We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm sorry to report that I won't stay at a Kimpton Hotel again. Every single breath you take costs you. I was told in the restaurant that if I brought food to my room, that I'd have to pay $1 extra. Well, no, they charge the $2.50 standard room delivery rate plus 18% gratuity. I didn't want to wait for my food, but I wasn't told the correct information about the charge. the service was OK though. And beware of bringing your car. On this visit, just like my first visit, my car came out from the Valet service scratched and dented. I won't risk an extra charge on my car rental. Never again!

Room Tip: Go for a water side for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suzan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

I would like to apologize about the extra cost to bring up restaurant food to your guestroom. I am confused on why we would be charging you an extra dollar on top of the delivery cost? I will look into this. This is the first I am hearing about a scratch and or dent that occurred in our garage. Was this issue reported to anyone? I would be more than happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this location for two nights on a trip to California. By all accounts, the staff were always very friendly and accomodating...no matter what type of question, they seemed willing to get what answers they could. The rooms are well appointed although depending on the location of your room you may well simply have a view of another part of the hotel. The wifi service is a charge although you can easily get around that by simply (and painlessly) joining the Kimpton guest program.

The hotel is conveniently located on the riverfront, offering a great walking path and is within about a 15 minute walk to the touristy section of Portland. We did not eat at the hotel, instead taking advantage of the many other opportunities in Portland.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook other parts of the hotel, so you may want to get a better feel as to in what dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I visited Portland for the first time this trip for his birthday. Ever since I booked the hotel stay back in December I have been so excited to see and experience it for myself after reading all the reviews and seeing the pics. Let me tell you what this place is absotuletly amazing!! From the staff to the rooms; every part has been wonderful. Upon check-in I had asked if there was any way to upgrade our room (we had a river view king and I had really wanted a room with a fireplace) and I was under the impression the only room available with a fireplace was a city view room. Maya (the wonderful lady who checked us in) did a few clicks and informed me that what she had available was even better than I thought, it was one of their condos that was river view with a fire place and a balchony!! I was soo thrilled! We were a little early so she had a very nice gentleman store our luggage while we walked around the river walk until she called us to let us know our room was ready. I have been soo pleased and I am definitely going to recommend this property to every one!

-One Happy Customer :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Audra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Wow I am so glad that Maya helped you and your husband out and made your stay at the RiverPlace so special. I have shared your comments with Maya and she is thrilled with your feedback, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February. This hotel really stepped up to help us out. We had made a mistake in our reservation and made it for a couple days later than we meant to. When we realized the mistake the front desk was very accommodating and although they were almost fully booked found us a room with a river view and even gave us an upgrade to the condo-style room. The view of the marina and river is beautiful. The hotel is clean and our condo-style room was awesome - we wish we could have stayed longer. We really appreciate the staff being so helpful with finding us a room at the last minute in a situation that could have been stressful. We missed the wine hour but were given vouchers for two free drinks at the bar. We had a late dinner at the bar and really enjoyed the lively atmosphere. It was jazz week and the hotel bar had a live band playing the night we stayed. Beautiful hotel, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotInKansasAnymore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything about this hotel was exceptional! Every person we interacted with went above and beyond. I can't wait to stay there again!! Attention was paid to every detail. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. A wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

With amazing comments like that we can’t wait to have you back!! Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law gave us an overnight stay at the RiverPlace Hotel in Portland as an gift. Having read excellent reviews we were looking forward to a great stay. To be very honest it is a wonderful hotel and most likely it deserves an excellent rating but we gave it a very good rating for several reasons. First, all the employees of the hotel were great! All willing to answer any questions quickly and offer any assistance required. The hotel was spotless and almost everything was prefect. However, there were a few factors we had to take into consideration.

First there was a large stain on the sofa that was well hidden but the cushion came down and there it was. Secondly, the local trains did pass by most of the night making more noise than they should. Being on the second floor suit, the lights did shine directly into the room but pulling the curtains did remove the light. Last, we wanted to start a fire in the wood fireplace and only found large logs with one log starter but no kindling which would have made starting the fire more easy. Not a big deal but if the hotel wants to be top rated in Portland it must correct these small items. We did eat an excellent dinner at the Three Degrees and will write that up soon. Overall I would go back there which is while I gave it a very good. Very close to an excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in 225 which was a 1 bedroom suite. It faced downtown Portland and down river from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I’m so sorry we didn’t provide that 5 star experience. When you stay with us again please do not hesitate to ask one of the staff members to get that fire started for you, we are always happy to help. As far as the stain on the sofa I am so sorry that was there and we will be sure to take care of it. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the River Place in Portland; having stayed in many of the hotels in the area we
were particularly happy to find a place close to town (walking distance and/or the local light rail)
which offered such great accommodation. We loved the extra perks; free bikes; wine hour
and home made cookies; ni

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artist10160878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed our location. I would agree it’s a pretty unique experience to get such a lovely view of the river and a place that feels so relaxed only within a few blocks from the center of downtown. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 146 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $183 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing