We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we recently stayed a week at the riverplace, stayed in a jr suite overlooking river, was nice, comfortable, clean, quiet. could watch the dragon boats going by. staff were polite and informitive. downtown was only a short walk away. only wished they had better breakfast was not impressed with restaurant. overall was a good stay and would stay their again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for spending an entire week with us. It was a pleasure having you. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy the breakfast. We all appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve our restaurant offerings. Thanks for the review.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    212
    53
    8
    13
See reviews for
303
707
78
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
493 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The River Place is a bit of a change from Kimpton's usual style.

It is located beside the Columbia River adjacent to a very pleasant park and marina. It is about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area.

Our standard room was very spacious and nicely decorated. Our room faced the city and nearby main road. The view was average but considering a busy road was nearby the room was very quiet. Staff reported the hotel had been recently renovated. It certainly seems fresh and new. The Etro bathroom amenities are a nice touch.

Doormen and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. After our first encounter they all greeted us by name.

The traditional Kimpton winetasting is served each evening in the 'living room'. Always a nice perk.

River view rooms would probably be a much nicer option than city view.

Tips: Join the Kimpton In-Touch program. It's free. Members get their choice of newspapers, free wifi and $10 credit for the mini-bar.

Room Tip: Try for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our new look. You are right that this hotel is just a little different from other Kimpton Hotels. We are a little smaller but we still offer all of the cool amenities that other Kimpton's do.

We certainly hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel

Director of Rooms
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My Mom and I had a wonderful weekend getaway and chose this hotel for the beautiful location; we got so much more then we had expected! From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we were greeted by the friendly valet, checking in was easy and so friendly. Our room was decorated so beautiful, comfortable, and so clean. We were surprised with a welcome tray including wine, cupcakes, and a manuicure/pedicure kit to help us celebrate our Mother/Daughter getaway. It helped kick off a great weekend together! The restaurant, Three Degrees, had delicious food, and the staff was knowledgable and a delight. I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back with my husband! Thank you to all the staff at the RiverPlace Hotel! We really appreciated everything you did to make our stay special and unique!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLF7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I just love to hear how we rolled out the red carpet for you and your Mom. We will do the same when you bring the husband. Let’s see you again before the summer zooms by. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was great! The bed comfortable, really comfortable. As always the staff at Kimpton is very friendly and accommodating. They even arranged for my car rental. I only spent one night but would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

While visiting family in Portland, I needed a place with my 4 year old son and saw the photos and reviews and thought lets give it a try. Every employee that we ran into was super friendly. One person in general was Ed in maintenance. My son was fascinated with the work he was doing on the 4th floor, as he was hanging up new signs, patching holes, and painting. He was so impressed with my son, that he stopped to talk to him, and explained how he repaired the holes in the wall. He even gave my son a few of the chocolate hammers. That was a nice touch. The hotel has wine hour and warm cookies from 5 to 6pm. That's not all. The rooms are all remodeled, with Flat screen TV's, DVD players perfect for my son that got to get free DVD rentals from the fantastic front desk staff. Lots of children DVD's to choose. There is the river right outside hotel door to walk, and it's away from the downtown drama. The only downfall was our room did not have a view of the river, but did have an excellant 2 room suite on the 4th floor. Maybe next visit we will have a river view room. We also have to thank Andrew at the front door for parking our car and giving us excellent directions to some excellent restaurants and OMSI museum. This is the place for us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dug-zon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I shared your review with Ed and he was thrilled he made such an impact on your son and your overall stay. Thank you for mentioning Ed, it is rare that our maintenance employees get mentioned in surveys and reviews but they so desire the recognition for their hard-work. We all hope to see you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a perfect time staying at this hotel. The food was amazing! People are so friendly and cared about the quality of service we received. I would stay there again and look forward to our next trip to Oregon. The cleaning crew left thoughtful notes with chocolate at our table after cleaning our room each night. They provided us with all the toiletries we needed with their understanding that liquids and gels over 1 oz are not allowed on aircraft security. Also as we waited to leave for home on the third day, our flight was so very early. The hotel staff made sure we had coffee and tea service at 4:15 am even though it was not usually served at that time. They provided us with transportation and created a low stress visit. Awesome time at this absolutely beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We had a view of a garden and other rooms. Ask about harbor water views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Riverplace Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. We walked all around the city and looked at other hotels as well as the sights, and I have to say that if I had to choose all over again, I would stay here. The room was really clean, with a great view of the harbor. Great places to eat close by, and the nightly wine tasting was amazing. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and really added to our enjoyment. Not sure when we'll get back to Portland, but when we do we will stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for choosing the RiverPlace and thanks for the sharing the great photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing