We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RiverPlace is the RightPlace...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“RiverPlace is the RightPlace...”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I really can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel! I had stumbled across it "by accident" having decided fairly last minute that I wanted to take a trip to Portland. Got the room for a great rate on Priceline, and after staying at this hotel, I can honestly say it was a steal! The hotel is located directly on the Willamette River downtown, not only did this mean that the hotel had great views of the water and the interesting bridges that cross the river, but it was also very quiet. The girl who checked us in was lovely (I can't remember her name for certain which I feel awful about, but I think it was Nadia or something similar). Anyways, she was genuinely friendly when she was checking us in, and offered us an upgrade to an executive suite, as we needed two beds. Our room had a separate bedroom, a pull-out sofa, and a great view of the river! I also got a $10 minibar credit for being an InTouch member. The room was extremely spacious, had a great bathroom, and the bed was amazingly comfortable! The one thing that really stood out about this hotel was the level of service their associates go out of the way to provide! Our housekeeper left me a handwritten note on my bed, along with a chocolate saying to "have a great day!". I've worked (and stayed) in several hotels before, and I have never seen such a personal touch to the service. All the associates were like this too, from the bell staff, to the front desk agents, to the bartenders - everything was lovely! One really cool thing they do in this hotel is a nightly wine reception, which was a great way to wind down the afternoon, and get your evening started! I'm definitely staying at this hotel again - no question about it! Thanks RiverPlace!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joecdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Oh you are so very welcome! I am loving your comments about our staff. I will be sure to share them with everyone at our next all hotel meeting. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    240
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
351
798
90
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the River Place for three nights and it was a really great experience.
Location was good and staff was so friendly I had to ask if they were required to attend "nice" school.
When I get back to Portland will definitely stay here again.

Frank B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinnienj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Arenas, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Perfect hotel experience. River Views. Great location to good quality dinning. Free pass' to a top notch athletic club with sauna and steam room (that's hot). Hotel staff is friendly and pro-active about making your stay flawless. It's also a better location than the Merriot which is similarly priced. Eat at Veriable Quandries, walking distance from the River Place. Also eat at Blossoming Lotus (not as close but amazing healthy and tasty food)

Room Tip: Its worth the extra money to have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Nice suggestions on dinner. I love the VQ! I should also mention you have great taste in hotels. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great hotel - the best in Portland. Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. One might expect friendly and helpful service in any hotel, but this goes above and beyond: the valet, the housekeepers, the front desk and the restaurant staff all give great, attentive service. We visit Portland at least once a year and have stayed in this hotel a number of times. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tralmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate the loyalty and the review. Nice to hear the great service you received was a team effort. See you on your next trip to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FRANCISCO
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had the king suite with river view. It's very spacious with kitchen and bar. beautiful view of the boats and bridges and OMSI. Note that the suite is not part of the hotel itself but located a few minutes walk away in an apartment complex. a few stairs (no elevators). the suite is circa 1990 and the decoration shows; bathroom is also a bit aged, but still very clean. kitchen is full equipped.

the hotel lobby is trendy and beautiful. service is good but one of the lady was a bit pretentious, others were very nice. one thing to note is that valet parking only at this hotel, $31 per day a bit pricey. and during peak times (morning, dinner) be prepared to wait for your car to get pulled up. not a big deal but noted.

suite was on the pricey side also (~$300/nt), a bit much for portland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I would like to apologize that you found one of our staff members a bit pretentious. That’s not at all our style of service. I have shared your review with the staff. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Riverplace for my birthday celebration. What a beautiful hotel. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the river. It is close to downtown, the keller and great restaurants. The staff is very helpful and really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: We asked for a corner riverview room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikemsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years on New Years Eve. We discovered it after hosting our annual multi-state corporate meeting. We have always been very happy with the service. This time, although not significant enough to ruin our night, there were minor changes since Kimpton took over. First the price of the room was $500 (with that you expect perfection). The hotel had a bottle of wine for us as a gift, which was a nice gift. The front desk is where work needs to occur. When I responded to a survey by the hotel, the manager responded to my concerns. I may stay there again. Not sure because of price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slimjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I would like to once again apologize for the disappointment you felt in the value for priced paid over your New Years Eve visit. I have shared your comments with the Front Office Manager about your disappointment in the casual dress of our front desk employees and their too casual approach to service. We will use your feedback to improve. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing