We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Why My favorite hotel is RiverPlace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why My favorite hotel is RiverPlace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am happy to share my thoughts about RiverPlace so that others can enjoy this hotel as I have. I have stayed there on four different occasions over the last 2 years - my last visit was in Nov 2012. Anyway, this is probably my favorite hotel overall. I like the design of all the rooms which is unlike most hotels. Super clean rooms, very comforable. All of the staff are top notch and they go so far out of their way to help you I cannot believe it. They have a really great bar, and the food is really great. I know I can always count on a great experience which is why when I visit Portland, I will only stay at the RiverPlace. It is in a great location, with lots of interesting places to walk with shops and restaurants along the way. Also, the rooms all have nice views and is quiet!! I can actually get some sleep there. Best Regards!

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room there yet as most have an interesting view. Rooms looking into the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! I am so happy that our staff in both the restaurant and the hotel took such great care of you during your visits and I agree that the view doesn't get much better.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Rooms Director
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    219
    55
    9
    13
See reviews for
318
723
78
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travel quite a bit for work, and I've never had such a wonderful hotel experience as I did with RiverPlace. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the hotel is located right on the beautiful Willamette River. It's in a perfect location to go on a walk or run along the river, and it's close to public transportation. There are all sorts of special aspects to RiverPlace, like the free coffee hour in the morning and wine hour in the evening, but the best part is by far the wonderful staff. Everyone is genuinely caring, from the front desk staff helping with directions around the city, printing, you name it to the cleaning staff who leave a nice note and chocolates on your bed after cleaning the room. This hotel is truly exceptional!

Room Tip: Make sure to sign up for InTouch to get credit in the room minibar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Wow, what a review! Thank you so much. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying at the RiverPlace and all of the great perks that come along with it. I do totally agree with you in regards to our staff. They are the best in the business and we are so lucky to have all of them working with us.

Thank you again and we ALL look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Rooms Director
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was travelling on business and arrived in Portland on a Saturday evening my colleagues were not due to arrive until the next evening.
The welcome I received was wonderful, invited to the wine tasting and when I came down for that I was made to feel so at home they knew I was alone and I felt completely part of the group immediately.
I also ate alone in the restaurant that evening. Excellent food and service and again made to feel completley comfortable.
When in Portland I will now stay no where else

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillD202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad that our staff gave you such a warm welcome... and I am sure that the glass of wine was a great treat as well. We are so happy to hear that you will be staying with us again the next time you are in Portland.

See you soon,

Tessa Keleher
Rooms Director
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a great place to stay--beautiful rooms and facility--such an amazing location on the harbor! The staff was incredible, offering every kind of assistance, sometimes before we could think of what we'd need. It's also pet friendly; when you drive up, there's fresh water ready for your pet.

The free wine in the afternoon is a great touch, and it's not just wine, there are specialty appetizers. Coffee and tea in the morning, with every kind of addition you can think of. The entire hotel is green; the restaurant is quite good, serving organic and locally grown foods.

We felt like royalty; what a nice change from big chain hotels that we normally use. Our room was large, wifi free, contemporary furnishings and beautiful touches that rival the best hotel.

I will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Its worth it to get rooms on the harbor, water view, except for the boats, so its a bit noisier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you! What a lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the RiverPlace. I also love to hear when our guests have the chance to enjoy all of the great perks we offer.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Portland and be sure to check out some of Kimpton's other great hotels around the Country.

Sincerely,

Tessa Keleher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On a recent business trip to Portland, I sayed at one of the Kimpton's chains' new properties near downtown. It is nicely appointed, close to public transportation, and great views. This will be my ew favorite when I'm back in Portland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessa K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so excited to have the bragging rights of being your new favorite hotel in Portland.

See you next time!

Warmest Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Rooms Director
RiverPlace, A Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently my wife and I decided to pop off to Portland for a long weekend of sightseeing and relaxation. Riverplace is an amazing hotel, not so much because of the hotel – which is very nice, but more for the people. We were amazed that the staff went so far out of their way to make us comfortable and even anticipated our wants before we even had them. I have stayed at many top hotels in my life, and I can honestly say the service at Riverplace was the best I have ever had. Everything was done with a smile and they really seem to want to help any way they can.
As for the actual structure, it is clean and very nicely furnished with tasteful yet contemporary furniture and art. Our bed was amazingly comfortable. My wife actually went to the front desk to ask about the brand of mattress topper they have!
They have a restaurant called “3Degrees” which serves wonderful food and drinks. No need to leave the hotel for food if you don’t want to. The location is close to the trolley and the river walk. It’s right on the water, so evening strolls around the neighborhood are very easy to do. In summation, I can’t say enough good things about this hotel. We would definitely go back!
Only downside you should know about - valet parking is $31 per night, but self park is free!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location: A+
Customer Service: A+
Room Quality: A

Situated within a stone throw of the Willamette River, RiverPlace Hotel is adjacent to Portland's Riverfront Park and is within easy walking distance of Downtown Portland.

My wife and I took light rail from the Portland airport to RiverPlace, about a 40 minute ride and 15 minute walk. We didn't need a car to enjoy the views, culture and history of Portland. And the workers at RiverPlace went above-and-beyond in making our stay enjoyable. With complimentary tea and coffee in the mornings to tips about how to get around and a solid great of free DVD rentals, they had everything covered.

I'm pretty picky about accommodations and customer service. But RiverPlace exceeded my expectations across the board.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for the awesome grades! We will be adding a plus behind that A in room quality very soon with our upcoming remodel. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,374 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, RiverPlace Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland’s city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed – RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing