We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Portland, OR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trip to Portland, OR”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is older, but nice all the same. The location is in the Lloyd Center and very close to everything. The MAX train system is right there and can get you to almost anywhere within Portland downtown and airport. The beds where comfortable, the view from the room was of the park below, the food was delicious, the service from all the staff was friendly, and it is located very conveniently to a picturesque running route along the Willamette River. The only down side was that it was a little older and therefore there was no fan in the bathroom and since we didn't have a balcony, we could not open any windows for fresh air. If you get a room with a balcony that would solve that problem. There is a large population of homeless people in some areas of Portland. In this Lloyd Center, I noticed some but they really seem to be much more prominent in downtown. Quite sad to see these people and their struggles. Parking in Portland is at a premium, including at this hotel ($18 a day for self parking or $22 for valet). However, since I was there for a week they gave me a discount for $9/day! The hotel was also very accommodating, for example since I was staying a week, they gave me a fridge and a microwave for free! You just have to ask. All in all, I would stay at this hotel again. If you go, check out the great areas to the northeast of the hotel (Irvington). It has great restaurants, breweries, and stores within walking distance!! Beautiful quaint area.

Room Tip: Balcony for some fresh area on the park side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear hlsb6,

Thank you for your lovely review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland. I appreciate the specific details you shared about your experience with us, including that our staff served you well. In regards to the rooms with balconies, I agree it is nice to have fresh air when traveling. For a few dollars more it is a great upgrade option and in many cases provides a much more spacious room at our facility.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. We do hope to have you stay with us again soon. Please let me know if I can personally assist with any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    710
    335
    109
    39
See reviews for
260
346
120
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was welcoming but the building shook as the trains go by. I had to change rooms to get a "better" one As I booked on a prepaid site I wasn't exactly a high revenue guest Not much I could do so I used my earplugs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Martha V,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland. I am sorry to read your rest was disturbed by the city's light rail transportation system and glad to see the staff accommodated your request to move rooms. We do hope you will stay with again and I invite you to contact me directly to make any future reservations. I can be reached via email at tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com or by calling the hotel at 503-281-6111 extension 4993.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Close to convention center and light rail, so very convenient, though not much dining in the immediate area. Hotel has a quirky layout and is quite a bit tired - chairs in the conference area were very worn and dirty. Rooms are large, clean, but dated.

Staff is excellent, high service level and attitude. I reported a very minor issue and the staff jumped on it immediately - even provide a nice food treat, plus extra cookies. Worth staying at if you are going to the OCC

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Morog,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read our location worked well for you and that our staff served you with excellence.

I also appreciate the notes about the condition of the hotel and specifically the furniture in the meeting space. I am sorry it was cleaned in a manner consistent with our hotel brand standards and assure you I have had the housekeeping team remedy your concern.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again sometime soon and invite you to please contact me directly if I can assist with future arrangements.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Exceptional staff and accommodations in a convenient location of Portland, Oregon. The rooms are HUGE for city stay as well. Staff goes over and above to exceed guest expectations and Portland has many great restaurants and sights to see. Even the Coffee bar barista is over the top making one of a kind coffee "specials". I would definitely recommend a stay here. Ps Double Tree cookies, warm welcome too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Natalie T,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read our staff served you with excellence and that you enjoyed our accommodations, location and warm chocolate chip cookies with walnuts.

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your business. We do look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Please let me know if I can provide any assistance in making future arrangements.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was a close walk to the convention center and a good way to wind down after a long day at the convention center. Room was clean and was suprised to leave my room one morning and see a lady cleaning the elevator with a Toothbrush!! Room was quite and provided a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Elevators with the glass lookout are quicker than the ones by the Coffee bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboy1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Cowboy1275,

Thank you for your recent stay and nice review here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable experience with us and appreciate the comments about our close proximity to the Oregon Convention Center. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please let me know if I can provide any assistance in making future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'd highly recommend this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was very comfortable, they had plenty of pillows which were soft. If you have business in the downtown area, it is conveniently located to the mass transit system.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Julianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Julianne C,

Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland and recommendation to other travelers to stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please let me know if I can assist in making any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had very high expectations regarding this hotel as it was part of the Doubletree chain. However, my partner and I were very disappointed with this hotel when we stayed here for 3 nights in July.

This hotel does have some positives which I would like to highlight

-Good location. You can catch the light rail from the airport to very near the hotel for $2.50 which is incredible value.
-Free cookie on check in.
-Modern furnishings.
-Outdoor pool.

However, we were disappointed with this hotel for the following reasons:

-Noisy rooms. The walls appear to be paper thin in this hotel. I was able to hear barking dogs at night (this hotel seems to accept dogs as guests) and the gentleman in the room next door talking on the phone and playing music.
-Tiny rooms. The room and bathroom are super small. You will not want to spend any time in this room.
-Unfriendly staff. I made a few enquiries during my stay and I found that the reception desk and concierge were not very friendly and were almost dismissive of my enquiries. This possibly could be due to me not being presented as a business traveller. As an example, when I asked the concierge to order me a taxi (which he did order), I asked whether I should wait inside or outside for this taxi. He rudely brushed me off by saying in an angry tone, "just suit yourself". I don't think it would have been that hard for him to say that I could wait either inside or outside the hotel depending on what was my preference.
-Poor housekeeping standards. The only way I could tell that housekeeping had been in our room was only because the towels had been changed. The floor was still dirty and there did not seem to have been any cleaning carried out in the room.
-No toilet paper provided. When the toilet paper ran out in our room, this was not replaced by housekeeping. I had to leave notes for the housekeeping staff and approach the concierge for replacement toilet paper. My advice if staying at this hotel would be to go to the grocery store about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and buy your own toilet paper. This would save a lot of stress.
-No replacement soap provided. As highlighted above with the toilet paper, once you use the soap in the room, no replacement soap will be provided. Make sure that you bring your own soap.

Although our stay was not the best at this hotel, we really enjoyed Portland. Portland is a very cool, fun and funky place and I would recommend that you visit Portland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGoldman, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Olivia M,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write about it here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read your experience with us was not a pleasant one and that the staff did not respond well when you shared your concerns. It is not at all acceptable. Please email me at tgoldman@portlanddoubletree.com at your convenience and I would like to discuss how I can make this up to you and your partner.

I am so very sorry again and do look forward to connecting with you soon.

Kind regards,

Terry Goldman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 143 in Portland
394 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#42 of 143 in Portland
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing