We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I loved many things about this hotel. The location is very nice, on the river and along the river park. There are a lot of little restaurants, shops, and spas along the Riverfront. The downside was that there are many homeless that hang out along the river, but if you are from an urban area this probably won't be a big deal for you.

The restaurant Three Degrees in the hotel is awesome. The menu is good and all the items that I tried (sandwich, bacon waffles, and chicken and biscuits) were amazing. They have a nice patio area for the restaurant, for the lounge, as well as an area with patio chairs and a fire pit.

The service was great. All staff in the hotel were very friendly. We enjoyed the evening wine hour chatting with them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon on 28 Oct for a rowing event. The weather was rain, rain and more rain. But the hotel stay was fantastic. The woman at the front desk was over-the-top professional, very pleasant. She noted a few things she'd do for us, and since she started helping the next customer as soon as we were checked in, we jokingly wondered in the elevator what are the odds she'd remember. Sure enough, she remembered.

This part of Portland was pretty dead for a Saturday night. We walked down the stormy riverwalk and found a McCormick and Schmicks a few minutes away and had dinner there. Very handy. Aside from the weather, the location was spectacular.

The room was nice. We had a suite and everything was very comfortable. The beds were great, the TVs were new. The bathroom was functional, but reasonable.

The next day after a few hours out along the edge of the river, we came back and grabbed lunch. I'll say the BLT is the best I've ever had. The toast was crunchy and warm, the bacon was thick and crisp, the lettuce and tomato were fresh. I think we've all had a BLT where the bread was soggy, the bacon was limp...amazing what a difference a bit of attention can make.

The bell staff held our bags after checkout. I've stayed at plenty of hotels where the bags (including computer) stood out in the open as I walked away, always leaving me a bit nervous. In this case, they were quickly zipped off to a locked room. Like the rest of the staff, the bell staff were courteous, polite and professional.

Overall, a fantastic experience and stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleFamily999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Agree 100% the RiverPlace staff is amazing and 3 Degrees does have the very best BLT. Everything is fresh and local which makes the difference. Thanks for the incredibly nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the moment I arrived to the moment I left everything was perfect! The little chats with my room attendent as we passed in the hall way gave me a chace to get a "locals" point of view with my tastes in mind no to mention taking peaceful walks along the river each day was simply amazing!

Room Tip: River Views are amazing at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeHoChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The style of the place is very Seattle/Portland and the decor is perfect. They spent a lot on the place, and it shows. The public areas are beautiful and gracious, you will want to linger. The bar looks great, so does the restaurant.
I had a large room and enjoyed it. Little touches like umbrella in the room, and Starbucks coffee (with a coffee maker in the rooms now - I believe that is new).
The staff are very good and provided great service. Upon check in I felt very well taken care of. When checking out at about 3 AM (to catch early flight), the person vacuuming the lobby immediately left the vacuum and asked if I had a car with them, which I did. He ran to retrieve it. The front desk person at 3 AM said their system was downloading for the night but she took my email to send me the folio. You know, these things never happen. But in less than 30 minutes the folio appeared in my email box!
In all the little ways, I felt like you can get a request served by this staff and have confidence in them.
The location of the hotel is excellent, directly on the river, in midst of a park, and near key businesses. It's also near the Marriott, so your friends can stay there if they don't choose to join you at this super comfortable and warm riverfront retreat!

Room Tip: If you can pay for river view, it's great. Otherwise, ask to avoid the porte cochere area, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Oh come on now.. friends don’t let friends stay at Marriott’s! LOL thanks so much for this review it's going on our wall of fame!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel located next to river so it's quite beautiful when the sun sets. Only about 10 minute walk into the downtown area or you can catch the trolley/light rail a few blocks away. Loved the dessert tray in the afternoon.
Great staff and customer service. Always friendly and helpful. They seem to go overboard just to help you. I had something sent back home and they didn't charge me because something went wrong with the postal service. Instead, they shipped it Fed Ex for free. That's customer service!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilmooshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a fun splurge (for us) on a family vacation with our two little kids. Every member of the staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the hotel is very pretty and clean inside. There are many nice little touches throughout the hotel that made it a treat to stay there. The location is great for walking along the river for dining and shopping, and we also rented a surrey at a nearby park to ride around in which was really fun. Our stay here was great, but I was disappointed in two things. Adjacent to the hotel is a very large grass area that I thought my kids would spend a lot of time playing in. Well, the entire lawn was covered in goose droppings! Before we realized that, we made the mistake of starting off into the lawn with our stroller. The hotel valet staff was kind enough to hose off the wheels of our stroller when we came back. Also, there are a lot of homeless people that hang out in the park and waterfront area around this hotel. Because of that I did not feel comfortable walking around there at night. Also, this hotel does not have a pool, but they do give you a pass to use a nearby athletic club's pool (within walking distance). The athletic club was very nice and our kids had fun in the pool there. Overall, this was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

From the sound of things you and the family had a great time. I do assure you that our hotel location is in one of the safest areas of downtown and the RiverPlace planned community does a good job of keeping the area clean and safe for our guest. The one thing I wish we could keep cleaner is that grassy area near the hotel you described, love them or hate them I think the Canadian Geese are here to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent two nights here. Nothing terribly wrong, but certainly nothing special. We are not sure why this makes the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts list. Our room was okay, but a little dark. The restaurant is not particularly attractive with so-so food and perfunctory, but polite, service. The river views are okay, but not memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CT-and-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

I would like to apologize that our property and staff did not provide that wow factor. We appreciative your feedback, I promise you we will use it to improve. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $184 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing