We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY STAY AT THE ECONO LODGE PORT OF PORTLAND OREGON”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Ranked #104 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I would like to compliment the helpful staff at the Econo Lodge Port of Portland Oregon.

They are friendly and always tend to my requests and needs.

The accommodations are clean and comfortable.

They have an elevator serving the 2nd and 3rd floor a real convenience when carrying luggage.

They offer a large selection of Direct TV channels and a good wifi signal.

They have the best competitive pricing in the area and are located close to the airport.

Econo Lodge is my home away from home!

Room Tip: Get the first floor and you can park in front of your room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

The room was good size and the location is fine. But there appears to be some transients living there. They had a car full of all their possessions and pay for their room daily with cash.
I was given a non-smoking room that smelled of smoke. I just assumed the last guest had smoked in it and that I would be able to air it out. But that night the people below me smoked all night in their non-smoking room and my room filled up with smoke.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyonsGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of our Portland trip. Chose the hotel because we needed something cheap and close to public transportation. It's good to have reasonable expectations for cheap hotels. This place is directly across the street from the train stop and close to the airport. It's also a cheap hotel, which explains the smoky/dingy smell of the room, the relatively rude front desk worker and the shabby building. But that's what we paid for, I guess. Next time, I'd probably pay another 10 bucks to upgrade to something in the area that feels ok to walk barefoot in, but like I said, the location is just what we needed on a budget. Could have been much worse.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissawolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

It was quite and easy to get to room, friendly hotel people

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

been coming here along time and have enjoyed this friendly service motel. the people here are very nice to talk with and help help all ways that they can for your stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

the first room we stayed in was a little odd....the was no electrical outlet close to the left side of the bed...and my husband uses a c-pap. the door had to be pushed or pulled on hard in order to make sure it was properly locked. and we got a non-smoking room..but there was still the smell of smoke there. while we were there, the heavy duty washers & dryers had broken, so there was no guest laundry between 8am - 4pm....and we weren't allowed to start the laundry any earlier than 7am....also there is no concrete insulation...so if your upstairs neighbors are heavy stompers, you will hear it. but you get what you pay for & it was really cheap.

Room Tip: stay @ another hotel...it really is worth the extra $20
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I were spending 5 nights in Portland to visit our 25 year old daughter who had moved there. We wanted to stay someplace convenient to public transportation, so we wouldn't need to rent a car; as we knew we would be spending most of our time exploring or at our daughter's house, we weren't looking for a fancy place with amenities. It was easy to take the MAX from the airport to the Econo Lodge, and to later get downtown and explore. The price was very reasonable ($55-65 dollars per night). The king size bed was very comfortable. But the room smelled musty and we needed to keep the door open each evening for at least 30 minutes to let some fresh air in. There was plenty of immediate hot water. (This was after rejecting the first room which smelled of cigarettes, even though it's a no smoking place.) And we couldn't figure out what the lumps were in the carpet on the floor. Over the weekend, when there were more guests, we were awakened to kids running and jumping in the room over us (from a 3rd floor room). With the money we saved on motel expenses, we were able to splurge on meals/beer in town and buy some furniture for our daughter. But on our next trip there, we'll stay somewhere else! Spa was out of service when we arrived, and we never tried it (although open when we checked out).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road to minimize freeway noise; ask for 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutch60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgePDX, Manager at Econo Lodge at Port of Portland, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you, Valued Guest, for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. We value your patronage and certainly want to know about your stay.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location, the hot water, and the inexpensive room rate, however I'd like to personally address the concerns you experience during your visit and I truly apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused.

Regarding the must/smoke you smelled in your room, we have addressed each one of our housekeepers regarding the use of ionic air purifier which was purchased for such smells. Many times, smoking guests prefer non-smoking rooms, however the scent may have lingered from their clothing. After the housekeepers clean the rooms, they are double checked for anything which may have been missed and I sincerely hope that you can give us another chance based on this isolated circumstance.

I am glad that you pointed out the lumps in the carpet, as this leads me to some great news! We are starting remodeling of our hotel in the next few months which includes new carpet installation. We hope that this will resolve any issues you experienced and that you do return on your next stay.

Regarding the noise you experienced from the room above you, please note that the hotel has a 24-hour front desk staff who would be more than happy to address this type of disturbance may it occur in the future anonymously. We are here to ensure you have a quiet and comfortable stay so do not hesitate to contact us for any reason at anytime.

We're glad that the spa was running upon checkout, but sorry you were not able to enjoy it during your stay. Due to guest safety and as a precaution, we had to temporarily place the spa out of order until the chemicals balanced and it was safe to use.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#94 of 144 in Portland
317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#73 of 144 in Portland
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#101 of 144 in Portland
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge at Port of Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge at Port of Portland

Address: 9520 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $64 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge at Port of Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portland, OR Econo Lodge® at Port of Portland hotel is one-and-a-half miles from Portland International Airport.Use TriMet Max Light Rail to get around; take it to shop at Lloyd Center or Clackamas Town Center.We are minutes from: Oregon Convention CenterPortland State UniversityOregon Health & Science UniversityRose Garden ArenaOregon ZooMt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort is minutes away. Fishing, boating, windsurfing and golf courses are quick drives away. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are nearby.You’ll enjoy amenities at our pet-friendly hotel like:Free continental breakfastFree coffeeFree local callsFree wireless high-speed Internet accessIndoor hot tubBusiness guests can access fax and copy machines and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge at Port of Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Portland
Portland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing