We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Day weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memorial Day weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love staying at this hotel right on the river. It has a great boardwalk and restaurants.
We try to go down at this time due to the festivities of the Rose Festival at McCall Park.
They has just renovated the rooms and they are very nice. We will return soon.
It's a pet friendly hotel too!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on river front are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNBOATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for spending the holiday weekend with us. It was a pleasure having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    235
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
345
783
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff has been excellent. A casual and comfortable place. Great location if you like to jog and have dogs. The food, however, needs improvement. I had two meals here and they both were pretty bad. Dry eggs and a veggie burger that was too salty to eat. Another problem was that our shower did not work properly. Maintaince came to fix it but did not have the parts. They offered to come back, but we did not want to deal with the bath taken apart again. I stayed in a one bedroom suite. It is basically a condo. Nice and spacious. Fireplace, full kitchen, washer and dryer. Balcony overlooking the waterfront walk, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you want a lot old space, get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I’m sorry to hear that you had a problem with the shower and that we couldn’t get it resolved in a timely manner. I would also like to apologize that you were disappointed in the meals. We strive for perfection and it’s disappointing to hear you encountered these problems. Thank you for bringing them to our attention, we will fix these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed trying this hotel out but for the life of me can't figure out how/why they're charging $300+/night in Portland. That's like a Four Seasons room rate, which this hotel is not. The room decor is interesting albeit impractical. Ex: Given the location the hotel is presumably a couples destination, yet there was only one real chair in the room, which was frustrating. Sorry, design team, the half sofa thing is not a substitute. The bedside lamps are so big and awkward it's like a third person lurking around. There's not really a very welcoming lobby for conversation, although the restaurant could seat 500. Very odd. It just didn't feel like other Kimptons but did love the rocking chairs on the patio. The location is great and for that reason I would recommend it but just know what you're getting.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We really appreciate the feedback about our new design. I would like to apologize from the sound of things you just weren’t blown away. I will share your thoughts with our designer and we will look at ways to best unitize the seating in the lobby, restaurant, and guestrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here for our anniversary. We wondered if we made the right choice since it wasn't downtown near all the other hotels. We did and we loved it! The room was beautiful and very roomy. And the staff was incredibly helpful from giving us directions to setting us up with complimentary bikes to giving us restaurant advice (thanks David!) to great valet service, it was a great few days for us.

The location is ideal. Right by the river and next to all the River activity. While we were there people would meet each night to dragon boat and it seemed like there was always something to do on the river walk. If you want to get to the Pearl District you can make a nice walk, bike or catch the trolley.

If we go back to Portland, River Place will be our place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumbsnatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for mentioning David in your review! He is an incredible employee and we are so lucky to have him here at the RiverPlace. I will be sure to share your review with him. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in a king suite on the river for a couple of nights en route to Alaska and can't say enough about the cleanliness and comfort of of the room, the beauty of the view, the charm of the river walk - but the real kicker was the warmth and helpfulness of the staff. No problem was too fall for them to fix in a thoughtful , friendly and timely manner. We loved the big, obvious plusses like the well-appointed kitchen and dining room overlooking the river - but were also charmed by the morning paper delivery options and the complimentary wine at happy hour. We opted out of dinner at Three Degrees restaurant but thoroughly enjoyed their room service in our suite. We took a few hours to walk along the river, a favorite of locals, enjoying the wildlife, the local color and some historical sites. A wonderful stop along the way that could be an elegant and comfortable destination spot.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our suite and bought cereal and juice for breakfasts in our water front dining room (exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeChat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I’m just loving it that you recognize that the staff is the real reason to stay at the RiverPlace. Yes we have an awesome location and a gorgeous remodeled property but in my opinion nothing beats great service. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I needed to spend the night close to down town to attend a conference. I was worried about the parking issues, and hoped to have an opportunity to excersize. The staff at the Riverplace seamlessly attended to all of my needs and concerns. I had a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: It is nice, but more costly, to have a river view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Fantastic! Yes parking is a breeze with in my opinion the best valets in Portland and as long as you are motivated exercise shouldn’t be a problem either. We offer free passes to a full athletic club, free onsite yoga classes every Friday morning, and running/biking paths galore just right outside our front doors. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

First trip to Portland and we stayed at the River Place which was a great experience.
We had a lovely river view room which was decorated well and very clean which I absolutely loved.
The hotel was well located on the river bank and next to the park.
It was walking distance to the downtown shops and also had a lovely selection of restaurants and cafes along the river walk.
It had a great social ambience as there were always people around enjoying themselves doing various activities such as rowing,, jogging, walking their dogs or just sitting at one of the cafes/restaurants enjoying a drink.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
It’s so great to hear you enjoyed the RiverPlace community. We are only steps from downtown but the peaceful atmosphere can make it feel a million miles away. Thanks for writing a review

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing