We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe if you get bumped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #76 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Maybe if you get bumped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

At some time maybe along time ago this was a really nice hotel, and if you stayed here along time ago you will recognize everything you saw then. Staff friendly. I would suggest another more updated location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JatPat, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Gdindy, I want to thank you for being a top contributor on tripadvisor as your contributions help provide insight to future guests. I also took time to review the types of hotels you have stayed from your contributions at and can see why you found our hotel a 'maybe' You have stayed at some very nice upscale hotels and I would guess have paid 2 to 3 time for that stay experience. Our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable room with all the amenities of those 3.5-4.0 star hotels at half the price because we are a older hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    180
    166
    95
    56
See reviews for
162
190
88
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked 2 rooms from Priceline for $50 each. We stayed for 2 nights. Our rooms are right above the lobby.

Location: Really close to the airport and Cascade Station (not walkable) which has 24 hrs IHOP, Target and DSW, etc. Downtown is about 20 mins away.

Room: Average size, very comfortable bed & pillow, clean. Heater/fan is a bit loud, but acceptable. We can hear noise from outside, such as people talking and room door closing, but did not hear anything from other rooms. Other reviews mentioned that there is a smell. Yes, there was, but not that strong and did not bother us.

There is free Wifi (fast), free parking and free coffee in the morning.

Overall, with the price I paid, I am very satisfied with what I got. If you are looking for an affortable, basic and clean hotel, this hotel works perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahh_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JatPat, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
thanks for your 'fair review' hope to see you back again in the near future. safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a last minute change of hotels and was able to get a room here at a good price. They have a shuttle to and from the airport that runs every 20 minutes. All the drivers I encountered in my 3 day stay were great. I was greated by a very pleasant desk clerk. Actually, all of them were very pleasant and helpful. The shuttle was available to drop and pick me up each day where I was attending a conference. I did a little sight seeing and needed a cab, I called the hotel desk and the sent thier shuttle to come get me. Fantastic stay, i would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyK1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JatPat, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Glad to hear that we were able to be a 'pleasant surprise' for your stay at our hotel. Yes i agree we are a great value for the money. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at other red lion hotels before, this one is fairly old and needs updating. This hotel is probably a 2 or 2 1/2 not a 3. Carpet looks old and the building looks old. Bed was super tall but comfy. They had a microwave and a fridge that was a good thing. Front desk staff were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JatPat, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Don’t beat us up for being old :). Our rooms have all the comforts of a 3 star hotels including the Flat Panel TV's with all High Definition Channels, Free Wifi, 24 hour complimentary shuttle as well as the comfortable beds. I agree our carpets do get dirty fast being in a rainy city however all rooms are on a carpet cleaning rotation so that we can keep them looking fresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
218 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel has outdoor steps and only two floors. It is not suitable for disabled guests or wet weather. They refused to check us in before the 3pm check in time - I find it hard to believe that all rooms were magically cleaned suddenly at 3pm. The interior corridors and room are old, dark and dingy. This place needs modernizing and a face lift. The refrigerator did not work and was stinking. Maintenance was unavailable on Sunday. No conditioner in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Get as close to the front desk on the ground floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JatPat, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Looks like we might have directed to you to emergency exits. At the center of each building we have an interior area to access the guest rooms. Also we do have rooms on the first floor that are easier to access if someone is not able to walk up the stairs. As for early check in please let us know 24 hours in advance so that we can plan to have a room ready for you. All of our rooms get inspected by the housekeeping supervisor before they are released for the front desk to issue. We are a three star hotel for the following reasons; renovated rooms, granite vanity tops, 32 inch tv with all high definition channels, gift shop, luxury beds, restaurant and lounge on site and a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. Thanks for your business and we looking forward to serving you in the future. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A frequent traveler at 53 years of age my wife and I just couldn't take the hotel and we checked out 1 hour after arriving. We were dead tired from an all day flight and really needed a good nights sleep before driving 4 hours home the next morning, but the hotel was musty and the room smelled awful. So bad it was making us feel sick!!! To top it off, no tv remote, coffee maker didn't work, and light burned out. So we drove home instead and despite a 21 hour day I'm sure we were healthier for it. Hotel obviously does not believe in deep cleaning. Since it was booked on Priceline, the hotel refused a refund. Very poor management all around.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IloveBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JatPat, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I feel terrible that you left and drove after flying for all those hours. We are not in the business to make our customers go through what you experienced. If you are not happy please come talk to us so that we can correct any issues. We make thousands of customers happy every year as you can read from our other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

After along day of travel it was wonderful to drive just 2 miles and have our hotel so close to the airport. The people at the desk were friendly and the beds were most comfortable. We booked it again for our trip home. Great for the price and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChlOe55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#36 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a half mile from Portland International Airport and just a short trip from Downtown Portland, our hotel boasts one of the most favorable locations among Portland Airport hotels. Whether you're staying with us while you wait for your flight or embarking on a fun Portland adventure with the family, take advantage of our convenient and enjoyable airport hotel amenities, including complimentary Portland airport shuttle service, two on-site Portland hotel dining options, a 24/7 fitness center, free WiFi and heated outdoor pool (seasonal). Red Lion Portland Airport is also conveniently located near the MAX light rail system so you can easily keep connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall, the Oregon Zoo, Oregon Convention Center, MOOA Center, and the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing