We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found "our hotel" in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have family who moved to Portland that we visit about once a year, so we've been trying to find a hotel that we enjoy there. The RiverPlace Hotel was perfect! We had a condo overlooking the river - plenty of room, beautiful views, lovely places to walk - easy driving to and from too. The staff here is so helpful. We found "fancy eating" for the adults, kids' activities that were fun for all of us, and the ever important "kid-friendly' dining opportunities within walking distance. Now we can look forward to easy, comfortable trips back. We are frequent travelers. You won't go wrong by choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 940JanetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Great news that the search is over! Now let’s come visit family more often. We really appreciate the comments and can’t wait for you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I have traveled all over the world and this hotel comes as close to perfect as we have found. Lovely, quiet location overlooking the river, friendly staff that will move mountains or even molehills to accommodate a request and make it seem like you're doing them a favor by asking, clean spacious rooms with every amenity and very good food. And just walk out the back door and you've got a walking path along the beautiful river walk. What could be better?? The Rubic Cube of a shower was the only quibble we had but we really, really hated to leave. How often can any traveler say that?? Day and night the view was spectacular!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the river side -- much, much prettier and not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avstampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

That has to be the best compliment I have read about our staff. Wow! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

great location as far as easy to walk to anything but no right in the middle of the downtown area. great situation right on the river. staff overly helpful in every way. nice access to good gym and relax outside overlooking river in the late afternoons. couldn't really say anything that needs to improve

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpknw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here on a mini-honeymoon type vacation. I have to say that there were more pros than cons with this hotel. I had a wonderful stay and can't complain too much. So I'll list it out:
Cons- Over priced for what you get. The room was minimal and the bathroom average, no over the top amenities. We requested a city view and our room faced the courtyard and other people's room (no view!). We had to pay for parking and this was ridiculous ($30/day).
Pros- The hotel's stance on being Eco-friendly and the involvement in many important and large scale charity organizations, is honorable and I was happy to support their efforts. Excellent location right on the water and in downtown Portland. It was a hop, skip and a jump to see most downtown sites (and there are a lot of them!). Also, near many restaurants, bars and some cute shops. The bed was soft and comfortable. I loved that I could request a yoga mat and DVD and do some yoga in the mornings before our daily adventures. I, also, appreciated the wine hour (a little too much, wink wink). The staff was just awesome, all around! Very accommodating and friendly and helpful. Most are locals and can advise you where to eat and what to do in this fun city.
Overall, the stay was great. There was a wedding on Saturday night and it sounded like it was a good time, but they didn't make noise too late (maybe 10p). I think you could get a similar room stay out of a Holiday Inn or such, at a lower price, but the overall stay was superb!

Room Tip: Make sure to reiterate that you would like a River view or City view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asugargreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for the list of pros and cons! We are all over those cons you listed. We have a gorgeous remodel planned soon to put a little Kimpton touch to our guestroom design. Truthfully our parking rates are very competitive with all other downtown hotels. Glad you enjoyed the yoga, wine hour, and staff. Hope you had a chance to do yoga out in our beautiful courtyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Anytime I need to travel to downtown Portland I try to stay at the Riverplace. Right on the river, there are lots of shops and restaurants in a friendly neighborhood. The service is great, everyone is very friendly and helpful. I've had several free upgrades which is always a welcome surprise but all of the rooms are nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveG_LkStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We thank you for your loyalty! Your comments are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent service, very comfortable beds and lots of personal attention! You can't go wrong staying here! I would recommend it to everyone! The location is very convenient for any business you need to take care of in downtown Portland, and a very nice location for evening walks. Rooms are updated, spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kimpton hotels are my new favorite places to stay! We started with the Vintage Plaza in Portland and was so wowed by the whole experience we stayed an additional night on that trip. A dog-friendly hotel that treated our pup like the God he thinks he is!

This time we stayed at the RiverPlace. And really, wow! They are always extremely friendly (as that is the PacificNorthwest way!), but it's the little things that has made me into a Kimpton follower. I own my own business and travel a lot. But it is about service -- good, old-fashioned quality service that makes these properties shine!

You can tell this is an older property, but it is really well maintained. First, we missed their nightly evening wine hour and they were so kind to offer us vouchers for a glass of wine in the bar (they offered that. We did not point it out at all!). Felt great right off the bat!~ Then they informed us that we were upgraded to a lovely mini-suite. Score twice in mere moments! And can't forget the fact that we drove to the hotel with our daughter's car but did not want to take it out to dinner. They held the car no charge until she left us that evening. Did I mention that was at no charge?! And, of course, we are In Touch members, so we got our $10 Raid the Minibar coupon. And their minibar is no slouch. They have everything from razors to cashews to choose from, not to forget some pretty decent splits of wine. Oh, and fabulous fuzzy socks you can buy.

Our room was really lovely. Nicely decorated, awesome beds. Paper in the morning. Coolest bath robes to use (zebra???)! And the location of this property is AMAZING! Right on the water. Great walking paths along the river, near the Saturday market and right in downtown.

Still need to check out the Monaco and I am sure it is fabulous, too, but man, the RiverPlace is tops on my list when I come to Portland!

So look no more when you are searching for a place to lay your head in Portland -- and Kimpton hotel will serve you well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,412 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $188 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing