We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Didn't really have a great impression of Red Lion before, but got the hotel through Priceline and just needed a clean and safe place to stay after a late night arrival. Was pleasantly surprised. Check in was friendly and fast. The room was completely adequate and with recent upgrades to the bathroom and furniture. Quiet, clean and safe. A sport bar next door was open until midnight which was great so no need to find a place, and you simply couldn't be more convenient to the airport. Hotel is completely non smoking, and does not have elevators fyi (only two story though).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    192
    167
    97
    61
See reviews for
173
195
92
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading all the reviews, I was afraid to stay here. But, with a deal of $139 for a night and 30 days of free parking, it was a steal. I was greeted by a lovely young woman working the evening shift and she had me checked in in nothing flat. Knowing I couldn't get my huge bag up to the second floor, she put me in a downstairs room where they only have double queen bed rooms. That was fine with me! The room was very clean and had a microwave, frig, and a coffee maker. The wakeup call and shuttle were right on time. I will happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoaniH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curlew, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Supportive of weary travelers - a great bargain. Will stay here again when we news a pdx hotel - half the price of the embassy suites and totally clean and pleasant, and the rooms were nicely sized with wonderful showers to wake you up for early morning flights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christycanhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed in many Red Lions and this one is by far in the worst condition. The exteriors should have tipped us off. While the shuttle service to and from the airport was fine, the hotel itself reserved the wrong type of room, saying they had not king rooms with sleeper sofas. When I questioned further, yes, they did have that type of room but Expedia had entered a wrong code. I took an inferior type room and climbed up a flight of stairs with worn out carpet. A musty smell pervaded the hotel and room especially. All in all, a disappointing experience. I learned later this location was owned by corporate and was surprised since I love the Seattle Red Lion on Fifth Avenue which is also corporately owned.

Room Tip: There were several hotels with shuttle service. Try one of those instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected ,we value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our front desk staff about your experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and would definitely stay here again. Once again we wanted to spend most of our money on shopping, dinning and attractions and a decent amount on a clean well kept hotel.


The Red Lion was a Priceline name your own price win. A steal at $43/night. It had everything we needed to be comfortable while we slept. Nice kings size raised bed, flat screen tv. Clean washroom and really wide hallways. This hotel is built campus style, meaning you got to go outside to the next building to get to the lobby. If you check out my other reviews I was not fond of thisin Bellingham. But this location did it right and I didn’t mind the campus style at all. The location was next to the airport. You could hear the planes flying by but you get used to it real quick. We actually enjoyed seeing the planes land and take off.


A five min drive towards the airport/hwy and they have a strip mall they are working on. Ihop, IKEA, Target, winners and best buy just to name a few. About 10mins the other way and your practically downtown. 10mins from downtown and your at the zoo, 25mins from downtown and your at the Woodburn outlets. We loved where we stayed. Didn’t have a single problem with the room. I forgot my bottle opener and the front stay was able to help with that, they also pointed out a few good places to eat which was help full. Fast free wifi connection.


Parking is free but breakfast isn’t. But we weren’t huge on breakfast anyways. One day the 3 of us ate at ihop for about $25 bucks and the next day about $6 covers your breakfast at IKEA.


Great location, great hotel, would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Why does this hotel always has something not working?

We reserved five nights in Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport from Oct.19-24, 2012.

We found two problems in the first room Rm 160 we stayed for first night. First problem, the shower handle did not work, only cold water come out, so we did not take shower, and I could not even turn it off...think about it when you get naked and ready for shower, but it turned out only cold water come out.

Second, the outside window was broke somewhere, because it made big noise whenever somebody drove by or a plane took off.

As for customer service issue, this is the story. I went to the front desk to report the problems in the morning of Oct.20th. The front desk girl did not apologize at all, and she was reluctant to switch a room for us. So my wife went to the front desk with me, and we asked to talk with the manager on duty. The front desk girl said there was no manager on duty during weekends. I don't know if she was lying, you know it.

The front desk girl made me upset. She felt my mood and agreed to switch a room for us. However, she asked me show ID, and looked at my passport ridiculously, checked it by seeing it from different light angles...Am I an illegal immigrant? Is she a immigration police??? It is humiliating experience. Please contact me for further discussion for this thing.

We were moved to the second room. Soon we find three problems. First, the fridge does not work. Second, there is a big hole on the base of table lamp, where supposed to be a power socket. Third, the window cannot be positioned, always fall down.

I called the front desk, no one picked up the phone.

Room Tip: the only tip is not to choose it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19681971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels and do apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to you as well.
Please be assured that these issues will be addressed accordingly with our staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Yes, it's close to PDX. Yes, it's a Red Lion, which usually aren't all that bad. And yes, it's affordable (beats nearby competitors by at least $20/night).

But don't do it!!!

This airport Red Lion is a dump. Layout is WEIRD -- sort of like one of those super-cheap exterior-entry type motels (e.g. Red Roof Inn), but somehow they've enclosed everything for an added layer of security. Yet, the place is so sketch that the keycard-entry required to access the hallways still doesn't make you feel comfortable... not that I felt unsafe here... it's just such a grimy little hotel.

Furniture is nice, but carpets are soiled, doorways are dinged/dirty, and the ceiling above shower has mold and mildew festering on it. Parking lot is not well maintained -- fallen tree leaves/branches are not cleaned up, asphalt is cracked in many spots. Lots of parties going on at this hotel -- smells of weed on a weeknight!

Definitely NOT family-friendly. It'll get the job done if you just need a place to crash near the airport for a night... but anything more than that, and I'd recommend steering clear of this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experiences at our property. We take your concerns seriously and the fact that you did not feel that our hotel was family friendly, is disappointing.
Your feedback is appreciated and we will make note of this situation to discuss with our team. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 141 in Portland
759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1310
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a half mile from Portland International Airport and just a short trip from Downtown Portland, our hotel boasts one of the most favorable locations among Portland Airport hotels. Whether you're staying with us while you wait for your flight or embarking on a fun Portland adventure with the family, take advantage of our convenient and enjoyable airport hotel amenities, including complimentary Portland airport shuttle service, two on-site Portland hotel dining options, a 24/7 fitness center, free WiFi and heated outdoor pool (seasonal). Red Lion Portland Airport is also conveniently located near the MAX light rail system so you can easily keep connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall, the Oregon Zoo, Oregon Convention Center, MOOA Center, and the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing