We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rogue River, OR, United States
1 review
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We enjoyed the proximity to the Loyd Center & shopping. The Max train system made it a snap to get downtown and not have to mess with parking. The rooms were neat and clean and we had a wonderful view from the 13th floor to the east with Mount Hood in clear view. It was fairly easy walking distance to the Moda Center and Memorial Coliseum. The food in the restaurant and bar area was very good and reasonably priced. Well drinks were a bit watered down, but good flavor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank George (Russ) T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
George (Russ) T:

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. Those mountain views are really something, aren't they? We don't get to see them everyday, but when we do they are a special treat. I'm so glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and found the location ideal for your activities. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    700
    325
    106
    36
See reviews for
252
337
118
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for a convention. I barely squeeked by getting into a double queen, supposedly getting the last one for that weekend. But when we showed up, they asked if we needed the handicap accessible (the room assigned to us) and could they switch us for another double queen. We were happy to comply, though the new room was up on the 13th floor. View was lovely, the hotel decor was lovely. Hallways WERE NOT air conditioned to the trips in the elevators and to/from our room was uncomfortable. Had expected a mini fridge in our room (we had just recently taken a trip prior and ALL our rooms had them so we assumed, our mistake) so we had to make do with the food court across the street after our 1st night dinner in the bar/lounge was pretty so so - expensive and not super great after all the hype about sourcing locally! Breakfast buffet was good, I thought reasonable price for the selection though I didn't like the eggs either day, they seemed under done. But the bacon was crispy like I liked, sausage patties good, good selection of pastries/fruit, would have loved to seen either little pancakes or waffles included. The waitstaff did seem very good and both mornings our waitperson was attentive but not annoying. The concierge was helpful. We had arrived early and as we were vendors, we were able to take advantage of their locked room for our stuff (2 bins) for a few hours while waiting for set up. The gentlemen helping was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Cherie L,

Thank you for your recent stay and detailed review of the property. On behalf of our entire team, we sincerely appreciate the feedback and your business. Sounds like you were here for our hottest week of the year and I apologize for the discomfort in the hallways.

In regards to mini fridges we do have quite a few available on property that we gladly deliver to the guest rooms upon request and I am sorry we missed sharing that with you.

Thanks again for your comments and I am hopeful we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

First room was small and looked a little outdated but clean until we found mold in the bathroom on the ceiling. We were moved to an upgrated room which was bigger and more updated and clean. The hotel staff was very nice and gave us either dinner or breakfast vouchers to accommodate. Right across from the LLoyds Center and the max had a stop across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Tina B:

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for the review. I'm so sorry about the condition you found your first room in but am glad you brought it to our attention so we could take care of it. I was happy to see we were able to get you moved and that the staff was friendly and accommodating during the process. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in Portland.

Kind regards,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was very disappointed by my experience at this DoubleTree. The furninshings were dated and worn, and the shower was terrible. It was like a fine mist with no water pressure. At over $200 a night, this room was way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Liane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Liane R,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to review the property here on TripAdvisor. I am glad we were able to connect trhough email and thank you for allowing me the opportunity to make it right. I appreciated your response to my email and I am very hopeful we have the luxury of serving you again soon. Please let me know if I may assist with any future reservations,

Kind regards,
Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockaway, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

went out of there way to help us with all our needs we will always choose double tree in the future when we travel. even helping with where to eat and shop personal attention was excellent! i wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Leslie P:

We wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing a review. Comments about our staff are always my favorite, and hearing that they were not only friendly and helpful, but went out of their way to take care of you makes me especially happy. I hope we see you again very soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is the perfect location for shopping at the Lloyd Center or if you have a concert or convention in the Rose Garden Area. After a long day of activities its great to come back to a clean, quiet comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank NoeGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
NoeGirl2013:

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm always glad to see that a guest was comfortable during their time with us and that you found the hotel well situated for your activities while you were in Portland. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back - cookie and all - some time very soon.

Many thanks,
Steve Faulstick, General Manager
sfaulstick@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Village, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

When I arrived I could have been given the room I had booked through the DoubleTree by Hilton website instead of getting an excuse that Expedia had over booked the hotel and then getting bumped down to a much lesser room and only compensated $15 for the difference. I was offered free parking and internet for the inconvenience, big deal parking for that night was only $10 and I didn't want to use the internet. We got our free cookies after getting keys to our lesser room which were hard like they had been over baked and were not warm. Upon arrival in the room it was tiny, on the second floor with no view, no balcony and windows did not open. There was no fridge. The ice bucket was barely big enough to put our champagne in much less ice to cool it. There was a gap under the door to the hall big enough to see under it from across the room. Decor in the room and most of the rest of the hotel was old and outdated. Foam ceiling tiles on the ceiling like in an office building and one of them had a big water stain in it. Then when we went to bed I could hear people outside in the hall and in the other rooms very easily although it doesn't seem like anyone was shouting or being unreasonably loud. When I woke up the next moring still unhappy about the room I took a shower to find the bathroom is so small I could hardly turn around in it and the laminate on the door is peeling from the humidity and somewhat unsightly. Upon chackout I asked to speak to a manager to voice my dissatisfaction with the room quality and she decided to just point out that I was charged the correct amount for the room I stayed in which is rediculous for what you get for your money. After I mentioned I didn't think I got what I paid for she offered me to comp. free breakfast and coffee, which I did not want. So reluctantly she took half off the room charge which I think is fair. I am still not happy with the overall experience and expected more from a DoubleTree and a Hilton which I've stayed at both and are usually the best. What would have exceeded my expectations would have been to have the room I booked which was a Single King with a balcony and maybe even been able to accommodate my request for a room facing west towards the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Benjamin B,

Thank you for your recent stay. I am terribly sorry for the overbooking situation on the room type you booked and for how we handled it. We should have had the room available you booked and when the error occured should have handled it differently. I am so glad we were able to connect via voicemail and thank you for allowing me the opportunity to make it right and refund the remainder of the cost of your stay. Again I am so sorry.

I am hopeful we have the luxury of serving you again sometime soon and please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservatons.

Kind regards,
Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
372 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#62 of 141 in Portland
24 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing