We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip to Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business trip to Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Portland for business: The Heathman, The Governor Hotel, Hotel Modera to name a few. This was my first stay at the Kimpton's RiverPlace Hotel. I absolutely enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable, spacious, clean and the interior was terrific, not to mention the view. If you get there by 5, enjoy the complimentary wine bar happy hour...a plus indeed. I also liked the idea that a bicycle was available if you wanted to bike down the river walk.
A handful of restaurants are within walking distance too.
Because I was traveling solo, I felt safe in this hotel and enjoyed the fireplaces down stairs and the comfortable seating. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrintGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Very nice review! We are in with some great company when it comes to the hotels you have previously visited. We hope to keep you as our loyal guest from here on out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    235
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
345
783
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troutdale, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel really. It was absolutely perfect from the time we arrived and the valet greeted us out front to when we checked out the next day. The staff was simply amazing, the beds were super comfy, and the free hot rum cider and wine tasting in the evening was a extra special bonus. The overall quality and cleanliness of the hotel was way above par - especially for the price. Champagne on beer budget is just what we needed, and exactly what we received on our special romantic weekend. Much thanks to the River Place staff!

Room Tip: We got a river facing room on the 4th floor. It was quiet, beautiful, and just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Always happy to hear we played a part in providing romance no matter the budget. Thanks for your very kind words about our staff. I have no doubt they will enjoy your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

What an excellent spot for our recent trip to visit with local friends and introduce our two young boys to downtown Portland! I've stayed at other Kimpton properties in San Francisco and San Diego and loved them for swank business travel but this spot was also great for kids. From the front desk to the valet to the bartender the service is first class. The staff addressed us by name throughout our stay which the boys found particularly impressive. Our local friends came to meet us en-masse and shared in the complimentary wine tasting with us at the desk's invitation.
Centrally located with great views of the river and plenty to do for the whole family along with everything I expected from Kimpton already. We'll be back in the summertime........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
And with feedback like that we can’t wait to have you and the family back in the summer months! We have worked hard to make the RiverPlace a little more family friendly and it’s so nice to hear that its paying off. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W\Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend celebrating our 30 years together. This is the first time we have stayed at the RiverPlace and it was very nice. They put complimentary wine in our room which was a nice touch. The staff is amazing and will call you by name from the very first time they meet you. The area the hotel is in is along the river and great for jogging or walking. If you are going to stay here, joing the Kimpton reward club and you will get to raid the snack bar each time you stay for $10.00 and you get free wi fi.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbor are a little more expensive but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First stay at River Place after the takeover by Kimpton. Great location and good service as usual. Price may be a little on the higher range. Parking is $32 valet or $15 self. Not many spaces outside. Worth staying again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadmanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for joining us and providing your feedback. One small thing to note the hotel only offers valet parking at $31 overnight in our secured parking lot located in the hotel. You may come and go as you please with your car but we do ask that a valet brings it up and parks it when you return. Hope this info helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Yes the facilities are very cool - beautifully designed, where comfort is not sacrificed to style and both are outstanding. And yes the amenities are great - high-quality linens, personal care products, nice selection in honor bar, thoughtful touches everywhere designed for our well being. But it's the service, the people, who are the standouts. Caring, professional, attentive, responsive. We were there for a few days for a local workshop. Unfortunately, we got brutally sick with the awful stomach flu sweeping the country and couldn't even leave our room. I can't tell you how helpful and compassionate everyone was. Bring us anything we needed (often at no charge), giving suggestions to help us feel better. When one of us had to leave the room, asking if we were feeling better. Everyone, everyone was amazing. That kind of caring attention only comes from an organization where everyone is chosen with that in mind, trained and encouraged to express that kind of concern for its guests. We will never stay anywhere else in Portland. We want to come back and say hi to everyone again. And we have no doubt they will remember us. It's that kind of experience.

Room Tip: The king executive suite is wonderful, like a small apartment. Very convenient. And the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Truly amazing comments about our staff and the service they all provide day in and day out. Thank you so much for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Second stay and I will be back soon!
They are on top of every detail. For example:
-handwritten note from housekeeping
-box of delicate chocolates at turndown
-and yes, they do a turndown!
-did not touch front door during my stay, they are all over it, with a smile
-valets appear immediately on arrival
-cars come up quickly when requested
-French doors on riverfront rooms actually open
-posted in elevator to let guests know about the #9 rating in US (Reader's Choice on Tripadvisor), and a high ranking of Kimpton as an employer. Yes, guests do notice, and do like to know this kind of thing about their lodging choice.

Tiny nitpicks are all I can find to improve:
-bathroom needs a night light
-toilet paper roller is very hard to reach, in awkward position...ergonomic check of that would do wonders!

If you are in Portland anywhere other than a Kimpton, why? They are the best in town. One of these days, RiverPlace is going to displace Monaco as #1 in Portland!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing