We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was extremely happy with my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great nightly rates and they obviously just did a remodel. There are granite counter tops all throughout the room. Very modern nice/comfortable furniture. The couch in my room was big enough for my 6'5" boyfriend to lay on comfortably. The shower heads have different settings to meet your shower needs! (that's important to me and my back.) There's a hot tub, and a sauna- both I used every day. The staff is friendly and made me feel more comfortable with my stay. The location is so perfect for someone with a car or someone without one. It is located directly across from a transit center! and right next to the freeway. so its very easily accessible. Overall I had a great stay. I will return !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvycat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear savvycat2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We do try our best to make each guest's stay comfortable. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are looking forward to your return
visit.

Sincerely
Cindy New
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

serves as a great hub for all areas of Portland...very close to any activity...waterfalls, bald eagles, downtown , the airport as well as all freeways...and then there's the trip down historical Hwy 30...whatever time of year, whatever weather, grab you camera and consider the Gorge as a must see...all very easy to get to from this motel...keep up the great work

Room Tip: the floors creak...lighting was poor...noise can be excessive till about 10:00 p.m....traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Danny J

It is so nice of you to do the review for our hotel. Portland is a great area to visit and being on the Trimet Max Line makes it great for guests who want to see the area but do not want to rent a car.
The hotel has brochures on things to do in the area and the front desk staff can help with Trimet Max Line schedules and maps if you are driving.

Thank you again

Cindy New
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Room was big and clean but had cigarette burn holes in the blankets, think they could've easily replaced it.
The staff uses a very hands off approach or they are short staffed, you pick.
It would be a better place to stay if breakfast was better (skimpy and very small selection), cleaner facility (grounds wasn't kept up, elevator was dirty), holes in blanket (should have been replaced asap). It lacks attention to details, that's the only way I can describe it.
Overall my stay was good, very quite and peaceful at night. Convenient location made my commute easy. Staff was friendly and efficient.
I would recommend for the price but there are many motels in the area that you should take the time to compare.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagoodlife00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear dagoodlife00

I am so sorry that housekeeping put a blanket meant for a smoking room on your bed. Thank you for letting me know. I have addressed the housekeepers on this issue.

Choice Hotels breakfast standards for our hotel are 1 sweet bread, 1 non sweet bread, 1 fruit,
orange juice and coffee. Our hotel has 3 flavors of muffins, honey buns, cereal bars, bagels, cream cheese, peanut butter, butter, jelly, apples, oranges, coffee, orange juice and tea..

We are now in the middle of getting our landscaping done. Weeds pulled, bushes trimmed. Thank you for letting us know we were falling behind.

I am happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and efficient.

Thank you for your comments

Cindy New

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I travel to Portland several times a year to shop - no sales tax - and stay at a variety of hotels. This hotel is conveniently located right on Sandy Blvd. off the I-205 freeway and takes maybe 20 minutes to drive to downtown. The check-in was easy and friendly. Free parking was great. The room was clean and spacious with plenty of furniture. The free wi-fi, microwave and refrigerator are very handy and pretty much a requisite for me any more. The complimentary breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, fruit juices, and some bagels or muffins. If you needed more, they suggested Elmers which is just further up Sandy Blvd. That place was dangerous! Very yummy food, not gourmet but you get a lot. The only downside for this hotel were the very thin walls. I could hear people coming, going, or taking their showers. For what you get, this hotel was a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the freeway and busy Sandy Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokyorose50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Tried to find a reasonably priced motel near the airport. This is directly across from a big bus station, public transit lot. My son flies out tomorrow, we spent five days in adorable Bend, Oregon. On check in we were advised that the hot tub was ot working. We were told that we could not accept visitors to our motel room after 9pm and if the neighbors were loud after 9pm or seemed to be breaking the rules to please let management know. We thought this odd until we went to the room. Weird guy staring out the window seemed to be watching for someone to drive in to the parking lot. Smoking woman came out of room next to ours leaving what sounde like 3 kids in the room, very loud crying, fighting, etc. We left for dinner and a movie, woman was still outside, marching through parking lot. Now a man with shaved head is outside our room on cell phone, smoking pot. It is 11:45pm on a Sunday night. We saw a movie at a cool old theater called the Hollywood Theatre, but the return to the room is a joke. Refrigerator makes a loud noise, and running the heater sucks in the smoke from the parade of characters outside our room. I hope our stuff is okay in our SUV. Cannot recommend!
What a pit. Rooms devoid of charm, fridge is old, ancient tv, fluorescent lighting, people walking overhead, thin walls, kind of scary, no nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've stayed at this NE Portland motel two separate occasions recently and am very satisfied with it. With smallish Senior Citizen discount my well appointed, clean room w 2 nice queen beds was only $65, total, and that includes Portland's high room tax (12 1/2 %). Staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Emphasize Very Clean & quiet & everything works (TV, air/heat, microwave etc.) Was actually thrilled to be able to stay in smoking room, a rarity in these parts. Near airport, right next to major transit center (downtown is 15-20 minutes away on pleasant bus run thru cool old neighborhoods) - a frequent service route. Decent b'fast w fresh fruit & the usual continental fare. Good hike to the Columbia R not far away. Check it out.

Room Tip: I always choose a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclare38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge on Nov. 02, 2013 for a quick overnight stay. The customer service by Robin was excellent!! The room was freshly painted and the bedding was new and fresh. It was an excellent deal for the price.
I really appreciated having a useable TV guide & HBO guide.

Phyllis Hull

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#78 of 144 in Portland
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#91 of 144 in Portland
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#97 of 144 in Portland
38 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#103 of 144 in Portland
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge at Port of Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge at Port of Portland

Address: 9520 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $61 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge at Port of Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portland, OR Econo Lodge® at Port of Portland hotel is one-and-a-half miles from Portland International Airport.Use TriMet Max Light Rail to get around; take it to shop at Lloyd Center or Clackamas Town Center.We are minutes from: Oregon Convention CenterPortland State UniversityOregon Health & Science UniversityRose Garden ArenaOregon ZooMt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort is minutes away. Fishing, boating, windsurfing and golf courses are quick drives away. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are nearby.You’ll enjoy amenities at our pet-friendly hotel like:Free continental breakfastFree coffeeFree local callsFree wireless high-speed Internet accessIndoor hot tubBusiness guests can access fax and copy machines and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge at Port of Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Portland
Portland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing