We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, tatty, and uncaring!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tired, tatty, and uncaring!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I travel for a living and it takes a LOT for me to write a negative review-- but this sad, unkind property deserves it. So here goes:
1. Upon check-in at 11 PM, my room was dirty--completely unserviced.
2. I was out of my room from 8 AM-4 PM on day 2 and Housekeeping couldn't be bothered with servicing it -- I had to settle for a houseman with a stack of fresh towels at 4:30 and call it done.
3. The staff acted like they'd rather be ANYWHERE but at work--completely uncaring and rude.

In summary: stay at the Benson or the Paramount--even for a Marriott, this property just stinks!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Pam M, I'm very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our hotel and would like to discuss the issues with you. As you can see by most of the reviews, our staff prides themselves in giving great service and a clean hotel room. Please contact me at your convenience - we would like the opportunity to "make it right" and look forward to inviting you back to our hotel.

William Steinberger/Senior Manager of Rooms Operations
William.steinberger@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    581
    211
    73
    25
See reviews for
238
358
86
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

First the good news - this property has one of the best trained staffs I have experienced from traveling nearly 100 nights / year. Friendly, concerned and have been given the charge to solve problems. With only one exception, these folks were flawless. The exception was the staff person who shut down the executive floor lounge five minutes early.

The bad news - this is a really noisy hotel. Appears to be a slightly older property and was not built with sound-reducing windows. A real shame, as the boat traffic on the Willamette River and vehicle traffic on the roads on either side of the hotel creates a constant din of noise, even on the 15th floor. The first night was miserable, even with earplugs. The hotel moved me from water-side to city-side and the noise was considerably less, although still more than you'd expect in a property of this nature.

Rooms are reasonably sized and well appointed. Furniture and carpet is older and were showing wear in both rooms. Two other irritating facts:
1) On my trip, valet parking was the only option at $32 / night
2) Wireless is $13 / night...this, for a signal that is worse that the free coffee shop around the corner.

Room service and the bar were excellent.

The employees and management here are clearly top-notch. It would have been a miserable stay otherwise. Nonetheless, bring the earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for city side and a high floor for the least amount of noise. If noise doesn't bug you, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for rating our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our team. Our staff prides themselves on giving great customer service and it shows in your comments as well. Portland is a great city and we hope you come back to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Waterfront Marriott in Portland, Oregon for two nights. With a late arrival from the airport I was thankful for the mobile check-in. The airport was a brief 15 min at 10pm and ran about $35. There was a $14 shared shuttle, but at that hour I wasn't going to lose sleep over $21 (literally). The Club lounge on the 15th floor serves a full breakfast and the gym is decent. There's also a Starbuck's in the lobby (thank goodness), but the Starbucks was free in the Club lounge.

The location of this hotel is excellent with quick access to downtown, decent restaurants and a nice view of the waterfront. There is free internet in the lobby and plenty of little alcoves in which to have a semi-private business conversation.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The Porter made arrangements for my 4am taxi back to the airport with just the right amount of humor and pity...thanks for that!

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel and the nightly rate was decent for a hotel so close to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view. Take advantage of the Club lounge. Breakfast was decent and buffet styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We're very happy you found Marriott's Mobile Guest Check-in so convenient. This is a new program Marriott is offering to Marriott Rewards members in our effort to make your check-in as quick and seamless as possible and our guests think it is wonderful. The mobile app is free to download on your phone and makes check-in before you arrive quick and easy. Come visit with us again soon, we'll be expecting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a very typical Marriot. The rooms are nice and the service is good. It is located close to the rail line and shopping.If you get a room facing the river, the views are very pretty. The fall colors are unbelievable and the walking trail beside the river is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipperroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and don't forget the view in the morning with the sunrise over Mt Hood is amazing! Please visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Recently held an annual event and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations, service and food. I had several guests tell me it was the best banquet meal they ever had and I would have to agree. The banquet rooms are newly refurbished, cheerful and fun. The staff are excellent. From greeting you when you arrive, in the Restaurants, throughout the facility are friendly, helpful and go out of there way to serve you.
Having the hotel directly in front of the river is an added bonus. If all you have are a few minutes you can still walk across the street and take in the beautiful Portland waterfront and enjoy the spirit of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soonkeum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review. The staff is very proud of the hotel and it shows in their work ethic. It helps that Portland is a great city and that we are in a fantastic location along the waterfront. Please visit with us again soon and hopefully you'll have more time to spend exploring our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

It is in a good spot near the freeways and the downtown area you can walk to some good restaurants and to the waterfront and has a good inside bar too the staff and concierge were helpful too the valet parking was efficient and easy to check in and out of

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're glad you chose our hotel and hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Admittedly, the room was booked for a conference at special room and parking rates. It helps that Oregon doesn't have sales tax on top of whatever city and/or county hotel tax, too.

Though only 2 of us, our room had 2 beds with luxury linens and a very firm mattress. A nice desk, reading chair and lamp, flatscreen TV, ironing board and luxury shampoos and lotions completed the package.

This is a room made for execs on a trip, not for families. No fridge or micro, no pool, but a workout room is included. Major conference facilities on lower levels. Parking is $32 a night, but there is a lot behind that charges only $6 for night hours if you're out by 7am. Sometimes that works.

Oddly, the room had a plunger, but no hairdryer. And as with a lot of older, retrofitted (but really.. wasn't this built in the 70's not the 1870's), there was no fan in the bathroom, but some kind of odd vent that seemed to be moving air. Also the "heat lamp" had a regular bulb in it. But hey, downtown Portland, a river view, nice restaurant if you choose, it was a good night away for a little retreat.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, some do not (perhaps an addition to the building?). Some have a riverview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. After reading your review, I thought I would elaborate on some of the amenities you may have missed during your stay. The exercise room looks out over the indoor pool and hot-tub. Depending on the configuration of your room we do have hair dryers either in the closet or under the vanity and some of our rooms do have refrigerators. We also offer complimentary refrigerators to be delivered for any of our rooms that do not already have one in place. Next time you're in Portland, we hope you come to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 143 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 143 in Portland
1,212 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 143 in Portland
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-5141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing