We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hostel is in a beautiful old house....that has been divided into dorm rooms.

From the outside the hostel in stunning and when you walk through the kitchen, dorms, bathrooms....it has real homely feel to it and has kept its originality and style....which is different from most hostels I have stayed at.

The place is clean, plenty of space to relax and its in a great neighbourhood - close to public transport, shops and ideal for exploring.

The beds are a little uneasy.....I found even the littlest movement made so much noise and they didn't seem to sturdy....but hey I got some sleep so I cant complain.

One thing I did get from this hostel is that the people staying and some of the staff are not the friendliest.....it seemed like no-one wanted to mix and communicate and just kept themselves to themselves, which is fine but isn't what hosteling is about. Some of the staff I didn't even see crack a smile...but hey each to their own

All in all a good hostel, clean and perfect location

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    81
    31
    10
    1
See reviews for
13
46
94
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

For the solo female traveller looking for a private room I absolutely recommend this hostel. I stayed 6 nights (an extra one because I didn't want to leave it or Portland). I stayed in three different private rooms (I didn't know how long I'd be staying). Each was spacious, large double bed, high ceilings with a view of the street trees. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were kept to a high standard of cleanliness. There was a good atmosphere in the hostel - ie. mixture of ages with staff and travelers being respectful of each other. I found the staff very helpful. The hostel is located in the trendy alphabet district. It is only a 7 mins walk the the Pearl district and a bit longer to get to downtown. While staying in a private room is not cheap. It was worth it for me. No hesitation recommending these rooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank thosedancingdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I guess for the price you can't expect much. Paid about $60 for a private room but it didn't really do much good. The walls are paper thin and there are unsealed door connections between rooms so I could hear every snore, sneeze, and sound from all the rooms around me.

The staff were nice and the breakfast was ok, but I wouldn't spend any money on the private rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights with my wife in a private room. The room we got was great, very large and had a couch and table. Pretty good at $80 given the location. We were on the second floor and there were two full bathrooms and a separate toilet, plenty available and we never had to wait for a shower or to use the toilet.
Staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner. They actually seemed like they were interested and happy to be there unlike other hostels we have been at.
Location is excellent quiet area in the NW district of Portland. Close to some good pubs, Fred Meyer supermarket (the best I've ever been to) and MAX station near Jeld-Wen field.
We were very happy here and would definitely stay again if ever back in Portland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place had all the basics covered - it was clean, had a nice kitchen, free wifi, good location etc. The staff were friendly. I wouldn't say this hostel was amazing but I had no issues with it and it was a safe place to sleep for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed in a private room located in a separate house than the hostel. It is literally next door, you just go to the backyard and there is the entrance to the house. The house was beautiful, I liked that I was in a house and not a hotel building.

The room was tiny but it was fine. Couldn't open the windows, though, and I was hot. I ended up buying a clip-on fan to be comfortable. A day or two later I returned to Portland and got yet another private room in this place and it was giant. It could have roomed 3 or 4 people comfortably, and I believe it may have had a ceiling fan but my memory on this is hazy. Same price. I wish they charged different prices between these two very different rooms. I just recall being so much more happy with this room and not having temperature issues. This is the only problem I had with this place.

The kitchen areas in both buildings were large, quite adequate. They had a laundry that I used but they only had one machine. Otherwise this hostel was clean and cheap, I would return here again if I visited the area. It was close enough to be walking distance to the city if you didn't mind walking 15-20 minutes. The staff was very helpful, as I recall.

Nice neighborhood, places to eat nearby a few blocks in any direction. It was basically like a residential neighborhood but imagine you are only a few blocks into it before you see the city with its amenities. Only a few blocks from a rental car place too, that was extremely helpful.

For the price it can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is really easy to find & the location is great.

You are able to walk around the city from the hostel to explore Portland & the staff are more than willing to help you find areas/stores that you want to find.

As a solo female traveller I am always conscious of the hostels & areas I stay, but found no problems here!

The locals were friendly & there are a lot of bars & good restraunts nearby.

Would highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Property: Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Address: 425 NW 18th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private rooms and dorms, common kitchen, outdoor courtyard and gardens. Central location in NW Portland near the Pearl. Portland's best bargain! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing