We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Podnah's Pit BBQ

Podnah's Pit BBQ
Ranked #78 of 4,341 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I dined there around 5:30 pm on a Saturday night. It was fairly busy and there were 2-3 parties waiting for a table. There were many families with small children too. Brisket is my favorite, so I had to order that and I wasn't disappointed. The corn bread was moist and buttery and not too sweet. There was honey on the table that was great with the cornbread. I had the BBQ beans - very good - and the coleslaw. The coleslaw was in a light vinegar dressing and was very crisp. A great meal all around. The service was good and the restaurant was well-staffed. I had the pecan pie for dessert. It had a very slight hint of molasses and was also great! Parking is all on-street and was in somewhat short supply. It was fairly easy to park on 15th, but 16th was impossible, so try 15th first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    106
    37
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another stop at Podnah's”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We picked up our daughter's college roommate at PDX and headed straight to Podnah's with her for BBQ. Everyone had a great meal but the stand out was the Beef Brisket Enchiladas. They were EXCELLENT.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kings55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This Texan was unimpressed”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice looking place, and highly rated, but my wife and I were both quite disappointed with the barbecue. We got a platter that had pulled pork, ribs, 'hot link', and brisket. The ribs were OK, not particularly flavorful but tender; the brisket and pulled port were pretty bland; and the 'hot link' tasted like an OK breakfast sausage, nothing like a real hot link. I will give the mac & cheese high markes, but the other side (yams) was undercooked. Overall a let-down compared to the on-line reviews describing this as the best barbecue in Portland.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Texas BBQ with some Tex-Mex thrown in”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

An old converted store front in one of the less-fashionable but changing neighborhoods of NE Portland. Great smoked brisket and baked beans as well as the typical pulled pork, potato salad, and pecan pie. Good value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rfp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“BBQ Perfection”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We debated on which kind of BBQ to go out for (Texas style or Southern) in the end we picked this Texas style restaurant and we chose right. The food was all excellent, plentiful and well-priced for what you get. The Chili Mac n Cheese (on special that night, not sure if they always offer it) was killer. The brisket was smoky and moist. Great, out of the ordinary, cole slaw. Casual, comfortable atmosphere and good service. Overall, everybody was happy with their selections and we highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Podnah's Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Podnah's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing