We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #101 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Bandon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The La Quinta is within walking distance to the Convention Center, major bus routes and the IMAX train, plenty of popular Burger joints, coffee shops, and eating establishments, Walgreens, and more. We have stayed here at least 4 different times. I always wished there was a jacuzzi to complement the pool. (Goo pee first in your room, there is no bathroom nearby) Exercise room has a TV. There is always a USA Today in the Lobby. The Wireless Internet is a plus. The Breakfast server gentleman is very attentive and helpful. He keeps everything well stocked and clean. The beds are almost TOO comfortable, and all those pillows! I had a problem with the Orange Citrus Soap. It made my whole face burn with a red rash. Perhaps coupled with the too-big rough towels i felt like i was scrubbed with sandpaper. Don't know why the sheets and towels are that dull-yellowish color. Be careful in the lower garage, there are huge cement poles you sometimes miss in the blind spot. Husband didn't see it and dented my car door.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    73
    92
    37
    45
See reviews for
58
73
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Good aspects of hotel: The hotel is in a great location - 2 blocks from the convention center, 1 block from the train station, and close to many fast food restaurants. However, hotel is old and run-down. The staff at the front desk are very helpful. Breakfast is good and well run by hotel breakfast staff.

Bad aspects of hotel: We were there for 4 nights and our room did not get cleaned and our beds did not get made during our entire stay even though we were out most of the days. The shower is terrible - difficult to maintain the temperature and poor water pressure. The hotel should consider replacing its cleaning staff because they do not seem to do any work.

There is an door that connects our room to the next room. Noise travels clearly between the 2 rooms. As such, we coud hear everything that was said by our neighbors in the room next door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Do not stay here.
I've stayed at other La Quinta's and this was horrible.
The mattress in our room was old and beyond lumpy, the pillows did not exist at all. The only thing you wake up with is a sore back and neck. The bed linens are paper thin and really old.
We had booked a six night stay and after two nights we could not get back in our room b/c front desk said we had checked out. They deactivated our keys for some reason and then had to reactivate them, they did not seem to know what was going on.
I had housekeeping yell down the hall at me the next morning when I was returning to my room with a coffee around 8:00 am if I needed housekeeping today.....stunned I said probably. Left the room for about nine hours and no one came to do anything in the room, bathroom or bedding. Had to ask for service and the excuse was we had put the do not disturb key in our door and we had did not. The light switch broke in our room and would not go off, and so basically was left for us to sleep with the light on until for some reason it went off on it's own. No one ever did follow up with us on this. The tile in our bathroom is all broken away around the shower head so you can see the pipes and the nastiness of the wall behind.
The room next to us was smoking, the smoke was coming into our room through the joined door. We phoned front desk about 10:00 pm on April 13th to complain about it, they did nothing. Complained the next morning and it was going to be easier to move us on our last night of stay to a different room then to actually deal with the problem of the person who is smoking in a NON SMOKING hotel.
Now it is our last night housekeeping has cleaned our room but has failed to bring any bathmat or hand towels ( which are rough as heck ) back into our room, don't care just want to be done with this place.
So looking for a place that provides lousy service with no one ever providing you with a real solution or service and even though it's non smoking and you want to chain smoke in a dirty room all night long without any consequences this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohtrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and it was definately a good value. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The pool was extra large and family friendly. The breakfast was great with a good variety including fresh fruit, waffles, biscuits and gravy, hot and cold cereal, bagels, toast and jam, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juice. It is within walking distance of the Lloyd Center Mall. Location is close to Legacy Emanuel Hospital, the conference center and Rose Quarter. I do agree with others that there is a damp odor to the rooms, but they were clean and updated. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyoop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Hotel is very old and worn out. Needs pretty much new everything. TERRIBLE shower in Jacuzzi king suite (which was a total rip-off); old, gross carpeting, plaster on walls coming off in bathroom. However, bed was very comfortable. Didn't even check to see what breakfast was like. Went to Red Lion hotel two doors down and ate. Friends stayed at DoubleTree 2 blocks away.........I suggest you check there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The location of this hotel was very close to everything. We took the Tri-Met train from Portland International Airport to downtown Portland. We only had to walk 0.3 miles to hotel. There are lots of restaurants around hotel. Lloyd Center (shopping mall) is within easy walking distance, China town/Old town within walking distance. Hotel staff very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good and consisted of Belgian waffles, cold and hot cereal, boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, fruit and juices, bagles and cream cheese. I might have forgotton something. I thought the bed was comfortable. The Rose Garden (basketball and other entertainment) is also very close. We went to see the PBR.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccdw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Great location, only 30 minutes from PDX airport by Trimet train $2.35, dropped us off 1 block from Inn, only 4 block walk to Rose Garden to watch some of the best Bull Riding. Breakfast was very good especially waffles and Biscuits and Gravy! 3 blocks to Llloyd center and 20 minute walk to Voodoo Doughnuts or 3 minute Trimet train ride FREE in town!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 142 in Portland
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Address: 431 Northeast Multnomah, Portland, OR 97232-2010 (Formerly La Quinta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Portland Hotel Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing