We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servicable Red Lion Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #73 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Seattle, Wa
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Servicable Red Lion Property”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here for one night on short notice. Bid for a 3 star hotel through Priceline and won this hotel for 40 a night. Have stayed at quite a few Red Lions in the past and this one is consistent with all of those. Hotel is located close to the airport, but not on the main strip that leads into the airport by Palace Station. Not the best of areas and not much else in walking distance so be aware of that.
Checked in late at 10:30pm and was promptly checked into one of the two rooms that were not occupied (hotel was packed) Was given a room just down the hall way from the front desk. Expected to be bothered by noise in the morning, but was pleased that I heard nothing.
Room was a single queen accessible room. Typical Red Lion furnishings, comfortable bed and old tube TV (time to upgrade to LCD's red lion). Hotel has a small work out room (didn't use it) and restaurant and bar connected as well. Out door swimming pool is small, but probably just right for an airport hotel. Free parking and wireless internet a bonus. More hotels should do the free parking and free wireless internet.
Check out was just as fast without any concerns. I would be ok with winning this hotel again via Priceline. I am also aware that they have an outstanding Park and Fly rate, as I have booked rooms for my parents who frequently fly out of PDX...so if you are looking for the park and fly deal, make sure you take a look here.
Only marked 3 stars as that's about how many stars this older property deserves. Nothing hugely bad, but nothing over the top. All the people I encountered were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: park and fly deals are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    198
    170
    101
    62
See reviews for
180
200
93
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were placed into this hotel via Priceline bidding process and had no choice once accepted. Only after acceptance then I could look at hotel reviews, and the ones posted about this hotel were so terrible I wanted to forfeit my bid. I went to the hotel expecting very bad things and was very pleasantly surprised that the room was clean. Also the room was very large, had comfortable mattresses, very well decorated and appointed with tile and marble. The staff was helpful. I can only say nice things, glad I stayed there. Douglas from Honolulu

Room Tip: nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Nice clean rooms with comfortable bed and attractive furnishings. Good place for pets with several areas for walking them. One of the best in the ares for this price range.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Booked into this hotel for two nights. Unpacked, piled the pillows into a comfortable spot on the bed and made myself comfortable UNTIL I discovered DOG HAIR all over the center of the bedspread! GROSSSSSSSSSSSSS! No response to my call to housekeeping, found a mildly sympathic person in guest services who reported it to the manager. We moved down the hall while he touted their pet-friendly policy and commented that this is not the first time such a thing has happened since they allowed animals. I asked whether the policy is made very clear to insure not causing a problem for people with allergies. He said yes, but when I looked at our online receipt, I found it only in fine print. So beware, cleanliness and allergies are ISSUES at RED LION Hotels!

Room Tip: DON'T stay here. No pet free available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed for three nights while attending a conference which took place in a nearby hotel. I got a very good rate on a book early and pay ahead promotional deal. The rooms are clean. The hotel is near the airport, but I barely heard the planes. The rooms are located in about four different buildings, and my room faced the back parking lot which faced a long-term parking lot and a golf course in the distance. There was no street noise, even though there was a major street near-by. However, there was a LOT of hotel noise. The walls are thin. You can hear conversations and TVs in the rooms below and next to you. The doors to the rooms shut hard and every morning I was awoke by someone leaving at 6 AM for an early flight. Also, the room smelled like at one point it had been a smoking room.

There is no indoor pool and the pool was closed for the season. No hot tub--indoor or outdoor although there was an exercise room. There are two restaurants next to the hotel, and the service for breakfast was cheerful and friendly. The gals at the front desk were not exactly warm and friendly, more cool and distant.

It's a good hotel to stay at if you won't be in your room much and don't mind the noise of other hotel guests. But, I've stayed at better Red Lions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgalSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Spent one night for convenience at the Red Lion. It was fine for an airport hotel. It is a remodeled HoJo Inn and they are working on upgrading it. Nice rooms and everything worked well. The front desk staff at check-in was a little distracted even though there was no one else there. Check out staff was much more attentive and pleasant. Parking was a bit of a challenge when we arrived back from dinner from the stay and fly crowd. Overall a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. No breakfast but according to the staff it is coming when the remodeling is done.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootalltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

When I am in Portland, OR I stay at this hotel. The staff is always courteous and friendly. They still have a restaurant that serves quite nice meals. I called the manager Ted Kooy about the rooms and he was outstanding. Each of our judges had a confirmation and checked in easily with no problems.

Terri Zittel

Room Tip: Use the Red Lion website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrizittel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 143 in Portland
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland Airport (I-205)
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 7101 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1310
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a half mile from Portland International Airport and just a short trip from Downtown Portland, our hotel boasts one of the most favorable locations among Portland Airport hotels. Whether you're staying with us while you wait for your flight or embarking on a fun Portland adventure with the family, take advantage of our convenient and enjoyable airport hotel amenities, including complimentary Portland airport shuttle service, two on-site Portland hotel dining options, a 24/7 fitness center, free WiFi and heated outdoor pool (seasonal). Red Lion Portland Airport is also conveniently located near the MAX light rail system so you can easily keep connected to popular Portland area attractions like the Lloyd Center Mall, the Oregon Zoo, Oregon Convention Center, MOOA Center, and the Veterans Memorial Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing