We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place I Stay in Portland, Oregon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Only Place I Stay in Portland, Oregon”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

RiverPlace is highly-rated and in all respects deservedly so. The location is right on the riverfront abutting a park area, the immediate neighborhood has a health club which allows hotel guests a daily membership (for lap swimmers the best time is about 8 a.m.) and - if you can get a reservation - VQ restaurant not more than two blocks away (go for weekend brunch but do reserve in advance) as well as - in the other direction - the free trolley to downtown.

The hotel though new is tastefully done (no faux rustification) with ample rooms and the dining areas are spacious but not overdone. Those with much hotel experience in the US will be surprised to find the restaurant Three Degrees serves innovative and savory cuisine; the menu features local, seasonal produce by local chefs, and the quality of both dinner and breakfast menus invites a return. So, too, happy hour at the bar is not to be missed, and the local wines (wine from Oregon? Oh yes...) are great.

We live in Asia throughout the year and I travel throughout that region for business, staying at great hotels in Asia, mostly local, small, particularized, boutique hotels. RiverPlace compares well with the best of 'em, and that's why it's the only place I stay when in Portland: Service, quality, value and unique experience. Our daughter lives in Portland and she, too, thinks this hotel is the best so there, a local's recommendation as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottLoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    237
    60
    13
    15
See reviews for
346
789
87
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeview, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The location of the hotel to downtown Portland is wonderful. The river on one side and the city on the other, with so many things withing walking distance. The staff were so friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Rooms were very nice, quiet and clean with VERY comfortable beds. Half way through our stay we moved from a single room with 2 beds to a king suite where they even provided a feather bed to top the sleeper sofa. They are very dog friendly, even providing a few hours of doggie daycare at the front desk and recommending places we could take the dog with us to eat. Can't wait for the next opportunity I have to return to Portland and stay at the RiverPlace again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leucine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night while travelling to California. We were impressed with everything from the start. The lobby, the staff, the quality of the room and decor, and the restaurant, which had a fabulous half-price sale on drinks AND food in the early evening.
We would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakmont352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Add my vote to the accolades for this great property. There is nothing I can fault this hotel for. If I could give the staff more stars, I would, as friendly and accommodating as they were. We got a great rate on a blind bidding web site, then upgraded to a river view based on other reviews. It was well worth it, as the view of the harbor and the river was spectacular. Large room, comfortable bed, nice flat screen TV, free internet, premium bath products and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the lobby each afternoon all contribute to a luxurious experience. A block away is their athletic club, which was a $5 per person fee for us to use because of our low room rate. I took a pilates class there, which was excellent, although the cardio machines are in a kind of small, strange, open space on a second floor walkway. The weight room was much better, and they have an indoor hoops court and 1/16 of a mile indoor track. The location is a 10 minute walk to downtown or to the Saturday market, and right by the 5 south, which was convenient for us, as we were visiting our daughter who is attending Lewis & Clark College. Parking charge is high, but we were able to park at the 3-hour meters right outside the hotel for the hour or two we we were around during the day. We noticed a parking lot on the main street above that had low, all-day rates. In sum, we've stayed at many hotels in Portland, and more or less liked them all, but this was by far our most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This hotel was very nice! We went and saw Eric Clapton and decided to stay at this hotel. Soo happy we chose the riverplace! From the warm greeting, to the beautiful hotel grounds we were very impressed with this hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel like royalty! Free upgrade to riverview, and complimentary drinks for a fifteen minute wait on our room to be ready for us! To calling our cab for us etc, and complimentary newspaper from a long list of them. Very clean and perfect hotel in downtown Portland location! Will definately be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hotel is located in a great area -- very convenient and has great view of the harbor. Just as importantly, the staff was highly focused on customer service and went out of their way to take care of guests. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Great service, super location for a stay in downtown portland, on the waterfront promenade. Service was great, all was wonderful for a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpn7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing