We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveler rating
1,476
266
70
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,476
266
70
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswillamette riverdegrees restaurantriver placerocking chairsathletic cluba river view roomthe river walkwine hourcomplimentary winevalet staffbeautiful roomclose to downtownwonderful hotelvalet parkingthe entire staffhappy hourfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I came to the RIverPlace Hotel with my close friends for a book club overnight. We have been choosing nice hotels in Portland or Seattle for many years for our annual overnight together. Staying at the RiverPlace was the best experience we have had at any of the nice boutique or luxery hotels we have chosen over the last ten years.

Each staff person from the hotel we came across (valet, front desk, housekeeping, concierge) was extremely thoughtful and gracious, and they made every effort to make our time together special. Extra touches included a handwritten note in our room, complimentary wine for all guests, thoughtful dinner recommendations, not to mention a great health club and bikes for borrowing for a ride along the river. The lovely rooms had beautiful views, excellent beds and very quiet. We had one of the suites, and it had everything in it to make our weekend away relaxing and special. The in and out valet, made our side trips to different part of the town easy and quick there were nice restaurants within walking distance as well. Watching the river from our room made it real vacation and we left feeling truly pampered. We have decided we will be back here next year.

Room Tip: The water view is extra special.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Sounds like it was a team effort by all departments to make your visit with us so enjoyable. We love that you will be back next year. But why wait so long?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the RiverPlace during a convention in October 2012. The staff was welcoming and excellent. They made every effort to assist us with any questions and offer advice. It was more than that, though: the staff welcomed questions and seemed to be genuinely delighted to dispense advice. The staff were easily the best part of our stay (excluding, naturally, the joy of Portland food carts).

- Location - We found the location to be excellent in two parts! The hotel is adjacent to the Willamette River. There is an excellent network of pathways along the river for bikes (and everyone else). Secondly, we enjoyed the convenience of a straight shot from the hotel to the US26 and a straight shot back from the 26 (which we did every day to visit friends). The hotel is close to local transportation (max and street car loop). Easy access to Powell's and more.
Safety note - Portland is a City and keeping aware of your surroundings is as important here as in any urban area. No need to be afraid, be cautious about walking alone along the river. The transient population seemed to increase as one heads north - especially in the Burnside area. The hotel staff can give you a sense of any areas to avoid after dark.

- Room - Our incredibly comfortable and stylish room was on the second floor with a courtyard view. There is a wine reception each afternoon in the Courtyard. The courtyard has some nice plantings and pergolas - they help with privacy and make a for a pleasant view. The doors were heavier/thicker than most. We never heard anyone outside the room. The room was a single King, standard (no kitchen) with plenty of extra space to spread out with our 2 large dogs. The bathroom was tiled and modern, with excellent complimentary products (the quality is so good, it's worth mentioning). The bed was excellent, but the pillows...ahhh - the best pillows ever. Room also had a nice flat screen; plenty of good lighting; nice walking tour maps; good Portland city guides.

- The only drawback - Not a crisis by any standard, but the minifridge which was stocked with bar items leaving little room for personal beverages.

**Dog Friendly** Kimpton hotels have an excellent pet policy (accept all size of dogs; no pet fee). There were treats at the desk and in our room. Plenty of space in the standard rooms for 2 large dogs to spread out. We found the modern bathroom faucet not the easiest for rinsing dog bowls (splurge for a kitchen if you can). The large grassy area adjacent to the hotel seems an oasis, but for those with indiscriminating pooches beware the abundance of goose poop. We were especially grateful to the valets for their patience as we loaded and unloaded gear and dogs (one of us did not have to attend the meetings).

Everything you would expect from a Kimpton Hotel, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Dog travelers: choose a room with a kitchen for rinsing bowls et al if you are staying for a length of time.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2LeoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Portland for business: The Heathman, The Governor Hotel, Hotel Modera to name a few. This was my first stay at the Kimpton's RiverPlace Hotel. I absolutely enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and the interior was terrific, not to mention the view. If you get there by 5, enjoy the complimentary wine bar happy hour...a plus indeed. I also liked the idea that a bicycle was available if you wanted to bike down the river walk.
A handful of restaurants are within walking distance too.
Because I was traveling solo, I felt safe in this hotel and enjoyed the fireplaces down stairs and the comfortable seating. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrintGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Very nice review! We are in with some great company when it comes to the hotels you have previously visited. We hope to keep you as our loyal guest from here on out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel really. It was absolutely perfect from the time we arrived and the valet greeted us out front to when we checked out the next day. The staff was simply amazing, the beds were super comfy, and the free hot rum cider and wine tasting in the evening was a extra special bonus. The overall quality and cleanliness of the hotel was way above par - especially for the price. Champagne on beer budget is just what we needed, and exactly what we received on our special romantic weekend. Much thanks to the River Place staff!

Room Tip: We got a river facing room on the 4th floor. It was quiet, beautiful, and just perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Always happy to hear we played a part in providing romance no matter the budget. Thanks for your very kind words about our staff. I have no doubt they will enjoy your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

What an excellent spot for our recent trip to visit with local friends and introduce our two young boys to downtown Portland! I've stayed at other Kimpton properties in San Francisco and San Diego and loved them for swank business travel but this spot was also great for kids. From the front desk to the valet to the bartender the service is first class. The staff addressed us by name throughout our stay which the boys found particularly impressive. Our local friends came to meet us en-masse and shared in the complimentary wine tasting with us at the desk's invitation.
Centrally located with great views of the river and plenty to do for the whole family along with everything I expected from Kimpton already. We'll be back in the summertime........

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

And with feedback like that we can’t wait to have you and the family back in the summer months! We have worked hard to make the RiverPlace a little more family friendly and it’s so nice to hear that its paying off. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews