We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service, and lovely view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, and lovely view.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our family was descending on Portland for my niece's graduation. This Marriott is in downtown and right by the River place. One can take a nice walk in the park in the morning. There are many good restaurants within walking distance. The farmer's market is 15 minutes walking distance away. You can take the street car to the Pearl district and the shopping area, extremely convenient. The staff was great, professional and friendly. The room is nice. If you have a car, do not use the valet parking for overnight parking, that's $35. There are plenty of parking garage within 2 blocks that are much cheaper. They won't charge you $35 unless you park there overnight. I would highly recommend this Marriott to anyone. Look for specials, we stayed for $100 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    553
    206
    69
    24
See reviews for
218
332
83
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travel to Portland about 5 times a year for business, and stay at this location almost every time I'm in town. The service is great, and the rooms are standard Marriott rooms. They've recently re-done the entire lobby, giving it a more modern feel. Food at their restaurant, Truss, is good, and the views are fantastic. I must say that I was a big fan of their pre-renovation sports bar, Champions, and was sorry to see it go.

They offer the typical high-priced Marriott Wired for Business local calls/Internet package (local calls, really? -- but that's a Marriott thing) for a per-day fee. Valet parking for $32 is steep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgowan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
340 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed for my birthday in a room overlooking the water and had a fabulous time. The hotel is a huge property, but has the feel of a much smaller facility due to the service they provide. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay and was able to walk to many of the sights and restaurants in downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttocsnodrog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff at this hotel are what make it. They are friendly without being overbearing, polite without being stand-offish, and knowledgeable without being know-it-all s! Seriously - they make you feel VERY WELCOME as a guest and very valued. I checked in super late - around 2 am - and they were so kind.

Good location - easy to pop out the front door and take a nice walk by the river. Starbucks inside the hotel closes early - maybe 11 a or 1 p? But there is another Starbucks literally across the street if you simply MUST have a mocha latte.

Rooms are regular Marriott rooms - clean and comfy.

Negatives - you have to pay for WiFi from your room ($12.95 a day I think?) and the WiFi in the lobby is sloooow. No shuttle from or to airport.

Pluses - great staff. One of the wait staff in the bar remember our whole party's drink orders THE NEXT NIGHT! Amazing!

Room Tip: I had a room NOT on the water side. My room was quiet. Co-workers who had pretty views on the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriusGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I made the selection for this property ( for 170 attendees) after inspecting 5 locations in Portland and the choice turned out to be a good one. The meeting room was set up exactly as specified and had adequate space for our guests. We had an evening reception and dinner with no hitches whatsoever and the food (chicken and salmon) was excellent.
A/V (hotel recommended vendor) was very good as well - even when one of our presenters threw them a curve...at the last minute.
The "red coat" service for events is great and we felt very comfortable knowing someone would respond if we had a problem (we didn't). Our guests were very complimentary of the property and that is all that really matters when you're doing a program for customers and prospects.
There was not one single negative comment regarding the Marriott when we collected evaluations for our event. Special thanks to Mel Perez for coordinating everything long distance to make this a success.
On a side note, our company meeting coordinator was given a "gold key" to give to a Marriott staff member that provided exceptional service. Thank you to Katherine, one of the servers during our dinner who provided outstanding service...it was obvious she loves what she does!
No issues with rooms either and the hotel was very accommodating for late checkouts for those guests that were leaving after the meeting was over at noon.
Good job folks, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLN53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was clean with a friendly staff. The location was nice for walking many places around town. If you are looking for a clean place to stay and rest your head while visiting a great city, this hotel is for you! If there are places you can't walk to, there are cabs right there and can get you anywhere you'd like to go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindz6380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I don't regret staying at this hotel, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again. On the positive side, the location is very convenient and close to the water. The hotel staff is very friendly. The showers are hot and the beds are comfortable. On the more negative side, the hotel is noisy. The windows and balcony doors are not soundproofed, so you hear every bit of traffic noise- every motorocyle and trash truck making its way down the street. We bought a box fan after the first night- but you shouldn't have to buy a box fan for a quiet night's sleep in a hotel room. The rooms are also older and on the small side, but they are comfortable. Do not use overnight valet ($32!!)- there are 3 parking lots adjacent to the hotel and one of them has $16 overnight parking. Again, a solid stay (especially after we solved our own street noise problem), but would probably never choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShariKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-5141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing