We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #27 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I plus our 8month old son stayed here for a 3 day weekend last week and had a wonderful stay. Great lobby, nice amenities, and modern room. The staff were all very friendly, especially the front desk. Great breakfast buffet in the on-site restaurant for $17/person. Negatives include a $13/day charge for wireless internet and valet parking was $30/day. Also, the walls were pretty thin and we heard quite a bit of street traffic + the train at night (tricky w/ an 8month old). The room temp was also difficult to maintain as other reviewers had commented, not sure why. And like most Marriotts, I find the pillows way too soft. All in all, we would definitely recommend staying here!

Hint, there is an open parking lot RIGHT behind the hotel on Southwest 2nd street that only charges $6 for nights/weekends and a max of $16/day during the week. There's also a decent sushi restaurant across the lot called Mikas that my wife enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    548
    203
    69
    24
See reviews for
212
323
81
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Ny
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I traveled to Portland for a conference and was happy to be staying at the Downtown Mariott. It suited my needs and the staff were friendly. The rooms were nothing spectacular but they were clean and comfortable. I would stay there again if I found myself in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Everyone we came in contact with was kind, professional, respectful, and cared about our stay! The front desk staff went out of their way to answer our questions and get us what we needed.

Location is nice, we walked everywhere, China Town, Pearl District, DownTown. It took us about a minute to per block. Save your sanity and navigate by foot, Marriott has wonderful complimentary maps of downtown Portland.

The rooms were spotless, view was great, quiet (occasional sirens from street on riverside room), comfortable bed, prompt elevators.

Cons: Expensive parking $30/night, but you find this everywhere in Portland. Pay for internet use (WiFi, Business Center- $5 per 15min).

We will definitely be returning soon for next Portland outing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intl_traveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Overall this is just an OK hotel in Portland. Although it's classified as a downtown hotel, it's a bit removed from the more central downtown area near Pioneer Square. There are very few restaurants or stores near the hotel, and at night it's dark and deserted. Although it's only a fifteen minute walk from the square it seems more removed from the activity downtown.

Check-in service screwed up and assigned me a room that was dirty and unmade. They didn't offer me a room upgrade or breakfast to make up for the trouble of having to make a second trip down to reception with luggage to fix the problem.

The rooms here are small and the bathrooms are tiny. The desk was also small. The lamp, phone, and coffee maker take up a lot of space on the desk so there's little room to work.

There is no free WiFi in the rooms and parking is expensive.

The bathroom doesn't have a towel rack for hand towels which was annoying.

The walls are thin so you can hear the next door neighbors.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the waterfront park is across the street.

This hotel was adequate but there are many better options in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We paid $75 on Priceline for one night at this hotel, planning to rent bicycles and use the waterfront trails nearby. We thought we had found a great deal but soon learned that the Portland Marriot Downtown offers very poor value for the dollar. How so?
1) Parking is $35 per night. Before we arrived, I phoned the reservation desk and asked if there was a public parking lot nearby with cheaper rates. I was told that the nearest public lot was 2 blocks away. In fact, right across a quiet, one-way street outside the back door of the hotel, there is a public lot that charges $6.00 per night.
2) A cold breakfast costs $15 per person according to the card on the desk in each room.
3) The standard rooms are very small. In fact, when you sit on the toilet in the bathroom, you can touch the opposite wall with your foot.
4) Wireless internet in your room costs $13. However, if you take your computer down to the lobby they let you connect for free. (This is very strange! Even Macdonalds offers free wireless internet now.)
5) After registering, I had one heavy luggage item to carry to my room from the front door where my car was temporarily parked. I asked a bellhop if I could use one of several luggage carts parked by his desk. He refused, saying that the carts were only for bellhop use in carrying customer luggage to their rooms. In other words, bellhops want tips.
Having said all this, there is nothing wrong with this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The service, if you pay extra for it, is excellent. The location is fine if you have to be downtown on business. However, when we come to Portland again, we will stay at one of the many hotels just outside the downtown area that, for the same price, offer free parking, complimentary breakfast, and free wireless internet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I visited the Portland Marriott Downtown for a conference. Upon arrival, the staff was very welcoming. The lobby was pristine and there was ice water with fresh sliced strawberries floating in it. Delicious! Our room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with soft pillows. Slept great! All of the facilities were nicely decorated and modern looking. The conference rooms were really nice. We were within walking distance of the waterfront, lots of restaurants and great shopping. Because of time, we ate at the in-hotel sports bar one evening and were surprised to find it was quite tasty.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wildcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

from start to finish we received the best customer service of our portland trip. we asked for a quiet balcony room and we got a view of the river as well. the valet parking was great. the the consierge was fabulous- with great suggestions to restaurants and walking tour. we got complimentary crab cakes at a local restaurant from her reservation request. the location couldnt be better. we walked the riverfront promenade in front of the hotel and walked to portand city grill at night and jumped on the free trolley on the way back. the pool and jacuzzi was clean and well heated and had plenty of plush towels to use. great job portland riverfront marriot

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carthull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing