We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW
Ranked #62 of 142 Hotels in Portland
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent value just a few miles from the core of downtown Portland. It is in the business district but was quiet at night.
Appears to be recently remodeled, very clean.
With free parking and Internet, no fee for pets, and breakfast included, this is somewhere we will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    106
    61
    21
    24
See reviews for
114
91
21
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Othello, Washington, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were in town for dr. appointments on the west side of town. This was the perfect location not to have to fight traffic at 7:30 am. It is also really close to the pearl district. Probably not within walking distrance but, still close. I also felt safe in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had tickets to a show in Portland and scoured the internet looking for a hotel before-hand. Couldn't find any that didn't mention a bad neighborhood and/or other security issues for under $100, so we just drove up hoping for the best. Stopped at the rest area south of town and picked up one of those Travel Savers, which had a coupon for this LaQuinta at only $69.99. The hotel is in the industrial part of town, so we were concerned until we arrived. Very nice facility in a non-threatening area. They honored the coupon even though it was the weekend and after tax it still came in under $85. Great deal! 24-hour pool and hot tub, though the hot tub could've been hotter. Only costs about $15 for a cab ride into the heart of downtown, there's a covered smoking area, and they have fresh cookies all the time! We couldn't have been happier with this hotel and will definitely stay there again next time. Only one real complaint, which is that breakfast ends at 9:30, which was too early for us after the concert. Got down there at 9:40 and it was literally all gone, but really that was on us for not getting moving earlier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realist5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is an terrible physical facility. Creepy, run down, poorly laid out, even scary. We checked out after one night. The only saving grace is the staff was so nice, hard working and generous. The front desk clerks and the manager were great, very welcoming. The breakfast room was too small for the number of guests. What I recall most were the staff memebers in charge of the breakfast room. I've never seen hotel staff hustle so much for so little, I think we were the only ones to leave a tip. They broke their backs keeping that little room clean and making sure the guests had everything the needed and wanted. The owners should keep the staff, tear the place down and build a new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We were concerned with the location of this hotel. It was too far to walk from the downtown core and even with the decent transit system, we had to rent a car to get us to and from the hotel. However even with the car it was only 5-7 minutes into the downtown core, so it was closer than it seems.

The breakfast was very good. The lady servicing the breakfast area had a GREAT demeanor. Hot waffles, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, danishes, muffins, the fruit was a bit green for us (not ripe), dry cereal for kids (fruit loops) and then for adults (corn flakes). I am not much of a coffee person, but my wife is and she was not a fan of the coffee, but if you desire Starbucks, there is one just down the street.

The pool was great for my kids. Not too deep (5 feet) and large enough to play and swim in. All hours to swim and plenty of towels.

The hot tub was NOT HOT. Some other travelers found that a bonus as you could stay in the hot tub for an hour and not feel the effects. I myself wanted the water hotter. My bathtub at home is hotter than the water in the hot tub. Watch out for the brown/orange foam. Not sure why, but the foam that is created in the hot tub can become discolored.

The room and bathroom were CLEAN. The beds were too soft for me, but for my wife & kids they really enjoyed them.

Bring extension cords if you want to plug in your laptop. Where the desk is located in the room is not close to any free electrical spots.

What is the deal with hotel rooms and showerheads? I am 6 foot 1 and the showerhead in the tub, I was able to see over it. I do like to be able to shower without bending my back or from my knees. Please RAISE the showerheads.

Even with all the industrial companies surrounding the area, you were not able to hear the noise, so the sounding of the rooms were good.

We booked through the warm electrical place, and got a room rate under $60.00 GREAT VALUE for this price. Not sure if I would pay $90 night for this place.

Room Tip: We had an accessible room so it had a large washroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmk1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at La Quinta with my wife and two young daughters. We chose the place because of the low price which included some features that we like to have.

You may like the location because it is only a few minutes' drive from Portland or you may dislike it because it is in an industrial area (not downtown) with trucks zooming by and some of those using the same parking lot. We didn't find the noise to be too disturbing at all. Another positive is that parking is free.

The lobby and inside of the hotel are well maintained and were recently tastely renovated. The room was clean, the bathroom area was very small but adequate for our needs. There was free wi-fi access, which you often don't get in fancier hotel (the "free" part I mean)

The hotel pool is not bad although a little chilly. If you have small children, be sure to bring some kind of flotation device because it starts at 3 feet and quickly drops to 5 feet. The hot tub was nice although we couldn't use the jets the first day. We tried but it foamed like crazy and the chemical fumes were terrible. That was fixed the next day.

The gym is minimal. There are a couple of decent elipticals and treadmills along with an all-in-one type of weight training machine.

The free breakfast is a definite plus for a family with kids. They offer waffles, bread, cereal, coffee, juice, eggs, etc. The only downside was their use of disposable plates and bowls, which creates a lot of garbage.

Overall the place delivered what was advertised.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwhog499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 142 in Portland
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 142 in Portland
529 reviews
Comfort Inn Portland
#61 of 142 in Portland
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW
Address: 4319 NW Yeon Ave, Portland, OR 97210-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property is located just 2 miles north of Downtown Portland, in NW Portland. We are 100% non-smoking and are pet friendly. Our hotel is directly on the Tri-Met bus line with nonstop service to Downtown Max (light rail). We are the only property in the Downtown area to offer free parking as well as a 24-hour indoor heated pool and spa, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and complimentary high-speed wireless internet. We are also within a one mile radius of a variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland Nw Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing