We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel For Conferences” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel For Conferences”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had such a great experience here for a conference recently. The food was great, the rooms were great, and the staff was particularly helpful. My co-worker actually celebrated her birthday during our stay. Not only did they give me tape to assist in decorating her door but one special staff member (Jessie) also surprised her with a tray of goodies. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L8dluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    539
    201
    68
    24
See reviews for
208
315
80
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been staying at this property 3 to 7 times a year for the last 5 years. It is in a good location for my needs. I walk from the Trimet and can walk to all of my clients offices. I really like Veritable Quandry, a restaurant just down the block. All of the rooms have a good view, are well furnished, and are well-priced for the area.
The star of the property is Terry, one of the bartenders in the lobby bar. Terry is personable, very attentive, and never lets anyone sit too long without a kind word, fresh drink or item off of the menu.
The only complaint [overstatement] I have is: before the remodel there was a casual, meeting place/sports bar. Terry used to work in this space and it was a much better place for the business traveler to go in this world of hostile travel to relax and get away for a short time from the pressures of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We had tickets for a production at Keller. This hotel is within two blocks of that venue. It is also within six blocks of Higgins where we enjoyed an exceptionally nice dinner. As far as the Marriott is concerned, the hotel is rather old but has been updated and is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is very small but all facilities worked well. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at this Marriott every year for a meeting and always come away feeling -- great staff, great service, but some of the smallest mainstream hotel rooms I've encountered. And the bathrooms are small, too.
Was upgraded to the concierge floor, but as with most Marriotts, the lounge isn't open on weekends and you don't get any coupons to make up for that, at least at this hotel.

Room Tip: They are all very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The bed and pillows were good. Those meeting you out front were great. For a hotel this size very few amenities in the hotel. One restaurant and bar combination. Near the river but the river is across the street. A very small bathroom with no fan. Left for three and a half hours at 9 am still not cleaned when I returned. A good thing is the windows opened . Rooms were pretty small and Internet was 12.95 and not very strong and only worked in your room.Overall very average hotel and on the low side for Marriott.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

You won't be disappointed, especially by the hop-to-it staff who were invariably polite & helpful. Quality room (just a shade small) in a well maintained and very clean building. Downtown is a pleasant 10 minute walk. Would happily stay again.
TopTip: Ask for a river view room. Naito Parkway is a little busy so ask for a higher room to get you above any traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank air4ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This establishment was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice view of the waterfront. Restaurant was very relaxing after a day of travel and the food was good. Morning breakfast was more than adequate. It was far more than your continental breakfast. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Property: Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing