We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and experience!”
Review of Kinara Thai

Kinara Thai
Ranked #323 of 4,867 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Six of us were in Portland on business and had a full travel day from Texas, plus some exploration around the city ... so we were hungry. TripAdvisor led us to Kinara Thai for the win! This is a small neighborhood restaurant, appears to be family owned. They had a good selection of hot and not-hot dishes. Service was extremely fast, food was delicious, huge portions and very reasonably priced. The staff were so friendly and took care of us in every way. I ate the beef and ginger stir fry with mushroom sauce - yum! Would definitely come back! Thanks for a great Portland dining experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mamahahn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2018

My husband and I dine at Kinara Thai at least one a month, and when we're really busy, I'll order over the phone and run down for a take-out meal. The restaurant is cozy and rarely crowded. The beer is cold and the dishes arrive hot from the small kitchen. The best part is that the owner, Jen, always greets us with a very warm hello and asks how our daughter is doing. Because not only does this restaurant please us old folks, it offers affordable lunches to the kids at nearby Lincoln High School. So, bring the teens, they will love it. PS Try the duck spring rolls and chicken larb. YUM.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosecity503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Hands down best Thai food in North America! Try the red curry, just ask for it or the yellow curry. Absolutely amazing! We don’t live here but make an effort to come every single time we are in Portland!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jctravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We went to Kinara Thai this evening upon the recommendation of our sister-in-law who had eaten there, and we were not disappointed! We had two entrees, Pad Thai with pork as well as the Garlic and Pepper Chicken stir fry. Our appetizer was and order of the egg rolls ("crispy rolls") and while they had good flavor, they were a little greasy. I would have liked a Sierra Mist to drink, but the restaurant was all out, our server said. We will most likely return for another meal here as it was overall quite good for a small Thai bistro. We also saw many take out orders being picked up, so knew they also do a good business for customers just wanting to get food ordered to eat at home.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaurieB980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

I saw kinara from the tri met and it looked lovely. It was! Excellent food. Lovely local atmosphere; a real gem. It’s quite small and charming.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ericd726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinara Thai also viewed

 

Been to Kinara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing