We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“99/100!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“99/100!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the Marriott Waterfront in Portland. Everything from check in to check out was perfect. The breakfast was wonderful. The maid service was terrific. The one time we needed room service the food was both delicious and delivered in a timely fashion. The room was not large but very comfortable. Even the bartender was outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank your for the fantastic review of our hotel and please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    581
    211
    73
    25
See reviews for
238
358
86
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff were great, the rooms were clean but a little on the small side. The bathroom was tiny. The beds were comfortable but the pillows left me with a sore neck both mornings. One hiccup on departure day a staff member entered the room at 10am while we were still sleeping to check if the room was vacant. I assume it was a housekeeper but wouldn't know because they didn't even announce themselves. I know that city properties need to flip rooms quickly but I don't know why they wouldn't check with the front desk to see departures. Or at least wait till after the standard departure time. All in all, it was a good stay but can't help but think that there is better value elsewhere in Portland downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youwantmyadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our housekeeping staff generally starts their day at 8:00am - most business travelers (75-90% of our business) do not stop at our Guest Reception Desk to let us know they are checking out (one of the benefits of our Express Check-Out feature) and generally they leave the hotel before 9am. Thank you for sharing this experience - I will be sure to review our procedures with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a clean, modern hotel with a very good fitness room, give the new equipment. I was attending a conference and found the business meals to be outstanding. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Spacious coffee shop and work area with plenty of seating. Excellent restaurant and shopping opportunities abound close by and the park is across the street. The only reason I did not give this property 5 stars is that my room was on the small size and the work desk was woefully inadequate.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your great comments about our staff. We're glad you enjoyed our exercize facility - a great place to work out the kinks of the day and don't forget next time to go for a relaxing swim in the heated in-door pool or go for a soak in our jacuzzi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Service First class from the second you drive to the door. Doors opened and friendly attendants there to do your bidding. Nothing rushed either at the car or in check in. We were upgraded with a smile . Rooms a bit on the small side. Activities in the park across the street started at 7:30. their microphone could be heard for miles. not close to downtown so we had to get car from valet. Prompt each time. Take $ for tipping

Room Tip: Choose river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twopickypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our service. Service truely makes a hotel experience worthwhile and our staff does a great job - you can see it in their faces - they really enjoy taking care of our guests! Govenor Tom McCall Waterfront Park - directly across the street - a wonderful place to go for a relaxing stroll on the boardwalk. Little cafes and shops by the marina are just a 5 minute walk from our front door and the noise of downtown is just a ten minute walk from our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on a business trip. Hotel location is very good, view on the river and very central for downtown Portland. Hotel is lively, has a nice lobby. Liked the bistro that I used for breakfast both mornings; they make Starbucks lattes, have good quality smaller items such as breakfast sandwiches and croissants. Plus, nice place to check emails and news early in the morning. As many Marriotts go, rooms are getting dated, especially ugly (and pretty worn) carpets always amaze me. Bathrooms are very small and not great for hotel charging at this level. AC is noisy, kind of a window unit. Bed was fine. Pet peeves: charge for wifi (except lobby and bistro; free and good connection) and very expensive valet parking for city this size with no self-park option. Overall a pleasant stay, friendly staff, walking distance to some great restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FD-GSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about our staff - they really are great at this hotel! I will pass-on your concerns about the decor in our guest rooms. Our hotel recently underwent a renovation of the lobby and public areas and we are working to finalize an agreement for a renovation of our guest rooms next year. We're delighted you enjoyed our Bistro - Starbucks Coffee in the morning, some great lunch and dinner offerings and who can resist the comaraderie of friends while watching the game and relaxing with a cocktail? For Valet Parking there is a charge and our guests find great value with having the car available at the front entrance 24 hours a day with just a call from the room and we keep it in a secure location out of the weather. We hope you come to visit with us again on your next trip to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

When you pull up in your car you are greeted by every person you see. We parked our car down the block for $3.00 a day on weekends. No one treated us different because we did not use there valet. There are quite a few parking structures within 2 blocks so if you want to save money,(we saved $40.00 for 2 nights) park your own car. Check in was a pleasure. Every person smiled, was kind and did anything they could to make your stay better. We wanted to buy some beer and wine and the front desk sent us about 4 blocks up the street to a real nice store with great prices. This is the same direction you will walk to pick up the trolly that takes you to downtown Portland. The trolly stop is about 3 blocks away but in a nice area, we felt safe anytime of day. Across the street is a great waterfront park with lot's of food options. In the same park they have an area you can rent bikes for very little money. There is a loop that takes about 45 minutes by bike and it goes along the river on both sides. You cross 2 bridges which is very cool for getting good pics of the city. Back to the hotel, people say the location is not perfect but that depends if you want crazy busy or calm and relaxing. Our river view was so calming and we got to see the sun rise over Mt.Hood. If you can walk and want the best service you will ever have in a hotel this is my pick. Yes you will have to walk a bit but it is totally worth the extra steps. Upon leaving my husband pulled up with the car and we had 3 valet guys jump to help us load the car, and they gave us water for our trip.

Room Tip: The river view room is worth every extra dollar you will pay. They have Juliet balcony's, so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very much for the rave reviews of our hotel and staff. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was in Portland for a dragon boat regatta on the waterfront, and I chose the Marriott primarily for the location. However, from the moment I checked in, I knew that this was going to be a good experience. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating and made checking-in a painless process. The lobby was large and beautifully decorated with a coffee bar, that turned into a bar later in the evening. The room was not large, but it was a fair size with two beds for me and my dragon boat partner. We enjoyed all the bath products available in the bathroom, in particular the ginger body lotion (oo la la!), of which the house keeping staff allowed us to take several extras to take home. We had chosen the breakfast option when reserving our room, and boy were we glad we did! The breakfast buffet, in particular was amazing. It featured a wonderful gentleman, David, who made us fresh omelettes and waffles. In addition there was a wonderful assortment of fresh fruit, berries, breads, donuts, sausages and bacon (and more!)

So, all in all the service was amazing, the rooms were comfortable (the beds were great!), and it was a beautiful stay.

DO go to this hotel. and DO GET THE BREAKFAST BUFFET!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I'm so glad you had a great weekend with us! But, you didn't say if you won the race?! All in fun, we hope you continue to stay with us and enjoy all our hotel and Portland has to offer. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 143 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 143 in Portland
1,211 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 143 in Portland
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-5141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing