We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trail Blazers Game” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #101 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Vancouver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Trail Blazers Game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel is within walking distance to Stadium.

If you need a rollaway cot. Stay away from this hotel. The cots suck. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. This hotel doesnt cheap out by watering down the orange juice.

Hotel is a couple blocks away from the train that takes you into the city.
Would stay here again just not in a cot :o)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    69
    88
    36
    42
See reviews for
54
67
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our experience can be summed up with these pros and cons:
Pro
While surrounding area is not impressive, proximity to Convention Center, Moda Center, and Center City via Max is excellent. Max is two short blocks away.
Bed was comfortable, room was clean.
Parking is available for a $5/day fee, although website says it is free.
Wifi worked very well.
Price was good.

Con
While hotel website notes recent remodeling, this appears to have been cosmetic only. Layout is odd, gives overall dated impression.
Breakfast was okay, although fairly limited, but breakfast room is very small. Overflow seating is available in an adjacent meeting room, but it was freezing when we tried to use it one day.
No guest laundry facility.
As other reviewers have noted, the height and angle of the shower head are very odd and not convenient.

All in all, just average, at best.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking central opening will be quieter than those overlooking MLK Blvd or Grand St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here after a Blazers game. Upon entering the room we noticed a very musty, moldy smell. Upon inspection I noticed black mold growing on the ceiling in the bathroom. Yuck! However, it was late, we were tired, and the hotel was packed so I didn't ask for a different room. We checked out early the next morning. When our credit card bill arrived we noticed that we were overcharged by almost $50. The front desk had not applied the AAA rate we booked under. We called the hotel expecting an easy fix. However, it has been over two weeks and we are still fighting with them. We now have to fax in a copy of our AAA card so they can rectify their mistake.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager431, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. You did book a room at our AAA rate, however, at check-in you did have your AAA card. The AAA card with the name on the reservation must be presented at check in to qualify for AAA rate. Since you did not have a card we gave you our Best Available Rate at the time of check in. You accepted the rate and we have the registration card with your initials accepting the rate. After checkout, when you contacted us we informed you that we will change the rate as long as you can send us a copy of your AAA card. To this date we have not received this copy and that is why we have not been able to change the rate. As long as you can get us AAA card with the registered guest name on it, we will be happy to change the rate for you and refund the difference.
As for black mold you mention in this review, none of the correspondence from you so far with us nor during your stay it was mentioned to us. We also checked the room and we found no mold.
Thank you and we hope to help resolve your issue as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a decent stay, nothing memorable. Front Desk agent was all business and little in the way of smiles for us. Room was decent, we booked an accessible room using my employee discount through choice hotels

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWestkdub52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed there for over a week in 2012 for personal business. We chose it because we wanted to be on the east side near the Trimax train, plus we did not want to pay too much. I guess you get what you paid for. The place was old, room could be cleaner. The breakfast guy was very friendly but unfortunately the breakfast is not so good, same stuff everyday. Most are packaged items except for some eggs or biscuit and gravy which did not have much flavor. There is a small pool which I swam a couple of times and was ok. May be next time I will spend a little more for a more updated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somewhereoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was looking for a place with a pool and it is a good pool. The main problem I had was that the bed was way too soft for me. Transportation is easy with the Max-line light rail train and buses close by. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. The motel is old and kind of shabby but i wouldn't mind that as much if the bed was comfortable. The people who run it and really nice and try to help. The free breakfast was decent...not as fancy as some places but better than some that just have a roll and coffee.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 213Frances777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colfax
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed one night. Dirty towel left in the room and electric outlet in bathroom didn't work. Took a shower in the morning, but there was no hot water. It was just barely warm enough to run through to get the soap off. Would have left, but was in town for an event at the Moda Center and motels were full. I paid cash when we got there, not realizing that they had charged my credit card the day before I got there, and for more money! They also required me to pay a $150 deposit because I was paying cash. When I realized that I basically paid 3 times I called to straighten it out and was told that they could do nothing and that I would have to take it up with my bank!! So, as of now still out the extra money! Definitely wouldn't go back. To their credit the bed was comfortable, but it wasn't worth $450.00!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad-Lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#74 of 138 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#65 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing