We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

No concierge but very helpful desk staff. No safe in room. Room clean, bed comfortable. Quality toiletries. Easy access by foot or streetcar to most of the town. Easy access by mass transit to the airport. What else can I say to meet the 200 word minimum?!?!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank kiddydoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here this weekend on an overnight to see a musical at Keller Auditorium (where touring shows play and I have seen Wicked in the past.) I chose it because it is a block away from the theater and saves you the chaos of jammed parking garages as everyone heads home.

The hotel is clean, well-maintained and across the street from the waterfront. It is a great place for walks and seeing the river. If you want to be right in the shopping you will need to walk maybe 5-7 blocks but it is easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4th of July weekend. Our room had a view of the river & amazing views of the fireworks. We lucked out that the Blues festival was going on at the waterfront. You could see the jumbo trons & acts, hear the music loud & clear and it was quite enjoyable. The window even opens to enjoy the fresh air. Great central location for food & entertainment within walking distance. Staff was very nice & helpful. Rooms was clean & beds were comfortable. Parking is VERY expensive for valet, otherwise you have to park in a garage nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KCowanAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for five nights while in Portland. This was our first time in Portland. The location is great, as is the staff. Our room had a great view of the water. The rates were very fair. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay more for the waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I liked the location across the street from waterfront park. The thing i didn't like was all the construction that was going on at the time. It was a little further away from the city center then I would have liked, but it was still close to everything. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room rates were pretty reasonable. overall i enjoyed my stay here and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I would be giving this hotel a much lower rating were it not for the infectious enthusiasm and helpfulness of Kaitlin at the front desk, and her manager who also took time to check all was okay. Help on various needs and requirements really lifted my feeling about the hotel, there's just a couple of things needed to bring the hotel up to her standard!
Mainly that the rooms themselves are looking shabby, I had marks on the wall paper and tiling and general condition of the bathroom which gave the impression of the room not really being clean when really it just needed a makeover.
Room service disappointingly counted "chilli" as their soup of the day when I arrived from a long flight. Hmmm, no, chilli is chilli and soup is soup and not the same at all, so I never tried room service in the end and went out.
Fortunately there is loads around the area in terms of eateries.
I would ask for a Waterside room though, the other side looks out onto a parking space and offices - whereas spectacular views from the waterfront side.
Overall super staff, a few things needed to bring everything else up to standard.

Room Tip: book your room on the waterfront side for a view otherwise you'll be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our group had a business meeting here for 3 days. All of the staff was friendly and always helpful, from the front desk, to the food employees, to the valet. Our meeting rooms were nice and had everything we needed, and the meals and snacks provided were great. My guest room was very comfortable and quiet. This hotel is also in a great location; you can walk to several many restaurants and there is a nice riverfront walkway right across the street. And of course on a clear day you have an excellent view of Mt Hood!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,743 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-5141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $175 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing