We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely horrible! Will never stay at a Red Lion EVER again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #76 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Washington State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible! Will never stay at a Red Lion EVER again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel should be demolished. It has the most foul smell in the guestrooms and hallways. We were in Building D and the smell made me sick to my stomach. The linens were stained, the bathroom was dirty with the ceiling peeling off. The corridors were dirty and the overall appearance of the facility was old and musty. The front desk staff was extremely unhelpful and actually cancelled our reservation prior to our arrival. I should have taken that as a sign to find somewhere else to stay. Unfortunately I had booked our entire team there and all of the parents had complaints. I will never book another Red Lion property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzkris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    180
    165
    93
    56
See reviews for
160
190
87
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Property is fairly priced and rooms are what you would expect. Smokers' litter around entrances is an eyesore, and stinky. Was not pleased to awake in the morning, turn on the lights and be greeted by a great quantity of flying ants. When the curtains were opened to let in the morning light an army of ants covering the window sill was discovered. At my early morning check-out the clerk was very pleasant and apologetic about the bugs, but said she was not empowered to do something to make up for the problem. She promised that she would have the GM call as soon as he arrived, and he did. His courtesy and professionalism was first rate, and he handled the bug issue to my satisfaction. You couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

When needing a "Park and Fly" deal, we usually stayed at another hotel near the Portland Airport (Super 8). It's plain and used to be less expensive, so worked fine for a one night stay/leave the car etc. This trip, I was taking my neice on a special birthday visit out east so decided to "upgrade" a little and go with Red Lion. It was worse than the Super 8. The first room we got looked clean, but smelled of cigarette smoke and room spray (supposed to be a non-smoking facility). It gets worse. I went to use the toilet and there was the smell of urine in the air, and fresh yellow droplets of urine on the toilet seat! Now tell me someone hadn't been in there just prior to us! I went to the desk, reported it, and they were very accomodating to give us a different room immediately. That room didn't smell, didn't have urine on the toilet, but the shower had mildew stained grout and crud in all the corners. I'm not a germaphobe and not usually one to write comments, but this was unacceptable for a supposedly "nicer" hotel. It cost nearly $120 and should have been significantly better than the other hotel I mentioned. The beds were very comfortable, and the staff, shuttle guy, and park/fly experience was good, but I won't stay at the Red Lion Portland Airport again :(

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndalu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for a week while visiting Portland. The room was very nice, esp. the big comfortable beds. Trust me after hiking 10 miles of the Columbia Gorge, coming "home" to those great beds was amazing. Having a mini-fridge and microwave was nice as well. The staff was extremely helpful, not only with hotel needs, but with tips on attractions in Portland. The shuttle was efficient and convenient and since the Metro line had a station at the airport, we took the shuttle to the airport daily. Next time you visit Portland, choose this Red Lion, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brumthun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Not often enough does this hard working and professional team receive the compliments that they deserve so I want to share here that we have always have a great overall experience at the Red Lion PDX and their Sky Jockey lounge. In particular on my last visit, Thursday 6/23 was unusually busy at the Sky Jockey but manager James and a new waitress (I think on her first or second night even) worked very, very dilgently and effectively to provide a suddenly full restaurant AND bar with the best possible service. The place was just slammed but the service was always with a smile and an acknowledgement of any delay. On two occasions, I witnessed James receiving compliments from other patrons about their service and his team's performance- well deserved! Yes, there were the few usual complaints too (mostly about delays from an overwhelmed kitchen), and these unfortunately are the comments that end up on-line somewhere, but not everyone can be pleased. I recognize great effort when I see it and that to me is more respectable and appreciable than speed of service under these conditions. Great job as usual Red Lion PDX!

RP

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rynner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I was assigned this hotel through priceline for $45. Lots of people on here complaining about it, but everything was perfect for me. Other reviewers have called it more of a motel, but I didn't get that feeling at all.

I experienced a nice hotel with a great room, comfortable bed, and good service. Not much more you can ask for when it comes to a cheap airport hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedTraveler214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here for one night on short notice. Bid for a 3 star hotel through Priceline and won this hotel for 40 a night. Have stayed at quite a few Red Lions in the past and this one is consistent with all of those. Hotel is located close to the airport, but not on the main strip that leads into the airport by Palace Station. Not the best of areas and not much else in walking distance so be aware of that.
Checked in late at 10:30pm and was promptly checked into one of the two rooms that were not occupied (hotel was packed) Was given a room just down the hall way from the front desk. Expected to be bothered by noise in the morning, but was pleased that I heard nothing.
Room was a single queen accessible room. Typical Red Lion furnishings, comfortable bed and old tube TV (time to upgrade to LCD's red lion). Hotel has a small work out room (didn't use it) and restaurant and bar connected as well. Out door swimming pool is small, but probably just right for an airport hotel. Free parking and wireless internet a bonus. More hotels should do the free parking and free wireless internet.
Check out was just as fast without any concerns. I would be ok with winning this hotel again via Priceline. I am also aware that they have an outstanding Park and Fly rate, as I have booked rooms for my parents who frequently fly out of PDX...so if you are looking for the park and fly deal, make sure you take a look here.
Only marked 3 stars as that's about how many stars this older property deserves. Nothing hugely bad, but nothing over the top. All the people I encountered were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: park and fly deals are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#36 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a half mile from Portland International Airport and just a short trip from Downtown Portland, our hotel boasts one of the most favorable locations among Portland Airport hotels. Whether you're staying with us while you wait for your flight or embarking on a fun Portland adventure with the family, take advantage of our convenient and enjoyable airport hotel amenities, including complimentary Portland airport shuttle service, two on-site Portland hotel dining options, a 24/7 fitness center, free WiFi and heated outdoor pool (seasonal). Red Lion Portland Airport is also conveniently located near the MAX light rail system so you can easily keep connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall, the Oregon Zoo, Oregon Convention Center, MOOA Center, and the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing