We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July and Waterfront Blues Festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“4th of July and Waterfront Blues Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second year at the Riverfront for the festival and while we didn't think it could get any better, it did. We stayed in Room 514 and had a front row seat to this years fireworks show! It was breath taking, best place to watch the show ever.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very professional valet staff who were friendly and very helpful. The bell staff brought all of our stuff to the room quickly, professionally and were also just awesome!

Kanji who was our waitress at breakfast was also so nice, friendly and fun to talk to while we enjoyed our favorite table in the morning over Bloody Mary's and the delicious breakfast!

We highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Portland. We already have our reservation for next year!

Room Tip: For 4th of July you want either 514 or one of the rooms closest to the Waterfront park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    212
    53
    8
    13
See reviews for
303
707
78
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Portland several times and this is the first time I stayed at this hotel. We loved the location. It was convienient to everything we wanted to do and yet it felt like we were in a resort location. The riverfront setting was an unexpected treat as was the iced coffee in the morning. Walks along the river were a great start and ending to each day. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was very comfortable. The bed was great and we slept even better.

Next trip to Portland, I am definitely coming back to this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks a million for trying us out during your latest trip to Portland. I love that you had such a great time and the location suited your needs. Also I have to agree our new beds are just amazing. See you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. We did not want to leave. Kimpton really works hard to accommodate its guests, and they do a great job. We have become Kimpton "InTouch" members and would recommend your doing so if you are going to stay at a Kimpton.

Room Tip: We were in Room 406 with a beautiful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gammon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
2 great recommendations. Room 406 does have wonderful views and our loyalty program Kimpton In Touch is totally worth signing up for. Free Wifi, upgrades, newspapers, $10 raid the mini bar credit, earn free night stays. Why wouldn’t you? Thanks for the comments!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, newly decorated with style!! Lots of style! No boring hotel room here, but instead tastefully fun. We had a one bedroom overlooking the river. What a room! Very well insulated as well, with double paned windows. The room had a small balcony running from living room to bedroom. The shower had not only a hand held shower head but also a rain showerhead! Bottle of champagne and small box of chocolates awaiting us upon arrival.

Besides the location, this hotel is outstanding due to the staff. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful, providing tourist advice and general conversation.

There is a happy hour from 5:00 - 6:00 with a nice selection of wines, bottled water, and delicious cookies. Join the Kimpton Intouch program and your wifi is free, plus you receive a coupon for $10.00 of the minibar.

We borrowed bikes (free) and rode along the waterfront one morning. Very nice way to begin the day.

No downside to this hotel. Stay here!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the waterfront is beautiful, but due to the quality of the room, if price is an issue, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our third experience at a Kimpton hotel and could not be more pleased. Staff is, as always, very friendly, helpful and professional. Location is perfect. When weather is nice, the 5 p.m wine happy hour is served on the deck overlooking the Willamette river and all the various bridges. The restaurant is very good. We had a pulled pork sandwhich or something like that and it was very good. You are right on the river and can easily walk along the trail/path to downtown and the weekend street fair. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Obviously, ask for a river front room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Here is hoping for many wonderful sunny summer nights to enjoy wine up on the courtyard! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What is there not to like about this place...

Pros:
LOCATION, Location, location!! - right on the south waterfront park. they have bikes you can borrow for free. go riding or running anytime you want. people watch. only a few blocks from downtown proper.
nice chill atmosphere.
nicely updated rooms.
manager's reception every evening with the best chocolate chip cookies!
coffee station every morning.
free bottle of wine if you check into yelp.
awesome service!!

Cons:
It's so popular it's kind of busy. but it doesn't feel over crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nahlalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! It sounds like you had a great stay. We love that you were able to explore our great city on our bikes. We certainly hope to see you and your family the next time you are in town! Be sure to keep an eye out for Kimpton Hotels in your future travels... we ALL have bikes!

Until next time,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Tappan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The River Place in Portland, Oregon is a phenomenal hotel. Great location, very helpful staff, extremely pet friendly, with great accomodations. One negative is that wifi is an extra fee. They have a free wine tasting hour nightly, great urns filled with flavored water available all day. Served as a wonderful location for our three days in Portland

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vborden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel! Be sure to sign up for our free guest loyalty program Kimpton InTouch before your next visit. You will receive complimentary wireless internet... and we will let you "Raid" the Mini Bar!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing