We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly quaint and tranquil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tao of Tea

Tao of Tea
Ranked #70 of 206 Coffee & Tea in Portland
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly quaint and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place was a delight from the moment we stepped in the door. I believe the one we went to was near Belmont. It was the nicest tea shop I have ever been in. The Green tea ice cream balls were wonderful and we all tried different teas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Kraken777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you visit Lan Su Chinese Garden you must go into the tea house, and sit for awhile, have a tea ceremony.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting Food and Wonderful Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This lovely little restaurant serves wonderful teas (which you can buy) and has an interesting menu. I had tender vegetable dumplings as a starter and the chai bowl (chick peas in a great sauce with cilantro) for my entrée. I had the 500 mile chai, which was strong and delicious. All in all, this is a place I would like to go back to again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I only wish we lived closer! The staff are fantastic and the atmosphere is peaceful! Always love stopping by when I'm in the area. Even if I don't have time to stay, I'll still pick up some loose tea for myself!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and interesting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My daughter, who lives in Portland, took me and other visiting family members to this restaurant. We ordered an assortment of small plates and shared them. Everything tasted good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tao of Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing