We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small rooms”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was here recently for a convention. The room was one of the smallest I have ever seen. I asked for a room near the pool and exercise room I recieved one that was within twenty feet.

The location was good. It is within walking distance to downtown and the river. Parking is expensive, but it is a downtown location.

I expected the typical institutional, convention food but it was surprisingly good. The service was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back on the lower floors get morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UglyHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    562
    209
    69
    24
See reviews for
224
341
85
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel's location is very good. The hotel itself is nice and clean. The rooms are smaller than I'm acustomed to at other Marriott properties. Valet parking is very expensive. I'd recommend the parking garage next door and self park. I gave this hotel a 3 because the spa and pool areas were closed and no advanced warning given to guests on the marriott website. Paid full price...deserved to have full access to all amenities. The first i heard of the closings was in letter form in my room when I arrived. not very classy. The bed was excellent as it usually is with Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpectingtheBest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here, expecting a luxury spot downtown, but I felt like I was at a chain hotel except for the service. The service was great, but you pay for it, $30 for parking.
the only thing that made this stay worth the extra cost was VIP lounge.

Room Tip: I had a room that was very small and the bathroon was tiny. This explains why there were no picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
613 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I’m not really sure why you pay more for less, but sometimes you do. The location of this hotel is terrific. Right downtown with a view of the river (if you want to pay $20 extra bucks) and walking distance to parks, the light rail/streetcar and many restaurants and theaters. So for the location this hotel is great.

But for 2 nights with parking and the view it cost about to $400 w/ tax. No breakfast is included, although you can add one for more money. Wi-Fi is $12.95. Parking is $32 a night for valet. You can stay at other hotels and get breakfast, Wi-Fi and cheaper or free parking for much less.

The service was outstanding though and the rooms are nice enough although not large and we only had 1 chair. We even had a Juliet balcony that we could squeeze onto. We also enjoyed the pool/hot tub both nights. The first night we were the only ones in there. The second night there was some moms and kids, but it wasn't too noisy for us as we sat in the hot tub. There is a large workout room as well.

Plus, we were just blocks away from the Streetcar which is a great way to get around Portland and with that and walking, we never had to drive our car until we were ready to leave.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pick a river view room. It was fun to see the walkers/joggers in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had such a great experience here for a conference recently. The food was great, the rooms were great, and the staff was particularly helpful. My co-worker actually celebrated her birthday during our stay. Not only did they give me tape to assist in decorating her door but one special staff member (Jessie) also surprised her with a tray of goodies. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L8dluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been staying at this property 3 to 7 times a year for the last 5 years. It is in a good location for my needs. I walk from the Trimet and can walk to all of my clients offices. I really like Veritable Quandry, a restaurant just down the block. All of the rooms have a good view, are well furnished, and are well-priced for the area.
The star of the property is Terry, one of the bartenders in the lobby bar. Terry is personable, very attentive, and never lets anyone sit too long without a kind word, fresh drink or item off of the menu.
The only complaint [overstatement] I have is: before the remodel there was a casual, meeting place/sports bar. Terry used to work in this space and it was a much better place for the business traveler to go in this world of hostile travel to relax and get away for a short time from the pressures of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We had tickets for a production at Keller. This hotel is within two blocks of that venue. It is also within six blocks of Higgins where we enjoyed an exceptionally nice dinner. As far as the Marriott is concerned, the hotel is rather old but has been updated and is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is very small but all facilities worked well. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#66 of 141 in Portland
22 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-5141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing