We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to Columbia River Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Old Tappan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great end to Columbia River Cruise”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The River Place in Portland, Oregon is a phenomenal hotel. Great location, very helpful staff, extremely pet friendly, with great accomodations. One negative is that wifi is an extra fee. They have a free wine tasting hour nightly, great urns filled with flavored water available all day. Served as a wonderful location for our three days in Portland

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vborden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel! Be sure to sign up for our free guest loyalty program Kimpton InTouch before your next visit. You will receive complimentary wireless internet... and we will let you "Raid" the Mini Bar!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    237
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
349
795
88
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed at RiverPlace Hotel probably ten times. It has come to be my favorite hotel anywhere. Because of my prior stays, each time I go there I walk in with the relaxed feeling that all will go well, rather than wondering what will go wrong. The people there remember the guests and welcome them when they return. They think about you in particular, rather than just any guest, when they offer to help. Last summer I stayed there with my family and while we were in Portland we ended up, to our surprise, buying a puppy. Everyone in the hotel helped with the new dog. Last week I returned on business and found a dog bed, a milk bone and a water dish in the corner of my room. I didn't have the dog with me but who cares? How cool is that!

Room Tip: Ask for an "8" room: 208, 308, 408. Interesting shape, great view, quiet. 208 is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for the loyalty and for such an amazing review title. One of my favorites!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a quiet evening. We ate in the bar (because we were not that hungry) and had a great meal of bar food...not your typical bar food but really good stuff. Free wine and beet in the early evening. A quick walk to a nice place for breakfast (I don't usually like hotel breakfasts).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSilverSpring_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Portland - the hotel and staff are all top notch and the nightly wine tasting / happy hour is a really nice touch. The view is fantastic and the location of the hotel very convenient as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your sweet review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at the RiverPlace.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

...than a comfortable bed for you and one for the pooch? Kimpton knows how to make every customer feel at home. The amenities are impeccable; the customer service top notch and even the dog gets his own bowls, bed and treats. The Kimpton is our favorite boutique hotel line. The hotel is located right by the river. There is a beautiful river walk just outside the door. Free bicycles for the guests. And the in house restaurant, Three Degress, is absolutely delicious. Wine and bites are available in the lobby every evening. Fresh coffee and tea in the mornings. Walk to all your favorite Portland neighborhoods. What could be better?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danielsonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Ok... Now we are blushing. What a great review! We are beyond excited to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We will be sure to pass along your great comments to our friends over at Three Degrees.

We will most certainly see you next time!

Sincerely,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A fantastic place to spend your first few days in Oregon after a 11 hours in the air.
We received a warm welcome from the concierge and front desk team, who all were friendly and provided excellent helpful service throughout our stay.
We opted for an Exec Suite which was effectively two-rooms (living and sleeping - to counter any jet-lag issues); it was well furnished with a very comfortable bed and lovely views over the river and dragon-boaters. Two doors opened onto a balcony allowing the place to feel refreshing and relaxing, especially with the great weather we had. There were no major noise issues.
It's a great location, as well as being able to walk up and down the river, it's a five minute walk to Downtown and also a short walk to a few riverside restaurants. There are a couple of breakfast/coffee shops just a minute or two away as well.
We sampled the food at the hotel only once (lunch), which was fine although service was a bit haphazard. We also visited the bar once and service and drink options were very good.
We throughly enjoyed our few days in Portland and if we ever go back, I'm certain we'd return to RiverPlace.

Room Tip: Go for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. How lucky that you ended up here during the first sunny Rose Festival in 10 years!

We hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is located on a marina at the intersection of four major highways and it is a bit difficult to get to, but once their is was nice. It is located on the Portland river walk, right next to a marina. The river walk was a nice place to stroll with shops and restaurants. We were there on Father's Dayana many of the restaurants were closed. The layout of the hotel was not your long hallway with rooms on each side that is typical of most hotels. We loved the decor and the way the rooms were set up,again not typical. They do charge for valet parking in their closed garage. Although parking was pricey and I parked my motorcycle myself, it was worth it for the added security. They have a manager's reception each night with free wine and beer. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was good but pricey. The rooms are pricey also, but we expected that when we made the reservation.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are the ones to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rider65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wow what a great review!!! Thank you so much for your great comments about our hotel. We are so glad you had the chance to enjoy wine hour each night while you were here. What a treat.

We will see you next time!

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,777 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing