We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond your expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been staying at RiverPlace Hotel for several years. What you will find when you arrive is excellence from the valets to the manager. You are not just another guest but a welcomed guest and the goal of this hotel is to make your stay as comfortable and happy as possible.

After one of our stays, we received a questionnaire about our time at RiverPlace. One of the suggestions I made, since the hotel is right next to a park and right on the Willamette River, was that lawn chairs would be a great amenity. The next year when we returned, lawn chairs were waiting for us in our room. I don't think there can be a better example of customer service.

The only place we'll ever stay in Portland is the RiverPlace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TealDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We hope you enjoyed your very own RiverPlace lawn chairs! It was such an amazing idea we just had to do it. Thanks for the review and your loyalty.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. The location was ideal and beautiful, on the Wilamette River next to a large park. The staff was so warm and welcoming, courteous and helpful. The lobby and public areas are modern but not stark or cold. The restaurant has a wonderful outdoor area overlooking the park and river, so if you like dining alfresco this is the place. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. We liked the variety of dishes offered and the prices were a bit less than what we expected for a hotel restaurant. The bedroom was very clean and beautifully decorated, again modern but not harsh or cold looking. The bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom had separate shower and tub, quite attractive. If we go back to Portland, this will be our hotel again. And, BTW, the price was great!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the river and the park and got exactly what we asked for. In spi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at RiverPlace for the 4th of July weekend. It was a great stay. The room was nice, clean, in good shape. The front desk was very helpful. The bellhops were also great, never a delay in getting our valeted car (because of the Blues Festival, all cars had to be valeted.) We had a special request on our arrival - we like to sleep with white noise and had neglected to bring a fan with us, as we normally do. We called down and within 10 minutes, the bellhop brought us a perfectly noisy fan! Housekeeping did a great job - never bothered us to get out even when we got very late starts to our day. They even left us a bottle of wine one day. Bathroom was great with excellent water pressure in the showerl. Great location - even though it's not "downtown" we were able to walk to many places downtown very easily, and we were always able to find cabs closeby if needed.

There were a few quibbles:

- On July 4th evening, the fireworks were just outside the hotel and thus it was packed in the area. We went down to the restaurant at 9:20 and asked if we could still get in (they closed at 10:00). We were told yes by the hostess. She took our name and told us to come back in 20 minutes. So we went back up to our room for 20 minutes, and came back down. When we got there, we were told it was too late, the servers were really busy, and basically we were out of luck. We couldn't believe it. We said, "Even though you took our name?" At which point the hostess looked down at her sheet and said "Are you Rebecca?" (we weren't) and when we told her our names, she just gave us the runaround and kept saying "It's late and our servers are really busy." We stormed out and went to the only local place we could find that was still serving fast food.

- There was a half-drunk bottle of wine left in our snack/beverage bar. This was clearly left by a previous guest who was trying to get away without paying - it had been carefully placed back where it was, with the lid on, and it was a dark bottle. Not only did we actually want to drink the wine (and pay for it) and now we couldn't, we also now felt like if we notified somebody, they'd think WE were trying to get away with drinking a half-bottle of wine for free. And if we DIDN'T notify somebody, they might find it later and charge us anyway. It was a bad position to be put in, so we just left it and are hoping the latter doesn't come true. This could have been avoided if housekeeping had done a thorough check of the snack/beverage bar before we arrived.

All in all, however, it was a great stay, with superb service. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again... but we will stay away from the restaurant. Seems as though the service there isn't up to par with the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: City view rooms really don't have a view, but we didn't care. We can't speak for the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Little_Tripsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am so sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate you at our restaurant on the 4th of July after we told you it wouldn’t be a problem. I will defiantly look into why this mistake occurred, I feel horrible. Also thank you for bringing the honor bar inventory situation to our attention. If we did charge you for that half drunk bottle of wine it would be by mistake and we would have no problem adjusting off that charge. Thanks for the feedback and your kind words about our Valet and Front Desk staff.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The service at RiverPlace, from the valet parking, bellman, front desk, room service, restaurant staff, and even the engineer to speedily repair the room safe, was excellent and comparable with, and often exceeded, service at such hotels as our local Four Seasons. We upgraded to a river view room, and while does not have items such as a five piece bath, was very comfortable, well appointed, and clean. The bed is very comfortable and the blinds blocked the sun well. The room was quiet, we rarely heard anyone, though we were on the fourth (top) floor. The hotel restaurant Three Degrees is superb, we dined with them for breakfasts and a dinner. Recommend highly, well priced and the plating excellent. The staff was friendly, providing great service and we enjoyed our stay. The Blues Festival was taking place next door to the hotel, which we did not know of upon booking and arrival, but the staff handled the onslaught with aplomb we and we barely noticed the affects other than busy restrooms in the lobby and an energetic bar scene. The upside was that we dined on the patio while Robert Plant performed the final night. There are many fine dining opportunities in walking distance, depending on whether you go half a block along the water to Vie, a fine small French bistro, or 2.5 miles to venture across the river and thru great vaired neighborhoods to the incredible Thai experience that is Pok Pok. Additionally a few blocks away into the city is Veritable Quandry, a gastro-pub with an extensive Oregonian wine list and serving to 10pm, it was recommended by David the valet (thank you!) and we were grateful for his counsel. We look forward to visiting again, and thanks to everyone including the staff who left all the chocolates in our room!

Room Tip: Pay for the river view and top floor. It is worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for taking the Blues festival in stride. It was a pretty incredible Sunday night when Robert Plant was belting out Zeppelin songs just a few feet from our front doors. Glad to hear you were able to get a table at the bar to enjoy it. Thanks for the 3 Degree compliments, we have a new Chef and he has done an amazing job for us.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a number of hotels during our recent trip to the Pacific Northwest and this was number one in all categories. Service was excellent - from check in, to the valet, to the guy who put out the coffee in the morning. Everyone was pleasant, helpful, and friendly. The room was decorated in a very eclectic style - maybe not something I would want at home but perfect for a hotel room. Just funky enough to be cool. The bed was big and very comfortable. The bathroom was updated, and a really good size for a hotel room. We had a room with the river view, and it was a treat to wake up every morning, throw open the curtains, and take in the river. Also, the room seemed fairly well insulated. I hate those hotels where you can hear everything happening out in the hallway - and every door that slams. Maybe we were lucky in our 3 days there, but I barely noticed noise from the hallway.

The hotel was well located - a short walk to pretty much anywhere we wanted to go, although the Pearl District could be a hike - especially after a long day of site seeing. The river walk was nice to have right outside the hotel as well; we enjoyed taking a short stroll in the mornings, and grabbing a drink at one of the little eateries there.

One thing to mention - they will give you a pedometer and for every mile you run, they will donate some amount to charity. My husband and I are both runners, and were disappointed that we had not brought our sneaks on vacation. What a cool idea!! So, learn from our review and pack your sneaks. I think they also loan bikes too - which we noticed on the last day - so that would be worth asking about that when you book if it interests you.

In closing, there is always something - it may be small, it may be big - that you complain about to your significant other about a stay in a hotel. At this one - no complaints! I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The river view was pretty awesome if you can afford the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelawareGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Gosh what an amazing review. Thank you for the kind words. Sorry you weren’t able to take advantage of our run for a cause program. Yes we donate a $1 for every mile a guest or employee runs. This month’s charity is Trust for Public Land. I host a guest run every Wednesday at 5PM so I’ll wear the watch today and log my miles for you. Until next time!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second year at the Riverfront for the festival and while we didn't think it could get any better, it did. We stayed in Room 514 and had a front row seat to this years fireworks show! It was breath taking, best place to watch the show ever.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very professional valet staff who were friendly and very helpful. The bell staff brought all of our stuff to the room quickly, professionally and were also just awesome!

Kanji who was our waitress at breakfast was also so nice, friendly and fun to talk to while we enjoyed our favorite table in the morning over Bloody Mary's and the delicious breakfast!

We highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Portland. We already have our reservation for next year!

Room Tip: For 4th of July you want either 514 or one of the rooms closest to the Waterfront park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have been to Portland several times and this is the first time I stayed at this hotel. We loved the location. It was convienient to everything we wanted to do and yet it felt like we were in a resort location. The riverfront setting was an unexpected treat as was the iced coffee in the morning. Walks along the river were a great start and ending to each day. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was very comfortable. The bed was great and we slept even better.

Next trip to Portland, I am definitely coming back to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thanks a million for trying us out during your latest trip to Portland. I love that you had such a great time and the location suited your needs. Also I have to agree our new beds are just amazing. See you soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 146 in Portland
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $201 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing