We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and the place smells nice :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW
Ranked #64 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and the place smells nice :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel is. The whole place is really clean and nice smelling. Our room was very nice too. Yes, its a bit out of the way, but the bus to downtown comes right in front of the hotel every fifteen minutes. I'm happy with my choice :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meyellowbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    61
    18
    23
See reviews for
108
86
20
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The two best parts of this hotel: the price and the free hot breakfast. This hotel was the cheapest hotel in NW portland with a pool, an absolute necessity. The hot breakfast included BISCUTS AND GRAVY, and scrambled eggs. The location of the hotel was OK, but was in an industrial area far from downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was sort of our last resort for accommodation in Portland, everything else was fully booked for the weekend (for some reason we couldn't understand). So, my hopes were not very high, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The pros: clean, nice rooms with lots of space, lots of TV channels (?), breakfast included
The cons: not walking distance to/from the city centre, part of a hotel chain (less personal), breakfast not the yummiest (but it kept us full enough to go into town for a second breakfast)

It's easy to take a bus/cab (20 min bus, $10-15 for a cab) to downtown, but it's a hassle if you want to go to the room to leave things/have a nap. There is not much around the hotel, just a convenience store (closes at 10 or 11 pm) and an industrial area.
The hotel has a pool and a hot tub, looked ok but we never used it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin_B_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here while in Portland for the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. I chose La Quinta because dogs of any size stay free. Also, this is a smoke-free property, which is nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. As we were pulling into the parking lot, a Portland police officer was also pulling up. Not a great sign. Apparently, someone had left drug paraphernalia in a room so an officer was called. Other than this surprise upon arrival, there didn't seem to be any other shenanigans going on while I was there.

My room was located on the third floor and had one king size bed. The room was clean had plenty of room for my dog's bed, his toys, plus all my stuff. I love the little Keurig one cup coffee maker. The bed was really comfy and the hallways stayed pretty quiet. When taking a shower the first morning, the tub filled up quickly with water. I pulled about and half cup of hair (seriously gross!) out of the drain. If it wasn't for this, I'd probably give this place 5 stars.

The location was fine. I was perfectly happy NOT staying right downtown, but still being close enough to get there quickly. I wish I had had more time to check out all the trails at Forest Park behind Yeon Ave. All in all, a decent place to stay, especially compared to the prices at other places closer to downtown.

Room Tip: The third floor is probably the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleJen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

when reading the site for this hotel said "restaurant on site" I couldn't find one since we had taken our grandson to Randall's kids Hospital I didn't feel like driving all over looking for one. only thing close is a McDonalds, we were there for two nights other than that the room was nice and clean. he breakfast wish the guy doing it Wednesday morning would of taken the bread, bagels and muffins out of the bag I didn't like eating out of it after someone reached their hands into it.

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor was muggy with the pool but still nice a/c was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My bff and I stayed two nights this week on the 3rd floor. It has definitely been updated recently and is well maintained, and the beds are really comfortable. Yes, the 2 queen room is a bit tight for space, but we mostly just slept there so how much room do you need? :)

The staff are all very friendly, and even though it's on a busy thoroughfare in an heavily industrialized area of town, it was very quiet at night. It's a bit of a drive to get downtown, but it's just a skip and a jump to NW 23rd Ave which is a swanky shopping district. All in all we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e_utz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Comfort Inn Portland
#63 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW
Address: 4319 NW Yeon Ave, Portland, OR 97210-1427 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property is located just 2 miles north of Downtown Portland, in NW Portland. We are 100% non-smoking and are pet friendly. Our hotel is directly on the Tri-Met bus line with nonstop service to Downtown Max (light rail). We are the only property in the Downtown area to offer free parking as well as a 24-hour indoor heated pool and spa, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and complimentary high-speed wireless internet. We are also within a one mile radius of a variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland Nw Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing