little UK hospitality while you were visiting us across the pond. Thanks for the great review and your amazing comments about our restaurant, 3 Degrees!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 146 in Portland
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $201 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing