We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really smart hostel and beautiful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really smart hostel and beautiful staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hi I stayed in the hostel from the 18 till the 22 of august. I was in a six bed mixed room and then i switched into twelve male room. Both of them were really comfortable !
The hostel is small and smart, and in a few time you will meet everybody, so it's the ideal if you are travelling alone. The position is good, just a ten minutes away from pearl district and all the stuff, but also near to the 21st and 23th street, which are good to walk and shopping. There is a Padio called the Secret Garden and the last day there was a really nice concert with open mic. The hostel is however well silencious, even if people (at least me and others) stayed talking all night long in the small wood padio. Bathroom are always WELL clean and in the reception you can find all the necessary to organize your staying and your trip. There is also the breakfast but I must say that it is really poor (just some bread, peanut butter and jam). However you can enjoy the really good breakfast out of the hostel, which deserve to be done! I suggest you to go there with no doubt, you will have fun ! ( ps there are also bycicle you can rent for 20 dollars per day)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorjackyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    87
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
14
47
104
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I spent our 30th anniversary in a hostel! We stayed four nights in September This was our first time staying in a hostel and we were not sure what to expect. We decided to stay in the Guesthouse as wanted a private room. We had a large spacious room--plain but comfortable, The bathrooms were clean. There is a common area with a refrigerator and microwave
Likes: In the mornings, we were surprised to have free delicious bread from a nearby bakery (Ken's Artisan Bakery). Peanut butter and jam available too. The bread donation is not a guarantee, but the 4 days we were there, we enjoyed trying different kinds of bread.
We liked the price $75 a night.
Location was the best. Walking distance to neighborhoods filled with small shops and restaurants. Coffee right across the street from the hostel. Hungry at night?
Two blocks from the hostel, we found Touche where the waiter suggested we order "happy hour" entrees for almost half the dinner price! Stays open until 2:30AM most nights. They have heat lamps so you can sit outside where it's quieter.
Hostel is also walking distance to Washington Park where you can see Japanese Tea Garden (have to pay for admission) and International Rose Garden (free).
Negative: Parking. Be sure to check with hostel desk staff which "restricted parking" signs are in effect. We were fortunate to stay the week after soccer season had ended so it was not hard to find a space.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse, which is a separate house from the hostel. The house was in a rather good condition with good common spaces to relax and prepare snacks. The toilet were also clean and in better condition than the average hostel. Our room was unfortunately a bit warm and damp with only a thin door to the nearby room. The bed was very hard and also a bit small for two persons, which significantly reduced the sleep quality. Having a room next to the kitchen and toilet also means some noise that you cannot really escape from. In spite of this we had a good stay at the guesthouse; the location is in a lovely residential area not too far away from restaurants and other action. Nevertheless, the price is a bit too high given the quality of the accomodation...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I had never stayed in a hostel before my Portland trip which made me a little nervous. This hostel was in a very neat house and in prime time location for whatever you wanted to do in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spippen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed at the hostel as my first location during my first trip travelling alone, and it was great. It was safe, super clean, and had an inviting and friendly atmosphere. There was a good common space to meet people near both of the kitchens, and in the main lobby too.
If cleanliness is important to you, definitely stay here, it was spotless! It was reasonably quiet for a hostel (actually more quiet than most), and the staff I interacted with were lovely.
The best part was the amazing location! It was within the free rail zone, and only a 10 minute walk from the street car stop. Aside from transit location, it was also just a fun area. There are tons of shops, and places to eat close by that are great. Having seen the other hostel options in Portland, I would recommend this one to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recently enjoyed a stay at the 'Guesthouse' part of the hostel. Hostel remained quiet despite being fully booked, comfy bed, super clean bathrooms that were always available despite being shared. Never used the kitchen (SO many delicious and cheap restaurants within 10 min walk) but it looked clean and was large enough for a couple of groups to cook simultaneously. We found the coffee shop across the street was great for a hot breakfast!
We biked everywhere during our stay - about 5 min to the river/downtown - and found navigating the city a BREEZE. Lots of useful info (shopping, concerts, restaurant recommendations... etc) lined the walls of the hostel which really added to the value of our stay.
Perfect location in Portland!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCsquaredinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed in the guesthouse. Really clean and at an excellent location!
The downside was that my room is at the first floor near the exit. Anyone walking down the stairs and the loud noise generated from the door can be clearly heard. The room was not very well sound-proofed. Lucky there wasn't much movement at night.
Overall a pleasant experience. Great price with beautiful room in the guesthouse~

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhengjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 143 in Portland
1,493 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 143 in Portland
725 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#8 of 143 in Portland
1,068 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel

Property: Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel
Address: 425 NW 18th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-2217
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private rooms and dorms, common kitchen, outdoor courtyard and gardens. Central location in NW Portland near the Pearl. Portland's best bargain! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Northwest Portland Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing