We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

No concierge but very helpful desk staff. No safe in room. Room clean, bed comfortable. Quality toiletries. Easy access by foot or streetcar to most of the town. Easy access by mass transit to the airport. What else can I say to meet the 200 word minimum?!?!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiddydoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    539
    201
    68
    24
See reviews for
208
315
80
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here this weekend on an overnight to see a musical at Keller Auditorium (where touring shows play and I have seen Wicked in the past.) I chose it because it is a block away from the theater and saves you the chaos of jammed parking garages as everyone heads home.

The hotel is clean, well-maintained and across the street from the waterfront. It is a great place for walks and seeing the river. If you want to be right in the shopping you will need to walk maybe 5-7 blocks but it is easy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4th of July weekend. Our room had a view of the river & amazing views of the fireworks. We lucked out that the Blues festival was going on at the waterfront. You could see the jumbo trons & acts, hear the music loud & clear and it was quite enjoyable. The window even opens to enjoy the fresh air. Great central location for food & entertainment within walking distance. Staff was very nice & helpful. Rooms was clean & beds were comfortable. Parking is VERY expensive for valet, otherwise you have to park in a garage nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCowanAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for five nights while in Portland. This was our first time in Portland. The location is great, as is the staff. Our room had a great view of the water. The rates were very fair. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay more for the waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I liked the location across the street from waterfront park. The thing i didn't like was all the construction that was going on at the time. It was a little further away from the city center then I would have liked, but it was still close to everything. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room rates were pretty reasonable. overall i enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I would be giving this hotel a much lower rating were it not for the infectious enthusiasm and helpfulness of Kaitlin at the front desk, and her manager who also took time to check all was okay. Help on various needs and requirements really lifted my feeling about the hotel, there's just a couple of things needed to bring the hotel up to her standard!
Mainly that the rooms themselves are looking shabby, I had marks on the wall paper and tiling and general condition of the bathroom which gave the impression of the room not really being clean when really it just needed a makeover.
Room service disappointingly counted "chilli" as their soup of the day when I arrived from a long flight. Hmmm, no, chilli is chilli and soup is soup and not the same at all, so I never tried room service in the end and went out.
Fortunately there is loads around the area in terms of eateries.
I would ask for a Waterside room though, the other side looks out onto a parking space and offices - whereas spectacular views from the waterfront side.
Overall super staff, a few things needed to bring everything else up to standard.

Room Tip: book your room on the waterfront side for a view otherwise you'll be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our group had a business meeting here for 3 days. All of the staff was friendly and always helpful, from the front desk, to the food employees, to the valet. Our meeting rooms were nice and had everything we needed, and the meals and snacks provided were great. My guest room was very comfortable and quiet. This hotel is also in a great location; you can walk to several many restaurants and there is a nice riverfront walkway right across the street. And of course on a clear day you have an excellent view of Mt Hood!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing