We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location....Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Qualicum Beach, BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location....Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed in the female dorms in early October. The location is very good....close to grocery shopping at Fred Meyers or Trader Vics. Also close to nice coffee shops, cafe's, gift shops upon NW 23 rd...a very nice area for strolling. Try the Dragonfly coffee shop or Anna Banana's for your morning coffee. I walked into town alot...easy walk to Powells Books, the great food trucks downtown and many other intereseting places. I took the Greyhound out to the seaside communities of both Cannon Beach and Seaside two different days (as temperatures soared to 28 celcius)...nice day trips. But take a taxi back to the hostel because the walk back is a bit sketchy (and the taxi is only about $7...well worth it). The staff at NW Hostel were very friendly & helpful. One Aussie staff member deserves special mention as she was first rate and practiced excellent customer service consistently. The female dorms were fine...nothing special...clean & friendly with great big lockers and clean en suite. Lounges & kitchens were plentiful, clean and large. Internet computer available for $1.00 and worked very well.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs rooms for better noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    81
    31
    10
    1
See reviews for
12
46
92
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed two nights on a quick trip in September. Great staff and facilities, location is within walking distance to downtown and 5 min. from nightlife areas. One of the nicer small US hostels I've stayed at and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidabrownjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here in the 'guest house' building next door to the main hostel, sharing a room with a friend for just over a week. We were both on the same course and needed somewhere cheaper than a hotel to stay.

Overall it's a good place for the budget traveller. I can't comment on the dorms as we had a private room. The guesthouse is clean with shared bathrooms and a small living room/kitchenette area. It was quite warm however and my bed was very soft while my friend's was very hard which didn't make for the most comfortable night.

There is a large kitchen in the hostel itself where you can cook, and being able to buy groceries and cook your own food does keep costs down too. However, I would say that it is on the expensive side for a hostel. It wasn't as expensive as a hotel but for a private room it isn't that much cheaper than a hotel, but for a long stay like ours it does mount up over the whole stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomSnackfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Portland Northwest Hostel a few times and have always been happy with my experience there. It is a comfortable hostel, not too big and has a nice garden patio. There is always a good mix of people of different ages. Guests can have beer and wine, but it's not a party hostel. My only complaint is that they seem to have large groups in offen who take over the whole place. Otherwise it's a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybackpackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hi I stayed in the hostel from the 18 till the 22 of august. I was in a six bed mixed room and then i switched into twelve male room. Both of them were really comfortable !
The hostel is small and smart, and in a few time you will meet everybody, so it's the ideal if you are travelling alone. The position is good, just a ten minutes away from pearl district and all the stuff, but also near to the 21st and 23th street, which are good to walk and shopping. There is a Padio called the Secret Garden and the last day there was a really nice concert with open mic. The hostel is however well silencious, even if people (at least me and others) stayed talking all night long in the small wood padio. Bathroom are always WELL clean and in the reception you can find all the necessary to organize your staying and your trip. There is also the breakfast but I must say that it is really poor (just some bread, peanut butter and jam). However you can enjoy the really good breakfast out of the hostel, which deserve to be done! I suggest you to go there with no doubt, you will have fun ! ( ps there are also bycicle you can rent for 20 dollars per day)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorjackyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I spent our 30th anniversary in a hostel! We stayed four nights in September This was our first time staying in a hostel and we were not sure what to expect. We decided to stay in the Guesthouse as wanted a private room. We had a large spacious room--plain but comfortable, The bathrooms were clean. There is a common area with a refrigerator and microwave
Likes: In the mornings, we were surprised to have free delicious bread from a nearby bakery (Ken's Artisan Bakery). Peanut butter and jam available too. The bread donation is not a guarantee, but the 4 days we were there, we enjoyed trying different kinds of bread.
We liked the price $75 a night.
Location was the best. Walking distance to neighborhoods filled with small shops and restaurants. Coffee right across the street from the hostel. Hungry at night?
Two blocks from the hostel, we found Touche where the waiter suggested we order "happy hour" entrees for almost half the dinner price! Stays open until 2:30AM most nights. They have heat lamps so you can sit outside where it's quieter.
Hostel is also walking distance to Washington Park where you can see Japanese Tea Garden (have to pay for admission) and International Rose Garden (free).
Negative: Parking. Be sure to check with hostel desk staff which "restricted parking" signs are in effect. We were fortunate to stay the week after soccer season had ended so it was not hard to find a space.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse, which is a separate house from the hostel. The house was in a rather good condition with good common spaces to relax and prepare snacks. The toilet were also clean and in better condition than the average hostel. Our room was unfortunately a bit warm and damp with only a thin door to the nearby room. The bed was very hard and also a bit small for two persons, which significantly reduced the sleep quality. Having a room next to the kitchen and toilet also means some noise that you cannot really escape from. In spite of this we had a good stay at the guesthouse; the location is in a lovely residential area not too far away from restaurants and other action. Nevertheless, the price is a bit too high given the quality of the accomodation...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Property: Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Address: 425 NW 18th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private rooms and dorms, common kitchen, outdoor courtyard and gardens. Central location in NW Portland near the Pearl. Portland's best bargain! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing