We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and friendly”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well kept, clean and the staff is amazing! Like all Hilton family hotel the beds are wonderful. This trip I had a top floor king bed balcony room. It was a good size with plenty of room for the 2 us to be comfortable without tripping over each other. The light rail is conveniently located but you can't hear it when from the room - assuming the doors/windows are closed. The staff really makes this place as they always go above and beyond to make us feel welcome and are happy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Lora M,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and for the great review here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that our team served you with excellence not only on this trip, but previous stays as well.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your business and please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    691
    320
    105
    34
See reviews for
249
321
118
983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelte, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Location very good next to the light rail, and next to Lloyd shopping center. Easy walk to the convention center. Has a decent lobby with friendly bar, and parking directly next to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank mraimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
mraimond,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland. I am delighted to read your experience with us was positive and that you were pleased with the location of the property.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. Please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The staff at the Double Tree was very helpful, with the rooms being nice as well. The bar and restuarant were also top notch. The location is convenient to Max and walking to the Rose Garden or Mall. Parking was convenient, and internet was fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Robert B,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and for the great review here on TripAdvisor. I delighted you had a wonderful experience and to read that our staff served you with excellence. I also appreciate the specific comments about your experience in the restaurant and will be sure to share with with our food and beverage team.

On behalf of all of us at the DoubleTree, thank you for your business. I do we have the opportunity to serve you again very soon. Please let me know if I may assist with any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on business. The room was nice and clean. Housekeeping was spot on. The hotel over all looked a little old, and outdated. There was a lot of wear that should be fixed. Lot of dings and scratches on the wood surface's. The room was clean, but the 3rd floor entrance from the parking garage was bad. The ceiling tiles were falling down. Place needs better maintenance program. No free breakfast (They have 2 restaurants). And parking was $20 a day. With all that said, it was a good price, and a goo location.

Room Tip: Put your shades on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 242TonyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
242TonyC,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. I appreciate your honest feedback. We do work very hard to make sure the hotel is incredibly clean both inside and out and we are currently working with ownership to prioritize our capital needs. Your review is very helpful as we have these important discussions about our property improvement plan.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. I do hope we have the luxury of having you as a guest again very soon. Please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I used hotwire to reserve my room. Upon entering the hotel it appeared to be at least what one would expect from a quality hotel. My room was clean and well appointed. While exploring the different accesses to the parking garage i found the carpet outside the managers office filthy, and not just from one missed day of vacuuming. When I left the hotel the next morning I was in a hurry and choose to use the key drop in the parking garage instead of going to the front desk. When I received my credit card statement I had been charged for an additional night as well as 250.00 in movies and food. When I spoke with the manager I was told that I had signed for the second night and that long distant calls from both nights matched. I explained that i travel a great deal and have unlimited l.d. on my cell. I also explained and proved that I was in another city 200 miles away in another hotel the manager disregarded my proof and told me that I would have to let amex fight the charges. I will probably never stay at another Hilton again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsspd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. I have discussed your situation with the manager that assisted you and he has shared with me that he has not received the verification from you about being in another city. I believe he requested a copy of the receipt from your next hotel stay. If you will please send that over we will gladly work with you to get the situation resolved as quickly as possible. You are welcome to send me a copy at the email address provided below.

Kind regards,
Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our room was upgraded to a double queen with no extra charge. Is it my imagination or are hotel "queens" getting smaller? The hotel is very nice, spacious, great lounge area, a half block from the MAX although we walked to and from the Moda Center (about a 15-minute walk). Parking was very reasonable in the garage on a Saturday night $10. I would skip the buffet breakfast. Poor quality. We didn't try ordering off the menu, however.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Nancy P,

Thank you for your recent stay and positive review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoy the location. I also appreciate your comments. We do hear from time to time that our queen beds seem small, but we have measured and they are the correct size. Also thank you for your comments on breakfast. I am sorry it did not meet with your expectations and I will be sure to share your feedback with the chef.

Please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations and I will gladly provide you with a complimentary upgrade to a breakfast package, so you can give our buffet another try. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business and Go Blazers!

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

So there was a huge cheerleading event going on so some of these things may have been related to that, though I think hotels should shine when fully occupied!

All of the staff I encountered was friendly and polite. The location vs price seemed pretty good. I think we cabbed it for about $10 to grab drinks. The breakfast buffet would probably have been better on a less busy day, there were lines waiting to be seated and some of the items left empty though multiple tables empty or left uncleaned. Guessing they were understaffed in perpetration for the hordes of cheerleading people. I thought the food was poor at best, though my freind whom I had treated to 5 previous hilton brand buffets this trip said he thought it was the best one we had yet, so there's that...

Our room did have pay per view which I think is becoming more unusual, but I like to mention since I am one of those crazy people that will occasionally drop $15-$20 to see a movie in my hotel room while it's still in theaters. Who has seen a movie in the theater for less than that in the past 10 years?!

One of the elevators was not working, and with all the teenagers there was always a wait for the elevator.

Overall I may give this property another shot on a less busy night. But otherwise I'm not sure it was worth the price...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHonorsHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
HiltonHonorsHunter,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor. You are correct, we should be at our best when full and I am terribly sorry we were not. I appreciate your open and honest feedback and will be sure to pass on to our food and beverage leadership team.

I do sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and invite you to please let me know if I may provide any assistance with reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#37 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing