We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location or the service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful location and service. Top notch in everything they do and provide. It can be expensive but is soo worth it. I live in area but love going here to escape the suburbs and kids to spend a night downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thank you Kimpton and Riverplace for a very memorable stay, commemorating two milestones (a significant birthday and anniversary). My husband and I celebrated our marriage here, 24 years ago, and returned to celebrate again ~ wow, we were very pampered. Thank you! I was very impressed!

For anyone new to Kimpton, join their loyalty program!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Bug_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Awesome. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary. 24 years later we were here for you! I love it.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had the Riverview Suite and really enjoyed everything. Very nice, spacious, new and clean room with living room, kitchen and outdoor patio. Very comfortable bed and good room service. We'll be back. A+++

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swamicoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We love staying at the Riverplace. The location is perfect - close to restaurants, shopping, and the running trail along the Williamette River. The attention to detail and personal attention is outstanding. Love the free happy hour and enjoy people watching along the river. We take their bikes and shop all day when we stay in the city. This visit we enjoyed a day trip to Hood River to watch the kite boarders/wind surfers and do a little hiking up to the top of Hamilton Mountain. We also very much enjoyed a trip to Cannon Beach/Tillamook as well. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisabeth547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Best title ever! Sounds like you had an amazing trip thanks for spending it with us and thanks for the great review.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the River Place hotel which is well placed to explore Portland. The hotel is very nicely furnished and the rooms are roomy and very comfortable. It is not a cheap hotel, so not one if you are on a budget. My pet hate is that you have to pay for wifi which given the cost of staying here should be complimentary. You can get it free but have to sign up to their loyalty programme to do so which I think should not be necessary. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank CruisingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about our WIFI. Yes its true Kimpton does ask you to sign up for our loyalty program, Kimpton In Touch so you can enjoy free WIFI. It is free to sign up, only takes a minute and it has some pretty amazing perks. If you don’t feel like signing up we get it. Simply call down to the desk and we will give you a free password.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed coffee looking overlooking the marina and riverfront trail every morning. The staff was friendly and accommodating making RiverPlace a great choice for Portland. All employees were concierge trained, which we tested with success. The one downside we found was that the location was close to the downtown section, but a mile plus walk to the Pearl District. Most of our activities were in the Pearl District. We also found the suite configuration to be very comfortable for an extended weekend. They offer free admission to the Portland Athletic Club which offers all types of fitness options including a full range of classes.

Room Tip: The riverside offers better views, but we choose to spend our money on a larger room and enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Glad to hear our well trained staff passed the test! We do offer free bikes for those pearl district shopping sprees or we are not too far from the streetcar that will drop you off right in the middle of the pearl. Thanks for staying at the RiverPlace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel - not inexpensive but worth the money. Perfectly located, large comfortable rooms and a friendly, helpful and gracious staff. Our room faced the water and we enjoyed the sounds of the area whole appreciating the fact that the hotel itself was very quiet. When we return to Portland this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $193 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing