We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“5 Stars and Fabulous In Every Way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canby, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Stars and Fabulous In Every Way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My Mom and I had a wonderful weekend getaway and chose this hotel for the beautiful location; we got so much more then we had expected! From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we were greeted by the friendly valet, checking in was easy and so friendly. Our room was decorated so beautiful, comfortable, and so clean. We were surprised with a welcome tray including wine, cupcakes, and a manuicure/pedicure kit to help us celebrate our Mother/Daughter getaway. It helped kick off a great weekend together! The restaurant, Three Degrees, had delicious food, and the staff was knowledgable and a delight. I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back with my husband! Thank you to all the staff at the RiverPlace Hotel! We really appreciated everything you did to make our stay special and unique!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLF7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I just love to hear how we rolled out the red carpet for you and your Mom. We will do the same when you bring the husband. Let’s see you again before the summer zooms by. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    225
    57
    9
    13
See reviews for
323
746
79
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was great! The bed comfortable, really comfortable. As always the staff at Kimpton is very friendly and accommodating. They even arranged for my car rental. I only spent one night but would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

While visiting family in Portland, I needed a place with my 4 year old son and saw the photos and reviews and thought lets give it a try. Every employee that we ran into was super friendly. One person in general was Ed in maintenance. My son was fascinated with the work he was doing on the 4th floor, as he was hanging up new signs, patching holes, and painting. He was so impressed with my son, that he stopped to talk to him, and explained how he repaired the holes in the wall. He even gave my son a few of the chocolate hammers. That was a nice touch. The hotel has wine hour and warm cookies from 5 to 6pm. That's not all. The rooms are all remodeled, with Flat screen TV's, DVD players perfect for my son that got to get free DVD rentals from the fantastic front desk staff. Lots of children DVD's to choose. There is the river right outside hotel door to walk, and it's away from the downtown drama. The only downfall was our room did not have a view of the river, but did have an excellant 2 room suite on the 4th floor. Maybe next visit we will have a river view room. We also have to thank Andrew at the front door for parking our car and giving us excellent directions to some excellent restaurants and OMSI museum. This is the place for us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dug-zon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I shared your review with Ed and he was thrilled he made such an impact on your son and your overall stay. Thank you for mentioning Ed, it is rare that our maintenance employees get mentioned in surveys and reviews but they so desire the recognition for their hard-work. We all hope to see you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a perfect time staying at this hotel. The food was amazing! People are so friendly and cared about the quality of service we received. I would stay there again and look forward to our next trip to Oregon. The cleaning crew left thoughtful notes with chocolate at our table after cleaning our room each night. They provided us with all the toiletries we needed with their understanding that liquids and gels over 1 oz are not allowed on aircraft security. Also as we waited to leave for home on the third day, our flight was so very early. The hotel staff made sure we had coffee and tea service at 4:15 am even though it was not usually served at that time. They provided us with transportation and created a low stress visit. Awesome time at this absolutely beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We had a view of a garden and other rooms. Ask about harbor water views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Riverplace Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. We walked all around the city and looked at other hotels as well as the sights, and I have to say that if I had to choose all over again, I would stay here. The room was really clean, with a great view of the harbor. Great places to eat close by, and the nightly wine tasting was amazing. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and really added to our enjoyment. Not sure when we'll get back to Portland, but when we do we will stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for choosing the RiverPlace and thanks for the sharing the great photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love staying at this hotel right on the river. It has a great boardwalk and restaurants.
We try to go down at this time due to the festivities of the Rose Festival at McCall Park.
They has just renovated the rooms and they are very nice. We will return soon.
It's a pet friendly hotel too!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on river front are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNBOATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for spending the holiday weekend with us. It was a pleasure having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff has been excellent. A casual and comfortable place. Great location if you like to jog and have dogs. The food, however, needs improvement. I had two meals here and they both were pretty bad. Dry eggs and a veggie burger that was too salty to eat. Another problem was that our shower did not work properly. Maintaince came to fix it but did not have the parts. They offered to come back, but we did not want to deal with the bath taken apart again. I stayed in a one bedroom suite. It is basically a condo. Nice and spacious. Fireplace, full kitchen, washer and dryer. Balcony overlooking the waterfront walk, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you want a lot old space, get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I’m sorry to hear that you had a problem with the shower and that we couldn’t get it resolved in a timely manner. I would also like to apologize that you were disappointed in the meals. We strive for perfection and it’s disappointing to hear you encountered these problems. Thank you for bringing them to our attention, we will fix these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing