We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel for a conference. I thought the room was very nice. I loved the bedding, including feather pillows and a down duvet. I thought the bathroom was nice too. I only found the blow dryer on packing up; it is in the closet! The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. I thought the food at the convention was surprisingly good. My only complaint was that my room was noisy. It was a room that had inside doors so you could connect two rooms. I could hear every word that the people in the next room were saying. The fitness center is very good with lots of choices for a workout.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a connected room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    699
    324
    106
    36
See reviews for
251
335
118
992
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Portland’s Lloyd District for a conference and then a training event. I’m going to separate the reviews into our personal stay experience, and the conference experience.

The Personal Experience
The hotel is very conveniently located to Portland’s TriMet MAX light rail station at Lloyd Center. The ride from Portland’s PDX Airport to the Lloyd Center stop on the MAX Red Line takes about 20 minutes and is a straight shot without any transfers or other complications. The MAX station at the airport is located on the lower level near the baggage claim area. A 2.5 hour adult ticket on the MAX costs $2.50 and is well worth the price. You can also get an all-day adult pass for $5.00. Lower prices are offered for 'Honored Persons' and 'Youth'. MAX runs about every 15 minutes. http://trimet.org/max/.

The hotel front desk staff were great, and our check-in was painless. The warm DoubleTree oatmeal cookies that we got with our room keys made it that much better. Our room was just OK. The room was quite large, with two queen beds, a desk, and a chest of drawers with a surprisingly small flatscreen TV. There was also a single armchair and ottoman. There was no other comfortable seating area in the room. There was a small balcony looking away from Lloyd Center Park toward the surrounding hills. I think the weather seals on the door must have been missing or damaged, because a fair amount of noise seemed to come through the window from outside. The window side of the room was also cool and a bit drafty. The room’s ventilation was otherwise lacking.

The HVAC system had independent control, always a good feature, but the built-in unit is the ceiling was noisy, with a fairly loud vibration when starting up or shutting down. The rattle was loud enough that we turned the system off at night.

The bedding was nice enough, but there were only feather pillows, with no other pillows available in the room. The bed had a down comforter that was nice feature. The bed itself was not very comfortable, and we both woke up sore every morning.

The bathroom was only OK, not what I expect from a hotel at the level of the DoubleTree. The bathroom was fitted with a single sink, with a tub and a telephone-style shower. The bathtub faucet valve was damaged, and the temperature adjustment worked backward to the way it was marked. For some this could be a safety issue. The towel rack for fresh towels was badly damaged. It was mounted inside the bathtub surround, and it looked like someone had grabbed it to prevent a fall and nearly torn the top shelf off the wall brackets. The other surprising thing missing from the bathroom was a hairdryer. The ventilation in the bathroom was not adequate, shown by the fogging of the walkout doors on the opposite side of the room after we had showered. This left the room feeling damp, combined with the drafty walkout to make the room feel chilly and damp. The room came with a iron and ironing board. Overall, the room looked and felt like it hadn’t been renovated for too long.

We had Room Service the first night. The service was great, and the wait staff very friendly. The food was OK, but not great. We had many better meals away from the hotel. Our biggest complaint with the menu was the lack of variety. Almost every dish was either heavy on butter or cheese, leaving few choices for anyone health conscious.

We had breakfast in the main hotel dining room, called the Multnomah Grill. The breakfast buffet is quite large, with a dull selection of hot foods including scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon or sausages. The usual biscuits and white gravy also available. A nice addition was Bob’s Red Mill oatmeal. On the cold side, there was a variety of cold cereals, wildberry smoothies, three flavours of yogurt, cottage cheese, breads and pastries. So, a big buffet, just nothing particularly imaginative. The service from the staff in the dining room was excellent, very attentive. The single best aspect of the dining room was the availability of breakfast starting at 5:00 a.m. Few other hotels that I’ve stayed in offer breakfast that early.

The hotel bar / lounge is called ‘Gather’. The food selections are the same as those in the Room Service menu, a subset of the Multnomah Grill menu. Gather also has some draught beers as well as the usual bottled beers and cocktails. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting. They also have a private room at the back for private functions.

The hotel is one of DoubleTree's 'Green Hotels', and seeks to use sustainable approaches to the business.

The hotel is located across the street from Lloyd Park, a beautiful space during the day. Also next to the hotel is the Lloyd Center Mall, offering plenty of shopping for most. There is an active restaurant area a short walk from the hotel as well. I recommend Milo's City Café and the Blossoming Lotus (see separate reviews for these restaurants).

Overall, I’d give the hotel an ‘ok but not great’ rating from a personal stay perspective.

The Conference Perspective
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland hotel was chosen for our conference by our local organizing team, and it was a good choice! The hotel has a large ballroom, the Lloyd Center Ballroom, plus a maximum of seven breakout rooms separated by air walls for flexibility in arrangements. The breakout rooms can be configured into two other ballrooms as desired. There is an Executive Meeting suite, but our event did not use this area or the second level meeting rooms. See the floor plans for more details: http://www.doubletreegreen.com/media/docs/floorplans/06_DTFloorplanCapacityChart.pdf

For breakout sessions, the rooms were a good size, and there wasn’t much sound bleed-through between rooms. Although we had a podium and microphone in each room, many of our presenters chose not to use the fixed mic. This probably helped the sound levels between rooms.

The lobby area is large and well suited to having a few small table-top booths, and it also includes a permanent reception/registration desk area close to the entry doors. We used the Lloyd Center Ballroom as our Exhibit Hall and Plenary meeting hall. We also served breaks and lunch to our attendees in this hall.

The Banquets Staff at the hotel did a great job for us, keeping the rooms tidy and serving the food on time. The staff was quiet and efficient at all times. Special requests were handled quickly and easily. The food costs were more reasonable than many of the hotels that we have used, allowing us to generate a better surplus than in previous years.

Our Sales person did an excellent job, working hard to get us a great deal on the room block, the space and the food. Overall, a job well done.

The food was good for this type of event. We served sweets and breads with coffee, tea, soft drinks and water at breaks, and boxed lunches. The boxed lunches are priced on par with similar hotels, but overpriced in terms of what is provided in my opinion. Considering the service that comes with these meals, this is not really an issue.

Overall, I’d give this Conference Center a ‘GREAT’ rating!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side away from the MAX to reduce the noise from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel tries to be classy. But Saturday night, 200 homeless people spent the night on the room floors. 30 of them woke me up at a quarter to 5 am and refused to be quiet. They were drinking beer and smoking by the elevators. They didn't clear the building till 7 or 8 am. So, I lost sleep. I wonder how safe this hotel is, or how often this happens. I didn't like being woken up that early.

If you buy the breakfast vouchers, they are worth it. The breakfast is good. The rooms are small, but well decorated. It is a bit pricey, though, for the room. No indoor pool; only outdoor. The hotel store charges more for things than they are worth.

Room Tip: Get high up because of the noisy train below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank germoTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the Lloyd Center, and some great restaurants, but it definitely needs a face lift. The beds were comfortable, and the room was pretty clean - with a couple of exceptions. Our bathroom had mold/mildew on the shower curtain and on the caulking around the tub. Also, the whole room just seemed kinda worn around the edges. On the plus side, the room was quite large and had a nice balcony overlooking the park across the street. If you stay here, be prepared to spend $9-$18 on parking per night as well as paying for Wi-Fi if you're not a HHonors Silver or higher member.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semistatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed for two nights. The premium room is spacious and comfortable. The hotel is closed by the Red line and Llyod shopping mall as well as within walking distance to grocery. I did ran into several problems with the hotel, but the the hospitality staff really try everything they can to find a solution. As a seasoned traveler, I am impressed by how they go the extra mile for their client. The front desk, night duty mgr, guest relation officers are excellent, but the housekeeping staff or maintenance staff can benefit from more training. While the room is clean in general, I had seen yucky looking grout under the sink for rooms that are supposedly remodeled in the last two years.

Food at both restaurants are surprisingly good. Try their desserts too.. amazingly good.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor facing the park and check out the bathroom before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AChung94536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is very large and has all that a first class hotel can offer. Our room was larger than most hotel rooms which I appreciated. Upon looking out the window I had an incredible view of Mt. Hood in the distance. I was in Portland to attend a conference Portland Convention Center, an easy walk from the hotel. One great bonus this hotel had is that it's on the Portland MAX light rail line that for a reasonable price will take you to all the great sites to be seen in this beautiful city. Any questions I asked staff were quickly answered with a smile. And as a woman traveler, I was delighted to find one of the largest shopping malls in the State just across the street. Stand back, Nordstrom!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bosslady897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSteveF, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear bosslady897,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Portland! The views from our balconies are indeed breathtaking, whether it be the mountain view to the east or the downtown skyline to the west (less than 1/2 mile)
Tax free shopping is always good. Nordstroms, Macy's, and H&M anchor the Lloyd Center Mall right across the street. The newly opened streetcar can also take you into the Pearl district for shopping in just a few minutes as well.
I'm also pleased to once again hear of the excellent service delivered by our staff, I'm proud of them!

with THANKS,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. There were 3 conventions going on while I was there and many people around but they were so friendly even with all this craziness. Gave me suggestions on restaurants and directions with no problems.
Room very nice and overlooked Mt. Hood. Beautiful falls leaves changing, nice scenery.

Room Tip: ask for views of mountains if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenl7958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#36 of 141 in Portland
19 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
371 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 1000 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#29 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Portland is a full service hotel with two restaurants, a seasonal outdoor pool, executive meeting center, four spacious ballrooms, complimentary fitness room and business center. The hotel is across the street from the one of Oregon's largest indoor malls where you can take advantage of the state's tax free shopping on retail items. The MAX Light Rail runs directly from the airport to our hotel for $2.50. We are Oregon's leading sustainable hotel and just four blocks or two MAX stops for the Oregon Convention Center. It is easy to connect to all of Portland's attractions via the light rail or streetcar systems and stops are across the street or two blocks from the hotel respectively. As with any DoubleTree, we greet all our arriving guests with our world famous DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie with Walnuts, a delightful way to start any stay. Our team looks forward to Passionately Serving you with Excellence soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Portland Hotel Portland
Doubletree Portland
Portland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing