We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative to Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #36 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Farmingdale, United States
1 review
“Alternative to Downtown”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

While it would seem to be on the wrong side of the river from most of Portland's attractions, if you happen to be in town for a convention, it's got to be your first choice. Full service, extremely helpful and friendly staff, good food, proximity to MAX line and the Lloyd Center Mall are great. Can't walk to much else, but still a smart choice for convention goers to the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Brett S,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read your experience with us was a positive one.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again sometime very soon.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    705
    331
    108
    38
See reviews for
253
340
119
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was there for a board meeting the first weekend of the new year. Lovely hotel. Checked in around 8p on Thursday evening and was looking for food. The lobby bar was open and serving dinner for anyone looking to eat and the game was on, so I was able to get my food fix and my football fix (OU v ALA). Great game and great food. Got to my room and had a 9th floor room with two beds. The room was very spacious, lots of room for one or a family. I especially liked the counter outside of the bathroom with another mirror. IF a guest was in the bathroom, someone else could still get ready since that vanity was there as well. My meeting was on Friday and Saturday and we had meeting space in the conference center on the first floor. These rooms were built for small meetings. All the things you need for 10 ppl with laptops and wireless access. The food was also quite good. We had breakfast in the meeting room on day one and two, lunch in the restaurant on day one and lunch brought in on day two. The food was simply delicious. This Doubletree is apparently known for its food and that is truly evident. I would recommend this place to any type of traveler - business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
HotelDude,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to see you had such a great stay. I appreciate the specific feedback about your meals, guest room and conference experience. It will be a pleasure sharing your feedback with our team.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your business and I do sincerely hope to have you stay with us again very soon. Please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Room was really small...there was no fridge in room. $20 a day for parking, which they forgot to mention when I checked in. Bad mattress, extremly soft. Great Location for us....but that's probably not good enought to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Bryan B,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read the hotel did not exceed your expectations in every aspect of your stay. Our standard rooms are on the small side, but we do have some lovely premium rooms almost twice the size that I would be happy to reserve for you for a future stay.

In addition I am terribly sorry the team failed to inform you of the parking charge. We should have shared the additional charge with you up front and because we did not I have located your reservation and reversed the parking charges on your bill.

I do hope with all sincerity that you will give us another try and invite you to contact me directly if I may assist with future reservations. I can be reached via email at tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com, or by calling my direct dial number at 503-331-4993.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had good time and I was very pleased with the staff and environmental. I would like to have Hispanic chanels there are programs that I will like to see in Christmas and New Years. I think that this question required to many words, when our first language is not English it is difficult to fill the 200 characters you required. I think with the questions we ansewered before is more than enough. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Betty C,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton and for the great review on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback, especially about the television channels.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business and I do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. Please let me know if I may provide any assistance with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A pipe broke at 12:30ish on our last night and after an hour of enduring the noise and maintenance, finally called the front desk to ask if we wanted to switch rooms with a 5 year old at 1:30 in the morning. At check out, I wasn't asked how my stay was or offered any apology or comp of any kind for the sleepless night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Samantha B,

Thank you for your recent stay, taking the time to fill out our online comment card and reviewing the property on TripAdvisor. I am terribly sorry about the incident with the broken pipe and that we missed the opportunity to appropriately follow-up with you while you were in the hotel. It is my understanding our director of guest services has left you a voice mail. She is looking forward to speaking with you and coming up with an acceptable resolution at your convenience.

I have young children myself and can empathize how upsetting it must have been to be woken up in the middle of the night. On behalf of our entire staff, we are truly sorry for the disturbance and do look forward to you connecting with our team soon.

Please feel free to reach out to me as well.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location is fantastic if you need public transportation, street car is only a few blocks away and transit system is a 1/2 block away. Lloyd Center is also 1/2 block from hotel. I had a balcony room on 11th floor, it was clean, spacious, and nicely furnished. Front desk staff were pleasant and professional.
The negative things were: My room faced the street where the public trains (light rail) ran all night until 2 am, every 5 - 10 minutes I could hear them, the noise was very loud and it kept me awake, finally fell asleep around 2 am, but they start up again around 6 am, so get another room away from street if you're a light sleeper. The bathroom plumbing was in poor shape, the lever controlling the water temp. in the shower was loose, almost falling off which made it impossible to acurately adjust temp of water, slightly scalded myself when I couldn't get it to turn to cooler water. The sink spout also had never been tightened properly so it moved from side to side. I reported these issues to the front desk, so hopefully they fixed them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street close to transit station are ridiculously loud, loud noise most of the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solonoproblems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
solonoproblems,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and do apologize for the noise from the train, and the plumbing issues. I will review the logs from the last few weeks and make sure the needed repairs you mentioned have been fixed.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon and invite you to please contact me if I may provide any assistance with your future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The room is great. The fitness center is also clean with modern equipment. The pool was covered and outside, poor choice in that city. There is no hot tub. The breakfast is not included. The only complimentary coffee are the two terrible packs that comes in the room. The coffee downstairs in the lobby is purchase only. Parking is not included and costs 20 bucks a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Nick N,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to review the property. We appreciate your business and being a loyal customer to the Hilton family of hotels. I am glad to see you enjoyed the upgraded room you received and the fitness center.

I am sorry we missed the opportunity to share one of our package deals with you, that for a few extra dollars you can add breakfast and parking for a discounted rate. I agree is is too bad we have an outdoor pool during the winter months, but assure you it is a huge hit in the summer. I do hope you will give us another try and invite you to contact me if i may assist with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
381 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#49 of 142 in Portland
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing