We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hour to Midnight - Room Escape Games
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
So much fun!!

This was out first escape room so we didn’t really have any expectations. Our family of 4 adults... read more

Reviewed January 22, 2020
tylenem2015
,
Portland, Oregon
via mobile
Great Time

This was a highlight to our two year anniversary celebration. It was very theatrical and exciting... read more

Reviewed July 20, 2019
Bell0627
Read all 46 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portland
from $65.00
More Info
from $91.29
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
45
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
45
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews set design exciting experience team building super fun hints puzzles challenges blast adventure activity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 46 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2016

I played the Secrets of Nibiru room this past weekend with one other person. The gamemasters were so kind to accommodate our small team size with hints, by removing a mostly mechanical step of one puzzle and by giving us a little extra time. We had a great experience here! I've played dozens and dozens of these games around the world and this one is really worth doing! The puzzles were fun and straightforward. Not that they were easy but I liked that you didn't need any big assumptions or leaps of logic to progress. Everything you needed is there if you listen and read and search carefully. The sound and light special effects were excellent. The furniture and props were high quality. The room had some nice tech/automation but it stayed behind the scenes where it belongs IMO. Looking forward to this firm's next production!

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank Johncormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

One of the best escape rooms I've played in the country. Amazing game with great sets and theme. Backstory was intriguing and game was SUPER FUN!

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

This room was awesome. Attention to detail was amazing. The room was perfect in both set design and puzzle development. I own one of the other escape rooms in town and have to say that the Hour to Midnight owners (Tom and Ed) spent such a massive amount of time and thought into this room that they really are keeping that high standard that all escape rooms should have. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank vincents915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We did the Secrets of Nibiru room, and it was a lot of fun! The room was detailed and felt like a real study, and the props and key pieces were very interesting and unique. There were a ton of puzzles to do, and many could be worked on in parallel, so everyone stayed busy the entire time - it definitely helps to have 6 or more people to be solving things the entire time to get it done in the hour. The lighting and sound effects were also great, and were a step above anything I have seen in an escape the room game. I'll admit, we needed a few hints to make it through - the hints were good though, and we never got stuck long enough to get frustrated. The people there working the game were really nice and friendly, and you could tell that they were enthusiastic about making the game a unique and fun experience. Also, as you are solving the room you get lot of tantalizing hints at a much larger, more involved background story. I was so busy solving puzzles the entire hour that I didn't get a chance to really concentrate much on the story, though I wish I had, as it sounded interesting.

The location was a little hard to find, as there wasn't yet a good sign up you can see from the street. Keep an eye out for a RadioShack sign, and park in that lot. And when you first walk into the place the lobby is nice and clean, but sparse. But as soon as you step into the beautiful escape room you completely forget about the lobby...

Overall it was a great experience, I'd definitely recommend it!

Date of experience: April 2016
3  Thank artdjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Owner at Hour to Midnight - Room Escape Games, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thanks for the kind words! We are hoping to have more signage up very soon, and we're still decorating the lobby. We just figured that the important part, aka the room, should be our primary focus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2016

Secrets of Nibiru had a tight, cohesive setup and Hollywood level props and effects that would make Disneyland envious. Hour-To-Midnight's narrative driven puzzles definitely took escape rooms to the next level, delivering an immersive environment that I have yet to find anywhere else.

Date of experience: April 2016
3  Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Owner at Hour to Midnight - Room Escape Games, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

I'm so glad you enjoyed the room! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews