We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place...”
Review of Shanghai Tunnel

Shanghai Tunnel
Ranked #1,542 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Bar
Neighborhood: Old Town - Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town - Chinatown
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
294 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Downstairs, dark, divey. Three d's that qualify a place for me. The bar food aint gourmet, but who cares? It's a good bar, period. And if you have a problem with this place, you suck. Good for an evening or afternoon. Friendly people. Quiet and private when you want it, as well as cozy. My kind of place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun place for dive bar”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a nice dive bar in a night club area. I'm not a fan of big night clubs so going to a bar where its easy to get a drink and the food isn't that bad, is refreshing.

It's located next door to a ton of other bars so if you get bored drop in or better yet start your night here and move on.

They have a pool table which is also a plus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Got Shanghaied?”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If I had the chance I would become a fly on the wall at this bar. It is an experience all in its own. The people walking in coming from all walks of life to this fantastic underground watering hole. It pays tribute to the Shanghai tunnels which Portland is known for. There is no trap doors here no tours. It has an amazing selection of pin ball machines a pool table and a great place to lounge with your friends. You have a friendly bartender that is more then generous with her pours. The beer selection would satisfy all tastes. I love the bar with the mirrors that reflect the Japanese lanterns gives it more nostalgia and a sense of Portlands Dark Past.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walking tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was expecting more ghost stories and hauntings. It is actually a walking tour of the old part of downtown Portland. I did enjoy learning the history and the walking is at a nice pace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oregonmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Visited Shanghai Tunnel with family on vacation in July. Tour was great. Tour guide was wonderful. Worth every penny. Only saw one unexplained thing (light that was moving when no one was near) but it was still a good time.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank cherylvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Tunnel also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing